We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Ranked #50 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty good choice”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Front desk is helpful,free breakfast is ok,the underground parking space is a bit tight.
10 min's drive from city centre
There's an Vietnamese restaurant just 1 block away,we tried it and not bad,the hotel has a Italian one too.

Room Tip: Better ask for a room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review and give some our future guests advice on Mount Pleasants many great dining options. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    383
    146
    21
    19
See reviews for
222
321
74
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Best Western had very clean rooms, up to date bathrooms, friendly and helpful staff for just over half the price of staying downtown. The bus is a block away to Downtown, Stanley Park, and Granville Island, as well as connecting to the airport via Canada Line on the Skyway. A colourful neighbourhood. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your insights regarding your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was one of 3 options proposed by the travel agent. After verification with online hotel shopping, I got the best price via Best Western customer service on the phone. We had great weather all 4 days. The location is very practical for access to downtown within 10 minutes. The WIFI speed in the room was as expected. Parking was indoor with super narrow spots for a Dodge avenger type car. Parking experience was fun though ... felt like the parking segment of a drive test. If you parked in middle east cities and europe, you should be able to handle it in this hotel. The smaller the car the easier the parking. The breakfast is acceptable for a couple on the Go. Most of our days were sent out of the room. I did appreciate how well the fitness room was equipped. Didn't get the chance to use it for lack of time. However, it was necessary for me to book the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 207rafikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your insights for our future guests, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to get out and enjoy all that Vancouver has to offer. We hope to see you again during your future visits.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived at 11:30 pm, the hotel staff was very helpful and quick about getting us into our room after a long day of travel. We only stayed the one night, but the beds were comfortable and made for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 170debrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your experience with our hotel, I am very happy to hear that you had a good experience on check in and that you were able to get a good nights rest. We hope to see you again during your future visits to our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kegs605
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were staying at another property and came to this one.the rooms are clean,the breakfast was great,the rate was reasonable.but parking sucked,but you can park across the street at the shopping plaza as long as you get a pass from the desk. There is a good little restaurant beside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kegs605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and providing your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part, and we hope that you will continue to use Best Western for your accommodation needs in the future. In regards to our parking we do acknowledge the parking space is very small and not the absolute best however we provide this service free of charge for this reason.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Excellent value for your dollar - close walk to transit and a good hike but nice walk to downtown -- Very good restaurants near by and mall with grocery and all the amenities if you choose not to eat out -- We liked the location. We stayed near Stanley Park and in the Vancouver Centre area before and it was nice to see another part of Vancouver. Nice assorted breakfast before you started your day was included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our property, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience and tips for the area. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in Vancouver for seven days at the Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel. Everything was ok: the location was near downtown, very close to a grocery store; rooms were clean and with enough space; breakfast was acceptable. There is just a BIG problem: the parking. If you travel with a car, and if you have a SUV, be prepared for an adventure. The space for the parking is very small, almost the same size as the car and you need to spend some time to find a place to park. We spent a night in Whistler in a similar hotel with underground parking, and the parking spots were adequate; I never saw anything like this before. My advice: rent a small car, prepare your parking skills ahead of time and return to the hotel before 9 PM (on any day, even weekdays).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adyescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy that for the most part you did enjoy your stay with us. As for the issue with the parking, we do try our best on check in to warn guests of the challenges with our secured underground parking, however the size and limitations of the lot are the reasons for which we provide our parking as a free service while other hotels in the neighborhood charge for their unsecured parking. If you do return after 9 pm the hotel does have an overflow lease with an adjacent lot, you can sign out a parking pass which permits you to park from 9 pm to 9am again free of charge, this is an excellent option for larger vehicles, however please be advised this is an open air unsecured lot. During the day time street parking is available, however it does come with time limitations most ending at 6pm and not starting until 7 am on Kingsway and 9am on 10th Avenue. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#56 of 90 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 90 in Vancouver
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing