We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business or pleasure!”
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for business or pleasure!”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Carmana Plaza is the perfect place to stay whether you are visiting Vancouver on business or vacation. Our sales staff love this hotel; it's perfectly located within the downtown core and for professionals who find themselves often away from home and tired of restaurant food Carmana offers kitchens in all their suites so dining out doesn't have to be your only option! The suites are clean, comfortable and quiet and the staff are helpful and friendly. Definitely a great place to stay if you are looking for a reasonable rate and not the ordinary look, feel and service of a hotel chain!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amber w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    172
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
148
154
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed at Carmana Plaza at the start, and the end, of our Canadian Rockies trip. Stayed for a total of 4 nights on the 11th floor. Service staff was efficient and helpful, bellman was very helpful - even guided us through the maze that is the parking complex to where we can park our car!

Location: Can't get more convenient than this. It's opposite the Shangri-La Vancouver so that should be an indication of its centrality. Opposite us is Urban Fare, a gourmet (upmarket) market where you can easily obtain breakfast materials (organic!) for use in your kitchenette. There are 2 nice ramen stalls (we're Singaporean Chinese and can certify the ramen to be pretty good!) on either sides of the block, a London Drugs around the block at Robsons, and of course all sorts of cafes and restaurants nearby (we ate at JJ Beans, Earls, etc). For drivers, it's not hard to get onto the main routes to get out of Vancouver towards Whistler, Stanley Park (very nearby), and the Trans Canada highway to the Rockies. Driving from airport took about 30-45 minutes. Parking is convenient and secure - access card is needed to enter the hotel parking area.

Room: See photos. The kitchenette is well equipped with dish washer, coffee machine (using capsules), kettle, cooking hob, microwave, full sized fridge. We just stocked up for breakfast from Urban Fare or the 7-11/London Drugs :) The rooms are quiet - double glazed windows, can barely hear the town traffic noise. Spacious living room and bedroom. The room temperature is controlled by a wall panel, and the shower jet is of good strength. Room cleaning is done daily and newspapers delivered daily as well. Rooms are very clean, no problem there whatsoever. TV has quite a number of cable channels to keep the evenings occupied. And.. there are TONS of wall sockets everywhere, for a gadget hog like me (notebook, ipad, camera, phone, etc) this is very useful! Cupboard at entrance to hang your clothes too :) If bored, just look across the street to the posh Shangri-La and gaze with jealousy lol :)

Hotel: As previous TAers have pointed out, rooms are accessed by a secure elevator- you need your access card to press your floor, and a key to open the lock. While archaic, I have no issue with this (never had to worry about your room access card going wonky!)

The true test for us was that we were actually looking forward to staying at Carmana on our return back to Vancouver after a 2 week trip around the Rockies (where the hotels were not really that comparable to Carmana). It was like returning to a warm, comfortable, home away from home :) I'd certainly recommend this place to my friends, fellow TAers, and readers :)

Room Tip: No problem with 11th floor re traffic noise. Bring slippers as the tiled kitchen/dining floor can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Carmana Plaza is an unassuming hotel very conveniently located in downtown Vancouver. The entrance is small and easy to miss. The building looks as though it was originally designed as a condo complex. All rooms are actuall suite with seperate living rooms and small kitchens. A real find for the price. In addition overnight parking is reasnably priced and you can come and go as you please.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB500SEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wive and I are often in Vancouver for business and are tired of eating all the time in a restaurant. This is the perfect Hotel for a stay almost like home. The rooms we had are actually suites. Living room with TV, 2 bed rooms 1of it with TV, Kitchen. Across the Hotel is a Save On market with bakery, take out etc. around the corner the Liquor Store and in the same street Restaurants from Fast Food to High End galore.
The Service in the Hotel is excellent.
The room rates are reasonable, free parking, free water and coffee in-room.
In our opinion the best in Vancouver so far

Room Tip: Corner rooms with **07
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154943Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is an OK hotel. Its clean, modern, well located. But if you don't need a kitchenette, there are better places to stay for less money.

I also found the rooms to be a bit bare, and souless. One strange thing is that you get an actual key (not a card) for entry to your room. Its a bit of a hassle to carry compared to a card, and if you lose it, you lose 50 bucks.

Staff were efficient, not friendly or overly helpful.

I would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spuzzum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I came into Vancouver for the weekend and stayed at Carmana Plaza.The front desk staff was very friendly and check in was easy.We got to our room on the 29th floor it was a one bedroom suite. The suite was bright with a great veiw of the city.The fully equipped kitchen had everything that was needed to cook if thats what you want.Carmana is centrally located for resturants,shopping or what ever you might want to do in the city.Also when you stay at Carmana parking is included whitch at some of the other hotels can amount to 30 or 40 dollars a day.We have stayed here twice before each time as good as the time before.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rixtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Competively priced, modern and conveniently located, Carmana Plaza fulfills their promises. Spending three days in Vancouver, this became our "home base" from which we toured, shopped and traveled. Located smack in the center of things, we easily walked to many places including Robson area shopping, restaurants, harbour, transportation, etc. Especially nice was the convenience to a gourmet grocery store (oppisite side of the street & included a deli, buffet section offering assorted meals, bakery etc), liquor store, fast food places, drugstores etc...most within a block!)
The one bedroom apartment/suite was perfect, state-of-the-art and impeccably clean while eliminating any concern about safety or security (your key was needed to electronically gain access to everything...elevator, laundry, fitness center, parking etc.) Even the coffee brewing service stocked in the room was excellent. The bellman were courteous and extremely knowledgeable being right-on with their advice and suggestions.
It was certainly nice to be in such a large city and discover a jewel like this. No regrets and this would be our hotel of choice when we return.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor (views) and a corner away from elevator if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing