We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable and good location lifts very unreliable but staff very helpful. We got upgraded to penthouse suite on the third time we returned in a two week period. Complimentary breakfast was a bit hit and miss but as it wasn't being paid for we didn't care.Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGTREV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina T, General Manager at Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Sandman Suites on Davie. The restaurant is not operated by the hotel, but we will certainly pass on your comments to them. We are on an upgrade project with our elevators so there will be significant improvement soon.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sandman Suites on Davie again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    379
    190
    66
    47
See reviews for
159
374
73
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed four nights here as part of our honeymoon. This may not be the ideal location if you're on a business trip but if you want somewhere more liberal and a bit more vibrancy this is the place to be. There were bars near to the hotel but we never heard any noise. The suite was very modern, clean and spacious and the kitchenette ideal for when you're wanting a cheaper eating option. There was also a supermarket opposite the hotel which was very convenient. The views were great overlooking downtown and the mountains. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina T, General Manager at Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel, our location and our neighbourhood. Congratulations and thank you for making us part of your honeymoon memories. We hope you will return to visit us again to celebrate your anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drgmobile
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at this property while on business, but for its location for social events (It's not a great location for business, although a reasonable walking distance from downtown). It's one of those hotels for guests who appreciate the word "suite" over quality. The furnishings are cheap, the lobby dark. Overall the property was just OK and filled with a lot of families and folks who do not appear to stay in hotels very often.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice spacious serviced apartment in great area of Vancouver. Good clean space with fully equipped kitchen. A decent bar and restaurant downstairs. The lift can sometimes take a looooong time and fridge can be noisy but other than that all good.
Located on the friendly Davie Street, with lots of little cafe's/ restaurants farmers markets. 24hr drugstore/foodmarket right across the street. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11sunny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Got the skytrain from the airport to downtown and wasn't aware you could get the 6 bus from there to the hotel, but still the hotel is nowhere near a skytrain stop, which is what I'd have preferred.

I'm not someone who likes to pay taxis for such obscene amounts. So decided to walk to the hotel, a 20 min walk with luggage is not going to set you off in a good way.

1. Nice suite was offered with reliable wifi, watches some sport streams during our stay.
2. Shower instructions not provided, so had to speak to the desk about that.
3. Good cooling and heating feature in the room, fan was powerful and kept us cool in the hot weather.
4. Terrible location as already mentioned. Yes it's in a shopping district, but what use is that if it's so far from a sky train stop.
5. Clean room and bed, but a smallish bathroom in comparison.
6. Very slow lifts. Standards had been set by two other hotels during our trip to Canada.
7. Breakfast was not varied. We ordered continental and were given enough to last us till lunch, but come on, would it hurt to give us some variety?
8. $200 dollars were placed on hold for the stay, negotiated down from $300, much too high to justify.

Overall happy with the stay itself, but I didn't like the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaB0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This was not our first experience at the Sandman on Davie. The room and service was very good, unchanged from our last visit a year ago. Everything was clean and the room was serviced well. We choose this hotel because it is a short walk to English Bay, Stanley Park, and downtown. The bake shop and a fruit market nearby makes picking up snacks convenient. There is a bus stop a few doors down, and the Yaletown Canada Line station is a short cab ride straight down Davie. Next trip, I will stay at the Sandman

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cousinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel has a fabulous location and if you have an ocean view (and it’s nice weather) it’s really beautiful. However, this property needs updating badly. The bathroom was tacky and I couldn’t tell if it wasn’t clean, or it needs painting. Actually the entire suite could have done with a coat of paint. As for the fold out sofa-bed, can you say army cot? The suite is cramped, especially in the bedroom. The TV in the living space wasn’t working, the elevators are slow, and the underground parking is hideous.

My nephew had upgraded our room and he was charged two nights for it, though we were there only one. Good thing he noticed. When we checked out and went to our vehicle, we had a $100.00 parking ticket because the desk clerk had forgotten to put the charge on our bill and give us the pass to put on our dash. I don’t work in a hotel so I’m not familiar with the drill; I assume they know their job. She certainly knew on check-in we had a vehicle and had parked there because I complained about how low the clearance is – we drive a Van.

The Sandman seems to be building a number of new hotels, my suggestion would be to renovate some of the properties they already own.

Room Tip: I would definitely find out on booking if they have any rooms that have been updated recently. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 482Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,419 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,703 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Property: Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing