We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #62 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 11 July 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. It is so convenient to everything. The staff here is great and goes out of the way to be accommodating. The rooms are fine. They could use a little updating, but otherwise they are okay. The beds are comfortable and the room is very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Sandman Suites. All and all, it was a very nice stay. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms, although they could use a bit of updating, were comfortable and clean. The beds were comfortable. The pillows were not the greatest but that may just be a personal preference.

There were a few issues that we did have. Each room has a washer/dryer combination. We tried to wash a load of laundry. It says on the machine that a load could take almost 4 hours. After almost 5 hours the machine stopped and our clothes were still wet. We called the front desk and within minutes someone arrived and took our wet clothes to dry them. Who could ask for more? Our clothes were promptly returned to our room while we were at dinner.

We had issues with the free Internet. We were never able to connect for the entire stay. The front desk was notified and they gave us the number of the company for us to call. We did call but were still unable to get a connection. which was inconvenient and frustrating.

We also had a wakeup call that arrived 15 minutes late which made us have to scramble to catch our cab for the airport.

However, it was a nice stay and we will use this hotel if we ever return to the Vancouver area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed on Sandman Suites Vancouver a few times and am always satisfied with my experience. It is in a great location for those who want to be within walking distance from restaurants, shopping, and Stanley Park. As I usually stay there on the final part of my trip, I am always happy to have a kitchen in my room. The rooms are not elegant, but they are clean and comfortable. Because of the noise that sometimes comes from the hall, I suggest asking to have a room as far from the elevators as possible. I have stayed in other hotels in the general area and feel that this is one of the best for the money - a far better value and a more interesting location than the other larger, more expensive chains found in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator and on as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guntsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Sandman Suites on Davie was better than I expected. The room was nice, comfortable even had in-suite laundry :-) it was a bit dated but for the price range and location it is reasonable compared to the other suite hotels. The staff were very helpful (excepting the original front desk person I dealt with, who was probably new), and prompt with requests and made good suggestions. The AC unit in the room was a bit noisy, couldn't leave it on at night, and the room I was in faced SE, toward the vent fans for the parkade and kitchens which were a bit noisy. But nothing I haven't had to deal with at similar hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms looking to the northwest face away from the parkade and the fans that create noise.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Kimdf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here as a family, thinking a 1-bedroom suite could comfortably accommodate three people. It felt cramped, but this was our first stay in downtown Vancouver, and that may just be how hotels are there. It was amazing how much they could fit in such a little space: a full kitchen with washer/dryer combo, small living room (with a twin-size pull out bed), and a bedroom (just big enough for a queen size bed and dresser).

The good: I felt it was a good value. Having a kitchen helps a lot, especially when traveling with a child. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There's a good fitness facility on the third floor with several treadmills and other equipment. The pool was well maintained and heated. And most importantly, it's in a great location. We clocked just over a mile to Stanley Park.

The bad: The structure needs updating. The fixtures in the room were very nice, but the inner structure appears to be falling apart (cracks in walls, old bath tub, door trim falling apart, paint peeling). It's almost like during the most recent renovation, they only stripped the rooms down to the walls and didn't go any further. Elevators are incredibly slow. We took the stairs down 16 flights several times. And this may sound small, but the kitchen didn't have any dish soap. Just dishwasher detergent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend with our 1 year old daughter. The room wasn't very big but we managed to make it work for the limited amount of time we spent there. We managed to have her playpen in the living room while we had our own space in the bedroom. It was really nice to have a kitchen to eat breakfast in while we were there. They didn't supply dishsoap, only dishwasher soap, so we ended up running the dishwasher twice daily for only a few dishes which seemed wasteful. The room was a bit outdated but was still clean.

We were hoping to use the pool but with Vancouver weather, we were unable to use the outdoor pool with our daughter.

It is only a short walk to Robson street and the downtown area. Also the ferry to Granville island is only a 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors facing the ocean had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravellers_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we were staying on 6 floor and it was just awful. Suite was so outdated, with very loud probably 20 years old condition/fan/heater unit in the bedroom and same old fan in bathroom, warn carpet. Cracks on the selling, torn wallpaper in bathroom. Nothing like they show on pictures

Room Tip: 6 floor suites desperate need to be remodeled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
2,363 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,913 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £94 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing