We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Clean quiet and spacious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #40 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location. Clean quiet and spacious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is our first stay in Vancouver. Great central location. Can walk to lots of shops, restaurants and downtown. Booking over the net from Australia was easy and trouble free. There is free wi-fi which is very handy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunnaheoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    170
    21
    4
    11
See reviews for
147
154
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fairfax, virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Found this to be a great value. One bedroom apartment in a central location in Vancouver. Will definitely stay again if return to the area. Overall customer service was very good.

I only have one minor complaint. Parking passes and $15 per day are required to park in the hotel's garage. The charge is added to your hotel bill. I had a rental car the last night I stayed in the hotel. I picked up the parking pass the day before and forgot to display it in the car windshield. I remembered in the middle of the night (2:30am) that I forgot to display the ticket in the windshield. I called the front desk and was told I may get a ticket if I didn't display the parking pass by 5:00am, and that management didn't own the garage so there was nothing they could do to help with that. I had to wake my husband up and we had to go to the garage in the middle of the night to display the parking pass. I expected more help from management with this situation based on other customer service I received at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perbecktion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed on the 23rd floor in a 2 bed apartment, self contained. Great views of downtown and a great location amongst restaurants and shopping. Room was serviced once daily, with coffee, toiletries replenished. Beds were comfortable and amenities were clean. Was quite pricy though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

found hotel after sticker shock with other Vancouver properties. Wanted to see the area / pre-Alaska cruise. Our stay was perfect! The hotel was quiet, very clean, and well maintained. Kitchen very well stocked. Grocery across the street was high end, but served us well for basics for 4 days (cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, roasted chiken and pizza for dinner!). Loved having the laundry on site. Got to watch fireworks competitioin from our 17 th floor suite, sipping champagne. Doesn't get much better than that! Great stay in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlyeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Kitchen has nothing in it. Not even a fork wish I found weird. But that is about it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vigilant420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed at the Carmana Plaza in August 2011 for a family holiday in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartments are spacious with 2 large bedrooms (one en-suite) with a large living room, a good sized kitchen, a separate second bathroom and a large storage area. The apartments are well equipped and spotlessly clean.

The location is very central, and just a short walk from the Robson Street shopping area and from a range of good restaurants. Most of Vancouver's central district is within walking distance. Conveniently, there is a good supermarket opposite and there is a coin-operated laundry room in the hotel.

Overall, an excellent choice for a well-priced apartment hotel in Central Vancouver. Request an apartment on a high floor to avoid street noise ( the hotel is in a skyscraper).

Room Tip: Request an apartment on a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My company had a trade show to attend and we used about 9 rooms at Carmana Plaza. All of my attendee's were thoroughly happy with the rooms.
The staff was incredibly considerate thorough out all my reservation changes up until the week of the show. In addition to being supremely helpful in assisting our company with anything they needed help with in Vancouver.
Lastly, it is so much nicer to have the option of making a meal in the room than having to find a restaurant every night.
And the windows open up for fresh air!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing