We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but it has its faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for a week in August. Service at the reception was quick and efficient on check in. We were given a room on the 4th floor and asked if there was anything higher available and were told only at an additional cost. We stayed put and this turned out to be a mixed blessing. The room was a wee bit dated but very clean and well appointed with kitchen, including dishwasher and washing machine/dryer. The decor was a bit dated and no chairs available on the balcony.You had to take one out from the room and this was a pain as the patio doors were stiff and when we opened and closed the louvre blinds then the slats would fall off!
Bathroom was clean but towels are very small.Could do with larger ones. Air conditioner in the bedroom was extremely noisy and had to be turned off every night. Room does get hot. There was an ice machine and coke machine right outside our door so very noisy.The maid service was very keen as she knocked on our door just after 8 every morning to see if we were ready to have our room cleaned.
The rooftop parking for the hotel is on the third floor so twice we were woken by workmen one floor below us outside the balcony using an industrial sander on the car-park surface.
As stated the 4th floor was a mixed blessing. The BEST thing about staying on the fourth floor was you didn't have many stairs to go down to get to the lobby!! The lifts are a complete joke. (only 2 of 3 working for the whole week) In a weeks stay I managed to come down in them only three times and found it far quicker (as did every one else on that floor) to just use the stairs. On our last morning when we checked out, the maid actually cleaned a room as we waited for the lift. Sadly it failed to arrive though we did hear it passing, so had to carry all our cases down the stairs. Going up in the lifts one time we met a distraught couple who had got into the lifts only for the doors to shut before the kids got in, trapping the couple in the lift and the kids in the hallway, forcing all to wait an interminable period before the lift decided it was their floor's turn to have another visit.
On a visit to the outdoor pool, one of the floor tiles broke as I stood on it causing me to slip and hurt my back on a low wall on the patio round the pool. Staff were fairly indifferent when I reported this and showed them my injured back. Breakfast is served in Moxies Grill next to the Hotel. It was ok but service not the best. Orders were mixed up and we had to ask for fruit juice everytime though it was supposed to be included. We quickly gave up eating here and visited some of the excellent places nearby. Overall its fair and if you can escape the noise and get a floor regularly visited by a lift then I'd possibly stay here again. Great location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Sandman on Davies is an awesome location,walking distance to everywhere....rooms are well appointed as far as a kitchenette goes,decks have great views...we bring our own deck chairs coz there are none. We stay here for the outside pool unfortunately the new pool side decor is AWCKWARD and AWFUL!!!! WHY did you replace the lounge chairs with low to the ground awkward sitting? Why do the tables and chairs out number the lounge chairs? When I dip in the pool I like to lay out (both sides) comfortably in the sun... Maybe you need to rethink the poolside decor...to be more user friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fremontbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for one night. We were pretty jet lagged and so needed to sleep. Loud music from the bar below went on until 3.00am. Only single glazed windows so could hear conversations and everything. We were about halfway up as well and not on one of the lower floors or anything. We changed our booking for the way back. Apart from that the apartment was very nicely done out but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a high up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lcskipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had to stay a month in Vancouver and the Sandman Suites on Davies Street was above AWESOME! The suite was stylish, clean and very comfortable and the friendly staff went far beyond their duties to make our stay wonderful. The location was perfect....we could dine at the wide variety of ethnic restaurants that surrounded us or pick up groceries at nearby stores, all within walking distance. We enjoyed many memorable walks from the hotel along the seawall to English Bay and Stanley Park. We walked from our hotel to shop Robson St. and Granville St. and to see many attractions. Once again the staff were amazing and and made certain our stay was wonderful. I can't wait to return. Thank you Sandman Suites on Davies St.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

In many ways this hotel offers good value, because the suites are spacious and have a kitchen which is quite well equipped, washer drier and plenty of storage. Also, the pool is a welcome feature and the internet connection, at least on the fifth floor, was very good. That said, there were a few things we did not like. The aircon unit was in the bedroom and very noisy, so it could not be left on all night. The elevators, as other have pointed out, are painfully slow and we had to wait 10 minutes sometimes. Overall, the rooms are rather dated, but quite clean and comfortable. It would be nice if someone cleaned the dirty grout in the bathroom at least. On the first day of our stay, the bath was not draining properly and water was leaking onto the bathroom floor. When we reported this it was fixed by the time we got back in the afternoon, so full marks for that. Staff were helpful and friendly, so no complaints there.

Room Tip: Get a room say 10th floor and above to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Everything you could want is at your doorstep. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is a solid 3 star experience, appropriately priced for the full suite with kitchenette. We'd recommend to others for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect for anything you would like to do on Davie Street and Granville St. However the elevators are very slow, one broke and wasn't fixed during our week long stay. So during the busy weekend, we waited 15 to 20 minutes each time for an elevator. There are other minor maintenance issues with the room. It is air conditioned so that made it fairly comfortable at night. The only problem is the air conditioning unit was in the living room and the air didn't blow into the bedroom. I will stay at another place next year. It wasn't worth $200 a night.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank compuwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,535 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £86 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing