We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Chinese food in uninspired 2nd floor setting near English Bay beach.”

Won More Szechuan Cuisine
Ranked #572 of 3,707 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: West End
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese food in uninspired 2nd floor setting near English Bay beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

I eat here a lot. It's in my neighbourhood but despite restaurants all over the area I crave their food over all others. Being a vegetarian I can eat almost anywhere in vancouver but Won More's rocksalt prawns with crispy noodles and green beans is really delicious and garlicky...mmmmm! The eggplant tofu hot pot is sweet and sticky and delicious with steamed rice. I highly reccommend this place for the food. The atmosphere is crappy like a lot of Chinese restaurants....plain...yellow walls and some seats have a full on view of a nasty hallway leading to the kitchen and bathrooms....so face the other way! Or do take out! If anyone in your party is physically challenged it may be difficult to impossible to eat here because of the steep semi circular staircase going up to their entrance on the 2nd floor above a xerox shop or something too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We come to this restaurant every time we are in Vancouver because the food is amazing and the servers are always friendly. They will customize dishes to your liking upon request. Great value for the money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank waterskibabe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty, Spicy Szechuan- the way it should be made”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you're in Vancouver and looking for one of the best Szechuan Restaurants, head down to English Bay. Near the corner of Denman and Davie Streets is a gem of a restaurant loved by the locals. It is situated on the 2nd floor of a strip of restaurants, cafes etc..., and there is a spiral staircase to walk up.
Whereas many Szechuan restaurants can overdo the sweetness or spiciness, this place gets it right, and the chef cooks right out front- you can watch him from the outside if you wish.
I recommend the Spicy Ginger Beef, the Duck Lettuce Wrap (appy section), their Chicken with Mixed Vegetables (simple dish with at least 8 different vegetables) and their signature Szechuan fried rice- spicy ginger and chili infused fried rice with pork, egg, shrimp and chicken.
Vancouver has loads of Asian restaurants to consider and every year there seems to be a new hotspot... this place has been in business for years and it's no wonder: it is consistent, it is affordable (2 dishes & rice is plenty food for 2), and on a summer's night, you can go for a stroll along the beach after dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,BC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Been going here regularly at least once a month for the past year. Small place, but the service is great, the portions huge. This is Szechuan for the white guy, but it is good. Pricing is reasonable. Not much space for seating. Get here early on the weekends, as its very busy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank averagejoe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Hot Pots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Whether you stop in after spending the day at the beach, or take a walk on the seawall after dinner, this delightful restarant is sure to please szechuan loving amateurs.
We regularly frequent Won More at this location because the service is friendly and helpful. If you ask them to prepare something different than on the menu, they will do it for you no problem. The food is delicious. I strongly suggest the hot pots and spicy deep fried tofu.
When the weather is right, you can always sit outside given that you're lucky enough to find an available table. That's why we always get there a little early.

Bon Appétit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dr-sea-breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Won More Szechuan Cuisine also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Won More Szechuan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing