We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decrepit, outdated room and poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decrepit, outdated room and poor customer service”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It has become apparent from reading other reviews and viewing the professional photos that there are 2 different classes of room in this hotel. There are apparently updated, modern rooms which are shown in the photos and many reviewers obviously were lucky enough to experience. Then there are the 1970's area rooms with ratty, stained furniture, outdated appliances, and moldy bathrooms. We had the misfortune of staying in one of the latter (#709).

Upon entering the hotel lobby, we were optimistic as it had a clean, modern look and had obviously been renovated. The illusion ended as soon as we entered the elevators, however. They were small, cramped, and looked very outdated, as did the hallways on our floor. Upon arriving at our room, we discovered we had been given 2 double beds instead of the king bed we requested when making the reservation. I immediately called the front desk and requested that we be moved to a king room, in accordance with our original booking, but was told (quite rudely) by the gentleman at the front desk that there were no other rooms available and that by booking from Expedia, we are only assured of a room - the room type is not guaranteed. When I responded that I had not booked through Expedia, he said "Expedia, Hotels.com, whatever. They're all owned by the same company now anyway. Either way, you're getting what's called a 'front of house room' which is limited to current availability." Based on his comments and condescending tone, I was left with the impression that the hotel purposely gives the worst available rooms to guests booking a discounted rate through an online travel site and are not the least bit concerned with the quality of stay for those guests.

Looking more closely at the room, we noticed that the couch looked as if it had come from a yard sale. The fabric was frayed and ratty in several places and had numerous dark stains of unknown origin. The tiny kitchenette had a white & brown McClary stove that looked like it was, at best, from the early 1970s. The bathroom appeared to be slightly more modern (early 80's), but was still several decades past its prime. The grout between the pink hued shower tile had visible mold and mildew, and the lighting bar over the mirror had a layer of rust. The only closet in the room was located not by the door, but rather in the corner next to the bed and only about 2 feet wide. This left us feeling as though we had been the victim of a bait-and-switch. They showed photos of recently updated rooms when we made the reservation, and then stuck us in a severely dated, sub-standard room upon check in. It is clear that whoever classified this hotel as 3.5 stars was only given access to the newly refurbished rooms, as our room did not warrant so much as 1.5 stars.

When we finally laid down for the night, we were treated to constant mechanical noise. Apparently the old pipes in the building have a hard time meeting the demand, as we heard constant loud squealing and banging, presumably as other guests turned their water on & off. It sounded like someone was repeatedly pushing a heavy wooden chair across a hardwood floor directly above our room, all night long.

Upon returning to the room the second day, we discovered that someone (presumably the housekeeping staff) had turned off the heat on the room's thermostat and the temperature had dropped below 60F (the high temp that day was in the mid 30's F).

Finally, as if to ensure our stay was truly miserable, we were awoken by a building-wide fire alarm at 2:45 am our final night, forced to get dressed and stand outside in the below freezing temps until the fire department arrived and confirmed it was a false alarm. Other than a brief announcement over the hotel intercom around 3:15am to confirm it was a false alarm, the hotel management made no visible effort to apologize for the inconvenience, nor did they reception staff show any concern over the quality of our stay (or lack thereof) upon check out.

In summary, despite it's favorable location, I would absolutely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. This room in which we stayed was outdated, decrepit and in serious need of renovation. The staff showed no interest or concern for making our stay a pleasant one and were, on at least one occasion, quite rude.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    1,572
    518
    180
    111
See reviews for
932
1,315
286
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely and clean hotel with a boutique feel in an excellent location in downtown Vancouver.
Beautiful room and courteous, efficient, and friendly staff. I was most impressed and will absolutely return for future business meetings in town. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked this hotel along with my flight and received an amazing deal so I was feeling a bit hesitant on what kind of hotel I would be staying in. I was pleasantly surprised, this hotel was great! It's in a perfect location, rooms are clean, and staff are friendly. The views from our room were spectacular! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The only part of the trip that we look forward to. Beds that suck the 'awake' right out of you. Literally next door to St. Paul's hospital. 'Uptown' level restaurant, at a reasonable price. If I'm going to pay for accommodations, then the CP is where I'm going to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

See the prior comments. Overall my short visit was comfortable as usual. The hotel's backside is quiet at all times throughout the day and contributes to a quiet sleep environment. The location is such that everything is nearby, yet far enough to maintain this quietness.



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I walked in to book a room twice over ten days. Very clean, relaxing hotel. Very reasonable rates, excellent service in restaurant. I was impressed that the waiter remembered my food allergies the second night. Would recommend to anyone needing to stay downtown Vancouver. Bit of a rough neighbourhood at night, but always felt safe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saanichton
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Clean, friendly and mostly worth the price. The Bedroom door would not close because of the size of the two beds which we requested. I do enjoy having windows that open and the balcony with great views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#56 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing