We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Gibsons
1 review
“An older hotel”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The amenities (suite) in the room were very good. Beds were good but the bedroom door could not close. Single pane windows and inadequate heating system in cold weather. One elevator was out of service and the restaurant was closed for a private function.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    1,573
    518
    180
    111
See reviews for
932
1,316
286
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It's an ok place to stay if you're able to book during the off-season for $100 or less/night. The parking garage access has always been problematic
The quality of the rooms vary greatly between "executive" and "not-renovated-since-the 80s" tired rooms on the lower floors. Service at the desk is utilitarian but void of warmth or friendliness. It's got that cheap Motel feel to it that's been lipsticked with a nice lobby area & spa. But 99% of the time you spend in your room and those are hit & miss.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for seeing the sights of Vancouver. The staff could not be more professional. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and include all the expected amenities, as well as
many extras in the suites. The kitchenettes are well stocked and a real bonus for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187Janet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We enjoy everything about the Plaza having visited it for around 7-8 years in a row to partake in a sister's spa weekend. We liked the room sizes, the friendly staff, the kitchenette, the steam room, the whole package. In 2010 I had come up with a friend for the weekend and my car was broken into at the parking garage. Everything was taken. A quick walk around the block we found the bags but some items were taken. Including our recent purchases. I had not been up to Vancouver since (not just because of that but other personal issues kept us away). SO we were VERY please to see the CP added security to their parking garage. 4 of us stayed overnight in November and had the best time. I'd forgotten about the remodel, which looks great. The kitchenette has coffee, tea (very important to me) and wine glasses (also very important). The only draw back was a few little housekeeping issues, the door knob to the bathroom was wonky and so was the toliet seat. Nit picky? Yes, but it's a little disconcerting if you are afraid of falling off the toliet (sober!). We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Century Plaza over this past Thanksgiving (US) weekend. We were in room 1903 (a king bedroom suite) with our two girls, ages 11 & 14. The rooms were spacious and very clean upon arrival. We were barely in the room before housekeeping was at our door with additional towels and supplies. My only complaint about the room was the night street noise...it was quite loud - maybe because we were at the end of the hall? Otherwise, the room amenities were great! The toiletries were "citrusy" - a wonderful way to wake up in the morning. The kitchen had a toaster, microwave, sink, refrigerator and even a stove, not to mention plenty of dishes and cookware! We were able to go to the local IGA market (only 2 blocks away) to get supplies for a light dinner and breakfasts for both mornings - definitely a money saver. The location was wonderful - plenty of dining and shopping all within easy walking distance. We parked the car at the hotel and didn't use it the whole weekend. The staff was very friendly and made suggestions about activities, dining, and generally made us feel very welcome. Gerry, a guest supervisor, greeted us each day inquiring about what we had done and seen and making recommendations for other activities we might enjoy. We would definitely recommend the Century Plaza to anyone coming to downtown Vancouver!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireland512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in the hotel as my husband had surgery. We were there for six nights. We had a roomy suite that contained one bedroom, a full kitchen and living room. The hotel is clean, a great price and has all the amenities, but that isn't what makes it stand out from the rest. The staff is absolutely amazing. From the cleaning staff to the front desk staff. Everyone there makes you feel so welcome. We took advantage of the spa prior to my husband's surgery as well and it was fantastic. Beautiful spa and again, wonderful, helpful staff. The cleaning lady always ensured we had everything we needed for the day. I was very surprised and would have no hesitation on recommending Century Plaza to friends or family. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived 2nd December 2013 at about 9pm. We booked this hotel as we'd stayed there 8 years ago and it was fine but a very different story this time. We were allocated room 2302. We awoke early and were chatting in bed when my niece saw something marching across the sheet! It was a bed bug which we killed. My sister in law took it down to night reception who confirmed our fears and we were told to pack up our things as we'd have to move rooms straight away. We were moved to room 2202 and began unpacking again and you can imagine our horror when we saw another bed bug in the new room! We called reception again who didn't know what to suggest so we were to wait for the day reception manager to come on duty! He telephoned our room to say he would have our baggage and the room searched by the experts and we had to pack our belongings up again! He sent us a voucher for $50 to get our breakfast for the inconvenience but didn't deliver it to us personally until we mentioned it to his colleague. We had our breakfast which was excellent and were told that all our clothing would be laundered and we'd be given another room. A member of staff arrived with three black bags to take our clothes to be laundered. Bearing in mind the three of us had spent hundreds of pounds on new clothes including cashmere sweaters for this holiday we objected to everything being put into washing machines and presumably tumble dried!! The reception manager said he wouldn't compensate us for any damage to our clothing. He next told us he would have our bags examined by the experts and we should return to the hotel at 2pm when we would be given yet another room. We returned and told our baggage was clear of bugs and given room 1406. We went up in the lift. The smell from that floor struck you as the lift dots opened! We went to our room which we were told had been examined by experts and was clean of any bugs. The room was awful. The outlook was onto a backstreet. The skirtingboards were dirty with big gaps and there was the strange smell. We'd had enough by this time and decided we'd move to another hotel and checked out of the Century Plaza and breathed a sigh of relief!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecatswhiskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#56 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing