We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #62 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be Vancouver”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Deceided to take advantage of a promo from Be Vancovuer...$75 Amex gift card for hotel reservation. Great low cost escape for the night. I am doing it again in 3 weeks. While the room was nice, kitchen area nice the bathroon was very very small and in bad need to be re caucked around the tub and shower area...room 1103. Overall the hotel was pretty good but could use some easy quick fixes to make it look as good as the rest of the hotel.

The check in agent was not the most helpful but did get the job done eventually. He never mentioned anything about putting the parking stubb on my dash, found it the next day after finding a 8.5x 11 sheet of paper asking to park within their rules. Why did you ask for licnece plate and make of my vehicle. You need a room key to access the area and you can block off access to the parkade if not paid for....bit confusing adn seeing as I work in the parking business I understand one thing and thats parking.

ANyways overall we had a good time, lots of places to eat around the hotel. .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    363
    181
    62
    45
See reviews for
148
355
71
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on August 30th to celebrate our anniversary. We reserved a suite with a Queen bed and upon arrival we requested if there were any upgrades available for our special occasion. We were pleasantly surprised that we got upgraded to the Presidential Suite! This suite was absolutely amazing! 3 flat screen tv's, fireplace in the bedroom and unbelievable views of English Bay.
The staff were very friendly at check in/check out, the hotel was clean and in a good location right on Davie Street. Starbucks and other restaurants are conveniently located close by. We walked down to Denman and had dinner that evening overlooking the beach and were treated to a beautiful sunset.

I would definitely recommend this downtown hotel and I would stay here again. Like any high rise hotel, be prepared to hear some street noise. Davie is a busy street and has lots of activity throughout the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 507mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We spent one night in a Queen suite which had a separate bedroom ,living room and kitchen area with microwave and dish washer. Both rooms had flat screen TVs . The wifi worked well and the room was clean throughout. The suite had a washer but the dryer was missing. The suite had a good view of the city . The hotel is in a great location central to everything downtown as well as just a few minutes walk to Stanley Park. The only negative aspects of the stay was that they charge $18 for parking, the hot water didn't work in the morning and the suite was very cold. Housekeeping brought us a heater which didn't do much. I mentioned it in the morning and the desk clerk didn't charge us for parking to make up for the suite being cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina T, General Manager at Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Vancouver just experienced very rare sub-zero temperature this past week which proves to challenge our system, built for milder weather. We hope you will visit us again in the warmer months!

Overnight parking rate at the Sandman Suites on Davie is actually very reasonable for downtown Vancouver - most hotels are charging $25 to $39 per night. An unfortunate situation when parking is of short supply. If you will be travelling with a vehicle, consider booking our "Stay and Park" package for your next visit.

All the best this holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

For me, knowing the objective of your trip and what part the hotel will play into your master plan dictates how you will enjoy your stay. For us, fans of upmarket properties in Vancouver, accepted Sandman for what we thought it would be; a crash pad for my birthday weekend.
However, check in service was great and they were kind enough to reduce our room rate (my partner is >55 years old) for the remainder of our stay as we were unaware of the program at booking. I was concerned about noise levels and requested high/corner suite. Corner suite 1702 is ocean view with a kitchen and was just great for our needs. My general litmus test is if I want to stay in the room on the first day. Yep I sure would. I felt at home with a kitchenette and clothes washer. It was throwback to an awesome early years period of our relationship for us and we loved it.
I'm a fan of the gym on the 3rd floor, easy access to Granville Island (though there is a steep hill to get to the aquabus for less-then-active folks), awesome running routes (Stanley Park), restaurants on Davie (though forget Hamburger Mary's) and easy access to/from YVR airport. We recommend getting the ten passes at the convenience store at YVR. You can use one pass to get one person on the Canada Line to Roundhouse and (across the street) transfer to #23. Five stops later, your are at the Sandman.
I will tell you, it may not be for everyone. I am a light sleeper, so once in a while I could hear "whoo-hoo" party-goers outside on the street the first night there. Lifts could be heard through the night (I absorbed the sound in my dreams). The neighbourhood is very "out", so for some visitors, the color of some residents might be uncomfortable. The room is small which I found rather cramped due to cramming all the amenities into a small area.
In addition, Sandman Davie doesn't appear to have adopted cost-cutting/environmental contribution (e.g. leave card on bed if you are OK with the bed not changed, but made or a notice to suggest guests leave bathroom towels requiring refresh in the tub). I feel uneasy about this, as my preference is to patron hotels concerned with the environment while watching costs without affecting a guest experience.
At the end of the day, we would stay at Sandman Davie for what it is; an awesome place to workout, enjoy the neighbourhood, feel at home and get a great value.

Room Tip: High floor, corner suite, THEN high floor corner suite, ocean view (high floor corner is more import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina T, General Manager at Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed and honest evaluation of our property.

To address your concerns re our hotel's environmental policy, you can rest assured that the Sandman Suites on Davie is very much an environmental advocate. We do offer guests to re-use towels - it looks like our recycle sign that usually hangs on the shower head must have gone missing from this room. There is a paper recycling bin in every room (under the kitchen sink), and we also sort through the garbage to recycle bottles and cans. Over 95% of the lighting throughout the hotel is fluorescent or LED. Even our ice machines are on timers to cut down on energy consumption. We also recycle used soaps and shampoo for the shelters.

While we are not a totally green hotel given the age of our building, we certain do our part to make tourism a sustainable industry for the good of our planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We returned to this hotel for the third time and were not disappointed. The reception area is staffed by extremely friendly and efficient people. Nothing is too much trouble when trying to discover how to get somewhere. If there any any requests, these are dealt with very quickly. The rooms are not luxurious, but well equipped.The washing machine is a god send and the rooms are always kept very clean. We will be returning in 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan1766Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had visitors from out of town and we all decide to stay at Sandman for the night. The location is good, there's tons of great resturants around and is a few blocks away from Granville Street. I like that they have a kitchen in the hotel, however, the fold out couch is small to sleep for 2. Overall, great location, clean hotel, the king size bed was comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the Sandman suits in September 2013, firstly for 2 nights we were on 23rd floor facing downtown Vancouver the view was great, & then at the end of our holiday we stayed a further 7 nights this time on the 20th floor with the ocean views, this was the perfect view. The staff were friendly, the rooms were ok although a little more maintenance on the stove hotplates as they were not level & the fridge had a missing foot support which made it a little difficult when opening the door but we did report it to management and they did say they would report it to the maintenance team to repair.
The hotel is in the perfect location close to Stanley park, great shopping areas, & it was nice walking around the Davie village with plenty of options if you prefer to eat out.

Room Tip: If you want a spectacular view ask for a room on a higher floor & would suggest the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon-Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Property: Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing