We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central stay”
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Central stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here on two occasions. The first was only marred by being put in a non smoking room, after a request for a move, we were upgraded to a non smoking suite. Very clean, quiet and great apartment style accommodation in the downtown area of Vancouver. Very central to shopping areas and to various sight seeing adventures. Warm friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Just make sure you request non smoking room if needed. Parking available but need to request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    176
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
150
158
28
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

An A +++ for convenience to shopping and food, As there were 4 of us,we took a 2 bedroom suite.The suite has 2 separate bathrooms. The suite was spacious and comes with a kitchen complete with the basic utensils necessary for cooking, A supermarket ( closes at 10.00pm ) located opposite the hotel added to the convenience of dining in when we were tired going out for meals.Linen provided were clean and regularly changed upon request.All varieties of food are easily available if you feel like dining out........next to the hotel are restaurants serving Japanese.Thai,American as well fast food chains..If you still cannot find your preferred food,take a walk around 100 metres to Robson Street where the choice is endless.The vicinity of Carmana Plaza is very close to a few shopping malls too.Service provided by staff were above average and proactive .They gave us useful information when asked,The only "negative" aspect of staying in Carmana Plaza is that there is construction works being carried out next to the hotel.I understand this will continue till early next year.If you are not too sensitive to noise during the day time when you are inside your room,then stay here, Otherwise look for a quieter place elsewhere.

Room Tip: As there is construction works being carried out next to the hotel,for a quieter ambiance choose roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chan_pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our Canadian adventure. We were sorry to leave our modern, very spacious apartment which had a very comfortable bed and lovely linens. Full kitchen amenities made meal preparation easy, with a supermarket across the road and many restaurants close by when we chose to dine out. Staff were very friendly and helpful, checkin and out were seamless with Tino in charge of our luggage, taxi booking for travel to airport etc and we would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation for your stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: At the present time, ask for a room away from the construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BezandReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times and I am always impressed. The staff will bend over backwards to help in any way possible. The rooms are very spacious and the view of downtown can't be beat. There is a Tim Hortons in the same building which Is very convenient, nice grocery store across the street as well which was nice since I had a kitchen as well. I can't wait to come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekaseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a combination business/tourism. Located right downtown, walking to Yaletown, the West End, Stanley Park, Chinatown was a breeze. Staff were very helpful with everything from tourism information to righting the slow internet response. Our one-bedroom suite was clean, faced away from the main street; keep in mind this is not a hotel per say so there are no restaurant facilities but there are enough neighborhood coffee shops and restaurants to serve in a pinch until one gets to know the area. The lack of breakfast for us was a surprise; perhaps we need to change our way of thinking - most places we travel to provide breakfast. Coffee/tea in the room. We arrived late and the grocery (fabulous when open!) across the street closes at 22:00 hrs.
Expect noise - this is a city.
Downside(s): the elevators take forever, parking is available but getting from the garage to the lobby is an adventure in and of itself. I give the rooms an average rating because the towels were a bit threadbare.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms on the back side (away from Alberni) might be quieter, but this is a city so one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I traveled with two other people while in Vancouver, returning from a cruise. We had a 2 bedroom suite, which included two baths, a kitchen and a large living room dining room area. The accommodations were excellent for our group and would work very well for a family. It is convenient to downtown, restaurants and shopping. There is a very nice food market across the street. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Carmana Plaza to anyone who plans to be in Vancouver for one night or many!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginialyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It's a good hotel, location and access to amenities is great. The proximity to downtown nightlife is troublesome, even on the 21st floor the noise from Robson and the businesses there was a bothersome. Particularly any early morning (3:30am) work happening, the back up beep from trucks can be heard clearly on the 21st floor and woke me up on 2 consecutive days, so I assume it's the norm.

The layout and furnishings are nice, but I noticed a very musty almost mildewy smell from the couch cushions, I went into the living room hoping it was less noisy than the bedroom, but the couch was too smelly for sleeping on.

The staff were helpful and it's very handy having an Urban Fare just across the road. It's a good place with a couple issues so it works out to about average.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Alberni might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimdf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,516 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing