We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel, comfortable with very good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 February 2009

I am very pleased with my recent stay at the Marriott Pinnacle in Vancouver: the hotel rooms are quiet and nice (see attached picture), the view is great and the breakfast is very good. One of the best features of the hotel is the Concierge Lounge, where you can have breakfast and afternoon snacks in a quiet atmosphere (You will need to have a high Marriott Rewards status to access the lounge, though). One drawback of the hotel is its location, way too close to the buildings currently being erected in Coal Harbor, hence creating noise from 8am to 6pm. If you want full quietness for example to work from your room during the day, the Westin is a better option, as it is located off the contruction zone while still being within the Coal Harbor district. The gym at the Marriott is subpar.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheotherside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2009

We had a lovely stay at the Marriott with helpful and friendly staff making the stay all the much better.

Location is not bad for the new traveler to Vancouver, with a visit to Gas Town and North Van via the Sea Bus Terminal both in short walking distances. For those shredders, the Sea Bus terminal is your first step to Cypress, Grouse Mountain and Seymour skiing. There is also a fantastic walk along the sea front on your doorstep. A longer walk will take you to Robson St. for those shoppers, English Bay, Stanley Park etc… You might be better off catching the excellent Sky Train if you don’t like the walk as its all uphill from the hotel.

Room was everything you would expect from the Marriott at this price range, where we also requested a sea front view which was nice. Hotel bar was upscale and reasonable priced for Downtown. As I have lived in Van before, we didn’t really check out anything else in the hotel.

Shoppers will love Robson Street and Metropolis Mall via the Sky Train. Eat places with some character i would recommend Davie Street. If you like trendy bars head to Yale Town which also has restaurants with the some theme.

Overall a great stay with the typical Marriott luxuries.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travel_Junkie_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I had a layover in Vancouver BC and my connecting flight home got cancelled for several days due to the Holiday snow storms. Instead of fighting with the crowds at the airport, I decided to camp out downtown.

The check-in staff was amazing. We told them that we were stranded and would be in town for several days. They went above and beyond when it came to making my stay comfortable. They helped with extending my stay everyday after my flights were cancelled and even helped me find a rental car when I found out I wasn't going to make it home for Christmas.

I was upgraded to a suite on the 23 level with a great view of the city and the water. The room amenities, decor, and furniture were amazing. Plus a great bathroom.

I plan on returning in the spring to enjoy more of Vancouver.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TuttoBene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Booked a #19 room - thanks Tripadvisor - the view was spectacular, overlooking the bay and mountains. Everything was perfect. The concierge extremely helpful with reservations. Good location, near Skytrain and bus terminals. Excellent bartending in hotel bar - give it a try!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mrslauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

We stayed at the Pinnacle for eight days and explored B.C. the best we could, there just isn't enough time to completely enjoy this jewel of western Canada. The Pinnacle is an excellent hotel with several amenities that you would expect.
The restaurant on the bottom floor (name escapes me) is very good and going there instead of going out after a busy day is an excellent option. The Chef is a national award winner in Canada and any entree is a winner, too!
The staff are very friendly and overall quite helpful. We had room service one night, and the attendant was so nice he brought complementary cheesecake and a local bottle of white wine.
The room was spacious, comfortable with ethernet and quite nice with a great view. If a great view (north) is important, make sure you request it in advance.
Parking is valet or you can do it yourself in the garage, either way it's easy.
Okay, now for the criticism. We arrived at 5(ish) pm and our room was not ready, not good. I had an 18 hour travel day and I expected my suite to be ready. I waited for 40 minutes... This was not a good first impression after an already long day.

All things considered, the Pinnacle is a great hotel with an excellent location for downtown Vancouver and close to Stanley Park (must see). Vancouver is an expensive area, so be prepared to budget an extra 15-20% in your travel budget. However, if you're a savvy researcher and plan trips like we do, you'll have a great time without getting caught in the hype of the fashion and shopping districts. There is A LOT to do!!! Have fun.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank frequent-traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

The Marriott Pinnacle hotel is located in the heart of the business district, close to the seaplane terminal and not too far from the shopping areas. The Airport Bus stops at the Renaissance opposite, but its very convenient.

The hotel was of a high quality. The room was compact but had a superb panoramic view across the harbour so I was able to watch the seaplanes take off and look over towards North Vancouver and Grouse Mountain - very impressive.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. There was a queue on both days that I was there, which shouldn't happen in a hotel of this quality. Service was good, although the buffet choice was slightly limited for a hotel of this class. I only had a room service meal, but that was top quality.

The hotel has a small business centre with internet access that is chargeable.

The front desk staff were superb.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stevie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one night prior to a trip to the Rockies, and for one night on the return trip.

Room on the first night was good but the one on the return trip (25th concierge floor) was great!

As stated by other reviewers, standard Marriott decor throughout but the staff at this hotel surpass any I've come across before. From the doormen to reception, from the concierge staff to the lady in the hotel shop - all were very welcoming, very polite and very helpful. A special mention to Irene in the concierge lounge!

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank AllyMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,849 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel

Address: 1128 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £136 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The awe-inspiring North Shore Mountains set the stage for a wonderful stay here at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, a top choice among hotels in Vancouver, BC. Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, we are steps away from the Cruise Ship terminal and the Vancouver Convention Centre. We welcome business and leisure travellers to our waterfront hotel, which is a premier choice for Downtown Vancouver hotels near dining, entertainment, and more. With beautifully designed accommodations and first-class service, you will thoroughly enjoy a comfortable stay with us. Most of our rooms offer excellent views of downtown Vancouver, or of Coal Harbour and the mountains. At our Showcase Restaurant and Bar, you will be able to find exceptionally delicious West Coast cuisine. Showcase is the place where locals and our hotel guests feel at home while they are discovering new fare and new experiences. Stay with us! Our Vancouver waterfront hotel offers an exceptional experience for a business or leisure visit to Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vancouver
Vancouver Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing