We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top quality executive hotel with just the things you want”
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“top quality executive hotel with just the things you want”
Reviewed 23 January 2010

my wife and I are from Australia and stayed at the Carmana Plaza for 4 nights during January.
The king suite room we stayed in was quite spacious and had everything we needed for a few days in Vancouver. The kitchenette was fully equipped and everything was clean and not showing any obvious signs of wear or tear.
The staff were all really pleasant and helpful and the small gym room was very well equipped and comparable to many found in much larger hotels.
We had a great view of the mountains from our room and we were close to all the downtown attractions as well as Stanley Park.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zetlandSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    179
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
153
159
28
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Have stayed in Vancouver before & while we thought our accommodation then was excellent so to is the Carmana Plaza. Excellent location 1 block back from Robson with a great supermarket across the road (Urban Fare) a Tim Hortons/Wendys & a bottle shop steps away. The self contained 1 b/r apartment was very modern with stove, microwave etc etc. & views of the city. Only complaint was that the side of the bed near the wardrobe was very tight & did not allow much room at all. Had a snazzy coffee maker & a great utility room to store our luggage. Staff were always courteous & helpful. Internet was at a price but for memory not that expensive. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peggysue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We picked The Carmana as it provided a 1-br suite layout that suited us. The glass meals nook was a focal point at night as we looked across the city lights, the kitchen was fully laid out with modern appliances, the lounge area more than big enough for our requirements (we also had our daughter with us using the sofa bed) and the bed and pillows were absolutely the most comfortable we have ever experienced. The BC Liquor store is right next door, Urban Fare (directly opposite), an upmarket deli/cafe/market was really handy, a Tim Hortons/Wendys is just 30 metres away and the best value Japanese restaurant in Vancouver (Oysi Oysi) was right next door! What can I say - the best spot in town - we loved it because it had a real home away from home feel. Hosekeeping was done daily and nothing was ever too much trouble for the service staff, front desk and concierge.We were there for 17 nights and could easily have stayed much longer. I can highly recommend this venue as its location was central to everything, it had fantastic restaurants within a few meters and was a very comfortable suite. Full marks to management.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozzietravellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

This was an apartment style hotel room with a kitchen, one bedroom and a pull out sofa bed in the living area. Everything was very confortable and the location was great. A few blocks to a big shopping mall: the Pacific Centre, and right in the mddle of some good restaurants. Right across the road is a large great deli/supermarket with almost anything you could want. It is also quite close (several blocks but easy with pull along luggage) to the Sky rail which gives you the cheapest trip to an airport that I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydney_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We stayed at the Carmana Plaza at the end of August and next time we return to Vancouver we will stay there again.

The hotel and apartment was very clean, staff nice and helpful.

Across the road is a superb supermarket called 'Urban Fayre' which had everything you needed to stock the kitchen as well as coffee and deli snacks to take out. Also close by is an 7/11, Tim Hortons and liquor store.

The Location is ideal for getting around downtown and we felt very safe in the area.

This is good value for money when comparing to the tariffs for similar quality accommodation in downtown in either a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Will not hesitate to return here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank packingbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed here enroute to a cruise. It's pretty close to the cruise ship piers and very well located in a nice neighborhood in one of the nice parts of Vancouver. Its a small, somewhat non-nondescript hotel in general, but the suites are great as everyone says. Makes a great home base for families, or for extended stays. Definitely highly recommend it. Nice gourmet food store right across the street so you can utilize the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runningpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed at Carmana Plaza in Aug/09. The check in process was very easy, the front desk staff were very helpful with all of our requests.

We were staying in the carmana rooms, on the 31st floor. For 220 dollars a night, you CANNOT go wrong staying here. It was much nicer than I expected. The room does not feel like a hotel at all. It feels like you are staying in someonses very nicely appointed condo. When you walked in the room it has a spacious front entrance with marble tiles and a closet. The whole room was very new and clean, the windows allowed for amazing views all day. The room had a 42" lcd with 5.1 surrond system, which came in very handy for listening to music. The living room also had a nice glass table for eating. The kitchen had everything you could want for cooking. The room decor is very modern and nice to look at, much better than stuffy 'retro' hotel rooms like fairmont. The balcony had the most amazing view I have ever had in a hotel room.

The bedroom was well appointed, with a comfy bed, lcd tv mounted on the bedroom wall and ensuite bathroom. The bathroom was average, it was very clean and new so I cannot complain.

The location could not have been any better, you are close to everything you would want to go and see. Bars, Restaurants, Shopping, Stanley Park are all walking distance. In fact, we only took 1 cab the entire trip.

I do not have pictures of the suite, but if you google vancouver serviced apartments carmana plaza you will find pics of the rooms.

I would highly recommend Carmana Plaza to anyone, I will definitley return!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank foundationx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,557 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing