We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad, great views and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“not bad, great views and location”
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I stayed here with various members of my family last year. We had 3 rooms, each with one bedroom, a foldaway bed in the lounge area and a kitchenette also in the lounge area, en suite. I stayed in a room facing the sea, which was fantastic as the views were lovely and we had a small balcony. My brother stayed in a room facing the opposite direction, which still had great views but if you have a choice then go for the rooms facing English Bay. The kitchen was fine, however I dont think that the water was drinkable, whether it was that we just happened to have some problems with it or that it is always like that Im not sure, but it was a bit of a pain. However the staff were very helpful and professional. The Sandman was fine, good in fact. It didn't impress me to the point where I can rave about it but I would stay there again. It is located on Davie Street which is what you could call the gay quarter - it is very central and the street is buzzing and interesting, but not really upmarket. I would recommend this hotel, perhaps even just for its location - close to the city centre, Stanley Park and English Bay, with easy links to other areas of Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    377
    189
    66
    47
See reviews for
158
372
73
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

The location and service were the best qualities at this hotel. The property is located on Davie Street, right in the heart of Vancouver's Gay Village. Near-by their are many ethnic and fast food restaurants, as well as a Moxies on-site, grocery stores, 24 hour pharmacy, convenience stores, an Internet cafe and many night clubs. Robson Street, the one of the city's prime shopping areas, is within walking distance, and public transportation taking you to the other areas of Vancouver is also near by.

The staff were excellent; very friendly and helpful, and the manager seemed to have a great deal of knowledge on the city's attractions.

The suites are excellent for the price you pay for them. They come equipped with a fair-sized fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, washer and dryer, coffee maker and even utensils and cooking equipment. The beds and bedding can use a bit of updating, but apart from that, I had no real complaints about it.

However, my one complaint about this property was the hit and miss connections with the free Internet. It would work fine sometimes, but some nights they were so bad, I would have to go to the Internet cafe down the road just to check my e-mail.

This hotel met my expectations to various levels, but I would be more than likely to return here if and when I come back to the Vancouver area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThisIsNotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

pre-booked before going to Canada so was much cheaper than walking in to book. Well equipped apartment with a fab view of the ocean, brilliant restaurant downstairs which you could bill to your room - the food was amazing, the environment was great and service was top class, we ended up eating there nearly every night of our stay. I couldn't fault this accommodation, will stay there again when we go back.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kangercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Every suite feels like a private apartment -- in-suite laundry, kitchens, balconies, etc. The fitness centre has new equipment. Loads of restaurants and shops right at the doorstep. Sunset Beach/English Bay and seawall within walking distance. It's located on Davie Street, which is not exactly a touristy location -- you'll see the "real" Vancouver here, at its best and worst. But you're within easy walking distance of the Robson shopping strip, the funky/trendy Denman Street, Stanley Park, and the seawall and beaches.

The reason the hotel turned out so nicely was almost an accident. It was once a hotel under another name and a bit dumpy. A new developer bought it and tried illegally to convert the hotel into rental apartments. After fixing up the new digs, the city refused the request to change the license from hotel to apartments. Sandman came in and bought it and runs it as a hotel. Since then, a lot of new businesses have opened around the hotel and improved the neighbourhood substantially (organic grocer, coffee shops, restaurants, lounges). Though I lived in Vancouver, I moved for a couple of years and stayed here on a visit for two weeks, and family members have stayed a few times. Although not luxurious, it's a very comfortable, homey place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

My partner and I stayed in Penthouse #6 for 3 nights over the last weekend in November. It was, without a doubt, an amazing room with a spectacular view of English Bay and the North Shore. From the jacuzzi tub, to the ultra-comfy bed, neat shower and the spacious room with a small kitchenette....it was worth every penny and more.

Price-wise, for this wonderful room, this was much more affordable than any other penthouse suite in the city (trust me, I did my homework). The location could not have been better, as we walked all over the city, throughout Stanley Park and enjoyed all the wonderful coffee shops & cafes that Davie Street had to offer.

The hotel staff were super friendly, real people, with diverse personalities and backgrounds (a true reflection of Vancouver). Housekeeping did a wonderful job each morning - Zoe deserves kudos for keeping our room super clean and neat. The Australian man that checked us in was so nice and helpful. I hope he has a wonderful trip back home this month.

Being from Vancouver, this vacation at home was made extra special by our stay at the Sandman Suites. My boyfriend, from Arizona, was super impressed with the room and location. Without any hesitation, I would stay here again and again. Thank you Sandman Suites and staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rwongcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My fiancee and I decided to escape American Thanksgiving by spending it in Vancouver. I decided to stay at the Sandman Suites on Davie based on other reviews. The hotel lives up to the review.
Incredible staff, very friendly, respectful and eager to help. They're also very knowledgeable of the area. I asked the front desk for recommendation and he pointed me to Tojo restaurant (the best Omakase experience I ever tried)
Chris, front desk, was extremely helpful when there were some problems with my credit charges. kudos to him
Definitely would come back to this hotel if I came back to Vancouver again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heou87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I stayed at the Sandman Suites for 3 nights in October. The entire experience at the hotel was a great one. The front desk check in was quick and easy with knowledgeable staff. (Though the decor in the lobby is quite strange, but it's personal taste.)
We got up to our room on the 18th floor and the view was amazing! We had the perfect view of the north shore mountains on one side and English Bay on the other (it made for a beautiful photograph).
The room was moderately spaced but was decorated beautifully and everything looked brand new. The bed was extremely comfortable, which is very important in what everyone looks for in a hotel!
The housekeeping service was excellent and fast and very accommodating with when to return to have the room made up.
The only complaint I have with this hotel was the bathroom was fairly tiny...it was clean and everything worked perfectly, just not so spacious.
The spa at the hotel was very nice. The staff were friendly and welcoming and put you at ease as soon as you walk in the door.
All in all, we had an excellent stay and would love to go back again for our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Property: Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing