We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, good location, noisy, dreadful service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Great rooms, good location, noisy, dreadful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

And here's another hotel I won't be staying in again. The Carmana Plaza is based in central Vancouver and is very convenient for business/tourism. The rooms are more like suites, with large beds and a kitchen and a separate living area. Great, I thought, until I was dynamited out of my sleep at 6 am on the following day, a Sunday. I looked out of the window and there was a man with a large water compressor cleaning the sidewalk outside the grocery store opposite. I went downstairs and asked the front desk whether they could ask him to stop. "He has nothing to do with us," was the surly response. "But you must be concerned when people in your hotel can't sleep beyond 6 am on a Sunday, surely?" I asked. They didn't bother to answer me. Business must have been good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    170
    21
    4
    10
See reviews for
145
154
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

my wife and I are from Australia and stayed at the Carmana Plaza for 4 nights during January.
The king suite room we stayed in was quite spacious and had everything we needed for a few days in Vancouver. The kitchenette was fully equipped and everything was clean and not showing any obvious signs of wear or tear.
The staff were all really pleasant and helpful and the small gym room was very well equipped and comparable to many found in much larger hotels.
We had a great view of the mountains from our room and we were close to all the downtown attractions as well as Stanley Park.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zetlandSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

Have stayed in Vancouver before & while we thought our accommodation then was excellent so to is the Carmana Plaza. Excellent location 1 block back from Robson with a great supermarket across the road (Urban Fare) a Tim Hortons/Wendys & a bottle shop steps away. The self contained 1 b/r apartment was very modern with stove, microwave etc etc. & views of the city. Only complaint was that the side of the bed near the wardrobe was very tight & did not allow much room at all. Had a snazzy coffee maker & a great utility room to store our luggage. Staff were always courteous & helpful. Internet was at a price but for memory not that expensive. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peggysue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We picked The Carmana as it provided a 1-br suite layout that suited us. The glass meals nook was a focal point at night as we looked across the city lights, the kitchen was fully laid out with modern appliances, the lounge area more than big enough for our requirements (we also had our daughter with us using the sofa bed) and the bed and pillows were absolutely the most comfortable we have ever experienced. The BC Liquor store is right next door, Urban Fare (directly opposite), an upmarket deli/cafe/market was really handy, a Tim Hortons/Wendys is just 30 metres away and the best value Japanese restaurant in Vancouver (Oysi Oysi) was right next door! What can I say - the best spot in town - we loved it because it had a real home away from home feel. Hosekeeping was done daily and nothing was ever too much trouble for the service staff, front desk and concierge.We were there for 17 nights and could easily have stayed much longer. I can highly recommend this venue as its location was central to everything, it had fantastic restaurants within a few meters and was a very comfortable suite. Full marks to management.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozzietravellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

This was an apartment style hotel room with a kitchen, one bedroom and a pull out sofa bed in the living area. Everything was very confortable and the location was great. A few blocks to a big shopping mall: the Pacific Centre, and right in the mddle of some good restaurants. Right across the road is a large great deli/supermarket with almost anything you could want. It is also quite close (several blocks but easy with pull along luggage) to the Sky rail which gives you the cheapest trip to an airport that I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydney_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We stayed at the Carmana Plaza at the end of August and next time we return to Vancouver we will stay there again.

The hotel and apartment was very clean, staff nice and helpful.

Across the road is a superb supermarket called 'Urban Fayre' which had everything you needed to stock the kitchen as well as coffee and deli snacks to take out. Also close by is an 7/11, Tim Hortons and liquor store.

The Location is ideal for getting around downtown and we felt very safe in the area.

This is good value for money when comparing to the tariffs for similar quality accommodation in downtown in either a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Will not hesitate to return here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank packingbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed here enroute to a cruise. It's pretty close to the cruise ship piers and very well located in a nice neighborhood in one of the nice parts of Vancouver. Its a small, somewhat non-nondescript hotel in general, but the suites are great as everyone says. Makes a great home base for families, or for extended stays. Definitely highly recommend it. Nice gourmet food store right across the street so you can utilize the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runningpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing