We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with public access to top sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our stop in Vancouver concluded a long (expensive) 15 day Alaska tour, so we were looking to save $ on our hotel in Vancouver.
We were happy with the hotel; clean, very friendly staff, free hot breakfast, large rooms, etc. We were disappointed that there was no pool or whirlpool.
Public transportation went right past the hotel and we were able to buy unlimited bus passes & get a free transit map across the street at the drugstore so we could hop on & off the bus whenever / wherever we wanted, eliminating the need for a rental car. Only about a 15 min. bus ride to Stanley Park. Cab fare from hotel to airport was about $25 with tip.
Overall we would recommend this hotel if a pool is not a requirement.

Room Tip: 1st floor room, could hear outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel and I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience, we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel located in city in an easy-to-get-around area. One block from bus stop. Across the street from a below-level small mall. Hotel clean, staff very friendly and and helpful. Continental breakfast not bad but eating area very small so often crowded. Quiet, clean rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MLSDEDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am glad to hear that for the most part you were happy with your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

stayed for 8 days. Hot breakfast with diversity every morning was excellent. Very clean rooms. Staff was always smiling and glade to assist us. Underground parking safe(a bit tight) The fitness room was only open after 830am. this is late for me. and the location was a solar room(very hot)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your insights, I am happy to hear that for the most part you did enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately due to the location of the fitness room we are not able to open the room before 8:30 each day as it would be the focal point for complaints due to the noise generated by many of the machines in the room. As for the solarium we do have plans included in the hotels upcoming renovations that will hopefully make the room more comfortable for our guests.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights here while seeing Vancouver and Whistler. The hotel is located a reasonable distance from the city centre. Buses nearby bring you Downtown and to Stanley Park. You can buy a book of tickets in the nearby Drugstore which is located in a shopping mall just down the road from the hotel. The hotel has a small underground car park and it's first come first served. Spaces are very tight too but we did manage to get parking. Otherwise we would have had to park across the road opposite the hotel. This hotel has 4 floors. It is an old building but the rooms are good if not huge. Rooms are quiet too at night time in spite of being a city hotel. There is no pool which we missed but it is a city hotel. The breakfast room was quite small and though it served until 10.30 which was unusual it wasn't adequate for the demand
at 9.00am. The Italian Bar and Grill next door is very good and we ate there on 2 nights. We were late arriving too at 9pm but there was no fuss and they gladly accommodated us which we appreciated. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will continue to seek solutions to improve our breakfast and I hope that we are able to provide you and other guests with a more enjoyable experience in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Imagine my surprise when we arrived and my spouse said, "hmm, I thought I'd booked the Downtown Best Western." Expected we'd be walking distance from the sea wall and Stanley Park. Instead, we were a block off the Mount Pleasant neighborhood. Easily accessibie and the business improvement area website http://www.mainstreetbia.com/neighbourhood/ has a great self-guided tour of historic houses and civic buildings. Great dining and shopping along Main Street, an amazing area of unique shops with plenty of food/bars also (vintage goods; clothes; toy store; stationery; crafts.) Access to mass transit system which is extensive after the Winter Olympics and also good if you have a car. We easily fit into our schedule many other Vancouver destinations (aforementiond park and sea wall, UBC Anthropology Museum, Granville Island) without feeling that we'd erroneously picked a place too far from downtown proper.

The hotel was fine, good service, clean, good breakfast, all as advertised. There was also a small bar/restaurant next door, a supermarket and other shops across the street, and several parks close by.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view - the mountain view side of the hotel is opposite the more trafficke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SacCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you made the best out of your stay in the uptown neighborhood. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our family stayed here for 8 nights when we had a death in the family. The staff were great in getting us in on short notice and being able to keep us in the same room throughout our stay. It was wonderful to have gated parking, transit access, a rooftop garden outside our room, and hot breakfast. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am happy to hear that we were able to make your stay a great one, especially considering the circumstances.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel hit all of the right check boxes for us.

The location was superb, set into a nice little neighborhood ... a block away from several major bus stops that take you to Downtown or around Uptown or out!

The restaurants around particularly the Asian ones are all delightful. With the help of the staff we got to a pharmacy next door where they sold us each convenient 10-passes for the buses or Skytrain ... making it easy to move around and leave our car in the enclosed and complimentary parking. They also helped direct us to a Moneygram location a block away where we could exchange USD for CAD at a better rate than the hotel offered (amazing!!).

Included in our standard rate was a nice continental breakfast that even had hot omelettes, sausage, bacon and a do it yourself waffle maker (basically a deluxe continental breakfast).

Totally satisfied the only reason this review was not five stars was that it is clear the hotel is a bit on the old side and feels that way.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed pretty decent ... choose freely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank METRUN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable time at our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the neighborhood as well. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
960 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#43 of 92 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £73 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS IN OUR LOBBY AND PUBLIC AREAS** Thank you, Sunil Parashar Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing