We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favourite Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at the Sandman Suites several times when I come to Vancouver, and plan to continue each time I return. I stay in a room quite high up (20-22 floor) and it's one of my favourite things to roll a chair out onto the balcony and gaze out over both the city lights and English Bay.
The rooms themselves have always been impeccably clean, with friendly and polite staff all around. I am always impressed by how many features there are in the rooms...full stove and fridge, clothes washer and dryer, nice toiletries, etc...
I love the wood floors and the way the rooms are laid out. The hotel itself is in a nice location...I always walk down to the path along the Bay, and the Vancouver Aquarium is also a nice trip if you are a good walker. This most recent time I walked to Gastown, and was that much more grateful I was staying in the West End...it was far too touristy for my taste in Gastown, whereas the West End feels pretty normal (although I am not over the moon about some of the "specialty" toy and video shops nearby). If you take the Canada Line from YVR, the walk is a bit of jaunt (especially since it's mostly uphill) but I personally enjoy that after a long flight.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The location is terrific. Right in heart of Davie; just a 10 minute walk to Robson and 10 minutes to English Bay/Stanley Park. Moxies in hotel is amazing. Great city views. Be sure to go for a high floor with a view. Worth the extra.

Room Tip: take a high floor with view....worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The room was nice enough but I do travel alot and always check the mattress! Alittle freaked with hairs and other things stuck on mattress! The suite needs a really good clean....couch too and windows and mirror closet doors showing quite a layer! Also dusty and yes a $200 deposit on our room which in all of my many years of travel have never had that done before!?? Like a valid Gold visa isn't enough!? Also we had to ask why are room was so expensive...otherwise we were not given any "heads up" re-guarding this $200 deposit? The Suite is nice like a little condo just needs yes a good clean...not just a quick wipe always. So yes the deposit? I could understand if no credit card or we looked rowdy but my Mom and I are both seniors!? Anyways the iffy cleanliness of room and deposit are my only complaints!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We were booked to stay here two nights and checked out after the first night. Went to have a shower the first morning and there was a used washcloth and the bathroom smelled of urine. Addressed it with the front desk and checked out. Also elevator was very slow as one wasn't working. Location is great but housekeeping needs an overhaul...don't understand how you can miss a dirty washcloth hanging from the curtain rod...
Not impressed.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank islandlexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

If you feel like waiting 15 min (no kidding) for the slowest elevator system I've experienced, then I guess this is a perfect hotel for you.
Also there's only 1-glas windows. Now in summertime it's ok. But it must be freeezing in wintertime.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina T, General Manager at Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I am sorry that you experienced some long waits for elevators during your stay. One of the elevators was being serviced and upgraded over the period of your stay, hence there were only 2 elevators running causing some delays during the peak hours.

Thank you for your patience and we look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very good west end location, close to the parks, and Granville island. Very walkable area. "Gay west end location". Rooms adequate,. Top floors have great views. A lot of bars and restaurants near by. Price was reasonable. Overall average hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66jammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very comfortable and good location lifts very unreliable but staff very helpful. We got upgraded to penthouse suite on the third time we returned in a two week period. Complimentary breakfast was a bit hit and miss but as it wasn't being paid for we didn't care.Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BIGTREV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina T, General Manager at Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Sandman Suites on Davie. The restaurant is not operated by the hotel, but we will certainly pass on your comments to them. We are on an upgrade project with our elevators so there will be significant improvement soon.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sandman Suites on Davie again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#19 of 92 in Vancouver
2,330 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £88 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing