We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Brisbane
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great location in the middle of Granville St but no party noise in the rooms at night. Very clean rooms and bathrooms and cheap tickets to the hockey too! Overall a great place to stay, though I feel the Samesun across the street is better for meeting people and partying.

I did have a problem with the lock on the door being broken and being unable to get into my room once or twice, though this problem was addressed the same day and I was relocated to another room with a working lock.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    127
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
11
68
114
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I would never recommend this hostel to anyone. I was there for 3 nights in 2012 and had a terrible experiency. First of all, I booked my stay in their website in a 4 bed dorm only for girls and when arrived there the guy in the reception told me they had no spot in 'only girls' rooms, so i would rather stay in a mixed one or find another hostel (it was 11pm). Beyond that, the rooms were dirty and badly cared and the air conditioner made a lot of noise, disturbing my sleep. TERRIBLE!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlaalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I enjoyed this hostel in most respects. The beds are very comfortable, solid wooden bunks, probably some of the better hostel bunks I have slept in. A quiet hostel, the room was nice and quiet, didn't really hear any other people through the walls. The overall atmosphere was quieter than other hostels, not many people seem to hang out in the common areas.
My only real problem with this hostel is it has no decent kitchen, it only has an express kitchen; it has a fridge, plates, forks, cups etc, and microwaves. No ovens at all. A bit hard to cook stuff, and this was frustrating for us, as we like to cook our own meals, as cheaper.
Free breakfasts were good, muffins, toast, bagels, cereals.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Perfect location for Vancouver. The hostel itself was great, clean room, helpful staff and an all round good atmosphere. The kitchen could have been a little better equipped, however the free breakfast definitely made up for it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I visited this hostel for 5 nights in March of 2014 - solo traveler and opted for a 2 bed dorm. Apart from the location, there is nothing overly flash about this hostel.

Positives: Great location for downtown - easy access to trains for YVR. The corridors were quiet and amenities were decent and clean. Foyer had plenty of brochures for visitors and discounted hockey tickets available. WIFI was quite fast and free.

Negatives: Only one power point worked in the room so my room mate and I had to take turns charging our devices. There were also no light bulbs in the private lamps. Staff were advised and didn't seem to care.

Overall, a great spot if you're on a budget and still want a good location.

Room Tip: Rooms down the back away from Granville St are quieter. Nil aircon but rooms are heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steeeeveeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We visited Vancouver during May 2012 and had booked a private room with ensuite bathroom. The location is great with connectivity to all the major areas of the city. The best part being the large amount of leaflets and pamphlets available regarding the tours and visits to various places around Vancouver. The directions and how to reach were also detailed to a great extent. The reception staff was very helpful and cordial. The breakfast was little mundane but that is ok for a budget hostel. Best place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pranshu_Upadhayay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy at all, pretty bare bones - but it's a hostel and a good deal for central Vancouver. Breakfast is very basic, amenities basic, not dirty but not super clean either, and located in the club district - meaning lots of inebriated people on the street into the wee hours. Mostly cheap pizza places nearby but more food choices within 3 blocks. Try to get a room that doesn't face the main street and don't expect much out of the ac/fan to overcome the old steam heating system.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Address: 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelling International Vancouver Central 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smack dab in the middle of Granville Street's pub and club district, we're one of the newest Vancouver hostels -- and if you're angling for access to all the partying and good times you could want, without compromising on security, comfort, and cleanliness, then we're where you want to be!If you're looking for the fun of a hostel, but still want privacy, you'll love our ensuite private rooms (cable TV included!) and our two-bed dorms. These are our most popular room types, so make sure to book in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Central Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing