We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the internet listing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a rundown establishment!! The description on the net sounded good.The beds were clean,the free breakfast was OK. However,the furnishings,the décor and the general ambience was rundown. The double room with bed was small-a couple holding hands could touch all the walls!!,probably. We had booked for 6 nights but checked out after the first night. here were others doing the same-one woman complaining about toilet troubles!!! She was told they had plans to refurbish the place-that it was not a Best Western when they acquired the premises. They should not have opened as a Best Western until the work had been completed.Reviews such as this will take months at least to overcome1 Two weeks previously we had stayed at a Best Western Plus and it was everything they advertised. If this was our first stay at a Best Western we would never return to any other .It presented as a seedy hotel often depicted in a movie. We could never recommend this to anyone.Period.

Room Tip: No Chance!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cudgel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review, we always do our best to be transparent in our sales and marketing, as such we have never denied that we are a boutique styled hotel with smaller rooms, therefore, we recommend guests to book our King rooms or Double rooms if size is a factor in your accommodation decisions as our Queen rooms are the smallest in the hotel. The hotel has been a Best Western and a very high ranking one for 11 years, we have received Directors awards, Quality Assurance awards and the TripAdvisor Award of Excellence over the past years. However we realize that the hotel needs a refresher, we began that process this year with the flat panel TV's, Triple sheet bedding and new headboards in guest rooms, while the hallways received new carpeting and wallpaper as well. In the near future Guest rooms will undergo the remainder of their renovations with fresh carpeting, all new furniture and the addition of refrigerators in all guest rooms.

It was myself whom had personally checked you out and I wish that we had the opportunity to discuss this in person that day, it would have given me the opportunity to further explain the conversation you overheard with the other guest. In fact they had checked out due to an issue with their toilet one which we had not been given the opportunity to address before they made their decision to check out of the hotel.

In future visits to Vancouver, I would appreciate the opportunity to show you that we are a quality establishment. Please feel free to contact me directly at info@bestwesternvancouver.ca

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very clean hotel. Friendly, courteous staff. Close to airport and ship port. Would stay there again. Restaurant beside hotel has great food. It was great value for downtown. Is within walking distance to coffee shops and the piers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagleyes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel and giving our future guests a little insight into the neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you again during your future visits to Vancouver.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very happy with my stay at this hotel for 2 weeks in May 2014. It is close to downtown, bus ride away from Stanley Park, close to a shopping mall and restaurants and coffee shops! Staff at the hotel are super friendly, including front desk, breakfast, and room service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Steven
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights last year. No complaints! Interesting layout and location, close to everything, yet only a short ride to the west end.
Lovely room, good service, clean, quiet and enjoyable. Good value for the money. Would stay here again. Breakfasts were good.

Note that the underground parking is NOT friendly to trucks of any kind. You need to park on the street, however, we had no problems with that.
Recommended/

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grampy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for providing your review of our hotel, it pleases me to hear that a guest had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Front desk is helpful,free breakfast is ok,the underground parking space is a bit tight.
10 min's drive from city centre
There's an Vietnamese restaurant just 1 block away,we tried it and not bad,the hotel has a Italian one too.

Room Tip: Better ask for a room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review and give some our future guests advice on Mount Pleasants many great dining options. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Best Western had very clean rooms, up to date bathrooms, friendly and helpful staff for just over half the price of staying downtown. The bus is a block away to Downtown, Stanley Park, and Granville Island, as well as connecting to the airport via Canada Line on the Skyway. A colourful neighbourhood. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your insights regarding your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was one of 3 options proposed by the travel agent. After verification with online hotel shopping, I got the best price via Best Western customer service on the phone. We had great weather all 4 days. The location is very practical for access to downtown within 10 minutes. The WIFI speed in the room was as expected. Parking was indoor with super narrow spots for a Dodge avenger type car. Parking experience was fun though ... felt like the parking segment of a drive test. If you parked in middle east cities and europe, you should be able to handle it in this hotel. The smaller the car the easier the parking. The breakfast is acceptable for a couple on the Go. Most of our days were sent out of the room. I did appreciate how well the fitness room was equipped. Didn't get the chance to use it for lack of time. However, it was necessary for me to book the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 207rafikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your insights for our future guests, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to get out and enjoy all that Vancouver has to offer. We hope to see you again during your future visits.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
971 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#42 of 92 in Vancouver
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#16 of 92 in Vancouver
2,363 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Broadway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS IN OUR LOBBY AND PUBLIC AREAS** Thank you, Sunil Parashar Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing