We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Barclay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barclay Hotel
Ranked #66 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

we stayed two nights on our way to the Alaskan cruise and it was a nice comfortable stopover for the night place. we got upgraded to a larger room , which was spacious, clean and fairly well maintained. breakfast was a bit pathetic, but overall would recommend for short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    181
    161
    49
    37
See reviews for
68
177
99
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, we had a large room with 2 queen sized beds.
I guess the room the room had just been fixed up, everything looked new only thing they forgot was the carpet.
Room was of the front of the hotel, which make it quiet noisy.
Cleaning could be much better, as specially the bathroom, long black hairs all over the place, even after cleaning the second day.
To bad that there's no elevator and no safes in the room.
Would stay here again, is in a good location, but would ask for a room at the back of the hotel next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Firstly I notice mixed reviews about this hotel and I think that maybe some rooms have been renovated to a better standard than others. I chose this hotel for the location close to Stanley park and overall we had an excellent stay in the city. we did not spend much time in the hotel as we were very busy out exploring etc. The building itself is beautiful especially the marble floor. However, our room 220 was not great, in particular an unpleasant smell, we actually thought someone had left some very old smelly trainers in the room! even the cleaner opened the window each day! the air conditioning unit was extremely noisy so we didn't have it on in the night. The bed was fine and we did actually sleep very well after a very busy day. I was also a little concerned about a couple of the plug sockets in the room as they did come away from the wall as you tried to use them, the room seemed clean and the staff were friendly and helpful and stored our bags for 4 hrs after we checked out. The hotel is value for money and in an excellent location and hopefully all the rooms will be renovated to a better standard.

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenvic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have stayed here before and always found it to be value for money. No lifts, no tea and coffee facilities, rather small rooms, nice bathroom and comfortable beds. Noisy air conditioner. Central to downtown and close to Stanley Park. Numerous restaurants and grocery stores. Staff always obliging and happy to store your luggage. Highly recommended to the budget traveller.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

friendly staff
No free Breakfast - you go down and pay $6 for breakfast which is below average
Wifi is not superfast but ok speed ( at times disconnected but ok for moderate work)
Location cannot be better than this
Allowed us to check out 1 hr late!
Kept our baggage for 2-3 hrs after checkout

Room Tip: stay behing - Noisy front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I checked into this hotel after one terrible night's stay at a ghastly hotel, directly across the street.

Thankfully "The Barclay" proved a great and most convenient "find!" Clean and pleasant foyer; perhaps more functional than beautiful ( although I noticed a chandelier was being installed during my stay).


My room was in excellent condition and very clean. Bathroom was also excellent and virtually brand new with a great bath which I much appreciated! Free wifi too.

The lack of an elevator was not an issue whatsoever, despite the fact I had a very heavy and large suitcase (after 8 weeks of travel and cruising) as the gentleman at reception was quick to take charge of this. (The same prompt and very friendly service on departure too. )

Breakfast was available at the hotel should I have wanted this.

I can highly recommend this hotel and and felt that the staff made a genuine effort to make the guests' visits enjoyable and solve any problems or travel difficulties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentsinglediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

When travelling overseas we expect things to be not quite the same as home. We look for location, cleanliness, comfortable beds, reasonably quiet, helpful/polite staff and cost.
All of this we received at the Barclay! There was no lift, however staff carried our bags up/down.
From the airport we took the train (have to cross over to elevator outside exit from airport) to Vancouver City Center Station, walked 15 min. to Hotel (can take No.005 bus).
Bus stop to down town areas was in the next block to hotel, eating places all around, quality shopping along Robson St.
We prefer to walk to get the "feel" of the place by walking - Canada Place 15 min. and downtown 10 min.
We stayed at the Barclay on several occasions in June 2014 and endorse all of the positive comments from the other reviewers.
Definitely recommend the Barclay.

Room Tip: ask for " cooler" side if staying high summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
1,840 reviews
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#73 of 92 in Vancouver
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Hotel

Property: Barclay Hotel
Address: 1348 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing