We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nicer than expected”
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Tried to book a room in the West End/central business district for fireworks/pride weekend but couldn't find anything reasonable. Ended up booking this property on Priceline. I have always been pleasantly surprised with the Holiday Inn brand and this was no exception. Not right downtown, but very easy to get in and out of downtown using the buses, which are clean and efficient (and run late at night!).

Hotel is an older property, but room was nicely updated and very, very clean. Room faced east and slightly north with a good view of the east end of downtown (Yaletown), the Expo ball, and the mountains beyond. Room had a balcony looking south and down onto Broadway.

Very comfortable bed. Bathroom was updated but countertop was not. Soft towels (unusual for a hotel). Again, very clean. Free high-speed internet is a HUGE plus! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawdawg076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    330
    105
    19
    17
See reviews for
181
222
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I had to say that I was VERY disappointed when I got this hotel when bidding on Priceline for a downtown hotel, as this hotel is not in downtown! It is however, walking distance to Granville Island, and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. The staff was overly accomodating and very friendly, and I was happy to hear that they have a free shuttle to Canada Place (cruise ship terminal).

Overall, however, it was a good stay. Nice, clean basic room. We had an AMAZING view of downtown which made for great pictures (as noted by other posters). Security in the hotel is also tight, which is good.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff; free shuttle to Canada Place
  • Disliked — Location is not in the city centre
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lalawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

The hotel is just south of the city "core" and just east of Granville Island. While it is a bit out of the "action zone", if you plan to take public transportation (as we did) it's really a great location: a great view of downtown (from the "correct" side of the hotel) and within steps of several of the main bus lines. While it will never rival the big, fancy EXPENSIVE hotels in the city's "core" for amenities, it did the trick just fine. It is clean and decently appointed--a three-star hotel in every sense. The hotel staff were very accomodating and pleasant. We arrived a couple of hours before check-in and our room wasn't ready; however, they got it done within 15 minutes. The housekeeping staff was especially outstanding. By the way, there is a great deal of construction in the area--it will be a very hot neighborhood come Olympics time--but it didn't hamper our stay at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — VERY slow elevators
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank querqeekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calais, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Hotel at the centre of Vancouver a block or two from City Hall, but not in the hotel/financial Zone. Having stayed in the downtown a number of times in the past this hotel gave a fresh and new view of the city. Had a great view of the downtown, and the mountains in the background. There was an exciting choice of restaurants at reasonable prices so we did not go into the hotel dinning room. The room was what I would have expected from this hotel chain, with quality bedding. Handy to public transit. I would stay here again just for the view, I had the mountain view side of the building so can not comment on the other side.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Trustingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
880 reviews
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing