We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$487
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Opus Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$441
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Waterfront(Vancouver)
US$560
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$530
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$422
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,955)
Filter reviews
3,955 results
Traveller rating
1,311
1,729
594
199
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,311
1,729
594
199
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomedy clubpaul's hospitalgreat locationfull kitchendowntown vancouverburrard stsmall kitchensteam roomone bedroom suitebit datedwithin walking distancehop on hop off buscentral locationroom was largean upgradegranville islandking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,458 - 3,463 of 3,955 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed at the century plaza for five days on business in a king room. The location was fantastic, staff friendly and room was great too. This is an old building but they have done a great job updating it. The room was spotless. It had a kitchenette which was handy. The bed was awesome. Very comfy. The pool was nothing fancy but it was clean and warm! Great steam room as well.

Both the cafe and restaurant were excellent. I went to the comedy club one evening and I have to say, one of the better shows I have seen!

They have a fantastic environment policy - if you skip housekeeping you get a $5 voucher for the cafe or restaurant.

My only complaints are that the doors all slam shut which is disturbing. Also, the extras add up. Parking is expensive and so is wifi!

Pros totally outweigh the cons. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHDailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A nice clean and large room together with a small kitchenette. The bathroom was very modern and was kept clean for the whole time we stayed ( a week). The hotel is situated right in the middle of downtown and in walking distance of all of the main streets. One small snag is that the hotel is next to the hospital and if you choose a room on the side next to it then there is quite a lot of noise from ambulances if you have the windows open. The breakfast is quite expensive and we found a convenience store only 5 minutes walk away so we had all of our breakfasts in our room. The tourist bus stops right in front of the hotel. This is a great way to see the city and you can get on and off wherever you want. The bus comes by every half hour, the driver gives a running commentary and it costs about 35$ a day. Just one very important tip, Canada charges a value added tax on everything you buy. The shops do not show the price including tax, this applies to restaurants as well so that you always get a surprise when the bill arrives. Go to the museum by the University. It has the most fabulous collection of art etc of First Nation People. To get there by taxi costs about 30$ but we returned by bus for 5$ and it is easy to get back into the downtown. If you are going on to Vancouver Island then get a taxi just to the main bus station. You then catch a bus right through to Victoria. The bus takes about 1 hour to the ferry, then it drives onto the ferry which takes about 1& 3/4 hours through the smaller islands and you then board the bus still on the ship which then takes you to the bus station in Victoria which is right in the middle of the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the side of the hospital
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights here as a weekend getaway. I had a gift certificate for the spa, so thought I would make a weekend of it.

Rooms: chose the large suite as it's seemed a very good price for the description and size. It is a HUGE room, especially for a downtown hotel, with a decent view. But it's very old, dated, and not particularly comfortable. The bed was poor and uncomfortable, the sofa old, and the carpet and decor felt like something out of the That 70's show. The windows were single pane and large, which meant there was a cold draft into the room.

Facilities: The lobby, restaurant area was renovated recently and does look very nice. The spa is ok, bit small and cramped but good service. The change rooms for the pool were small and not very nice. The indoor pool is ok, but not a place I would want to hang out in for long. Staff friendly and attentive.

Food: Had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Service was ok, food decent. Bit pricey, but not too bad.

Probably won't stay again, although if they renovate the rooms and keep same price has potential to be a very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpgyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Century-Plaza-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear MPG,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We're glad that you enjoyed our great location and size of our rooms!

You will be happy to know that all of our rooms have had their carpets and beds replaced within the last year. All of our suites have new furniture as well. Being an older hotel, some of our rooms do require updates from time to time. We have taken steps to ensure items are replaced when needed.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again sometime!

Best regards,

Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We arrived in Vancouver at 9 a.m. and went directly to the hotel hoping to leave our baggage until check in time at 3 p.m. in the afternoon......what a pleasant surprise to be told that we could go to our room immediately. We had reserved a suite and another pleasant surprise was the size of the suite....a full kitchen and living/dining area.....it was like staying in a condo for two nights. We were able to leave our baggage in storage until we were ready to leave on the last day as our train departure was 8:30 at night. The meals at the Beyond Restaurant were outstanding as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends.
Thanks again for a memorable visit to Vancouver.

Room Tip: The corner suite gave us a wonderful view especially at night when all the lights came on. It was a little noisy with the traffic but when the windows were closed it was fine.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I needed to have a heart procedure done at St Pauls hospital. We contacted the hotel and was advised they do have a medical rate. The staff went out of their way to get me checked in early. Later that evening when I returned the front staff were great. The room was very comfortable.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again, not that I could do much walking around , but according to my husband it was a great location for walking.
Thanks again to all the staff at this hotel and a special thanks to Spencer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busbyAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews