We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY!!!! please read before booking this hotel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY!!!! please read before booking this hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

After reading many reviews on this hotel my family and I decided to book this hotel. That was a big big big mistake. Although the lobby is clean and up to date that's about all that is. We walked into the room with our 2 kids and the place was so dirty, stuff on the walls, carpets were disgusting. Bathroom door was rotting. The pull out couch was filthy and falling apart. Needless to say we were not impressed. Then we sat down for a minutes and my husband looked down to find a condom on the floor!!! The was the last straw!! We pulled the kids out of there right away and went down to the desk to demand our money back as we would not be staying at this hotel. Please think twice about stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieSmith159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    1,508
    492
    174
    108
See reviews for
890
1,278
272
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel itself was excellent. We ended up getting 4 suites via an internet random booking. Clean and extremely good value for price (internet discount pricing). Large rooms and good for families with the full size kitchen in suites.

The 'no' part was every time we asked for something, the first answer is no. We had to wait or push for it. We arrived at the hotel at 10AM. I previously requested for an early check-in but was not able to be accommodated. This is fine as we have a guaranteed 3PM checkin. I was hoping to just get 1 room and we can wait on the other 3... "no... not available". This is fine. So they were able to store the bags for us. For them, they just store this in the lobby area and lock it down with a chain and hand you a tag number. On this day, they were extremely busy and understaffed so this took a while to wait for someone to help us with this. It seems that this is the mantra of the hotel; they are understaffed.

We come back at 2PM and are able to only get 1 room. We went downstairs to the counter to retrieve the bags and were told by the person manning the counter he couldn't help us as he was on his way down only to get other peoples bags. The thing is, he would have to move our bags out of the way in order to get to theirs. So I insisted that he just take a quick look at our tags so we can move them out of his way. Only then did he agree. We were out of there in under 2 mins with my well organized army of people helping him move all 4 rooms of bags.

We asked for the rooms at 3PM and were told no once more and to wait. Only at 3:30PM were we able to get the other 3 rooms. So they were in fact late. I understand we came during holiday cruise season so it would be busy but staffing is definitely where they saved costs. Again, good value, so don't expect superb service. The only good service person was the door boy. He had a great smile and was extremely welcoming with a good personality. Every other staff member was below average. This coming from a person who doesn`t usually comment or care about service.... 'Value is king'

We had all four corners of the hotel on a middle floor. 2 were facing the hospital so we were able to hear sirens all night as the glass is older 1980`s single pane glass with not any insulation. This doesn't bother me as again, I`m here for value. Read the room tips for more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are away from the busy hospital (siren noises all the time). Better view + L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slvrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great ocean views. Small issue with getting the wrong breakfast, menu in my room had not been changed. Quiet and well located. Convenient parking, comfy beds. Pet friendly. great appies in the lounge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank baloovancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very friendly staff. The hotel is in an excellent location. The Beyond Cafe has excellent food at reasonable prices. We were very happy with our room with a kitchenette. The view from our 23rd floor room was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BMSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A lovely hotel on Burrard and Comox. A great place to stay whether for business or pleasure. If you have appointments at St. Paul's they offer a medical rate. We have stayed here a few times and will again.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank happy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AminH714, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our Medical Rate offered at the Century-Plaza Hotel as we understand visits to St. Paul's Hospital can be unpredictable. We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for staying with us time and time again. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back once again!

Warmest regards,

~ Amin H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Pleasantly surprised at the large sized and quiet room. Easy walking distance to False Creek (with ferry to Granville Island) and the Harbor going the other way. Public transportation right outside the door connects to Sky Train. We bought day passes which could be used on both and explored Vancouver. Hotel has good coffee shop as well as nice (fancy) restaurant. Many restaurants and small grocery stores nearby. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

As part of our holiday package we were allocated the Century Plaza Hotel in Vancouver BC.
Being our first visit to Vancouver you never know what to expect but we we pleasantly surprised with the hotel chosen for us. In my view it would have been one of the best hotels in the city in the past and is extremely well appointed - if not ageing a tad. The staff were very pleasant and without asking allocated us a room on the 29th floor with a tremendous view.

Room Tip: Good view from the rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Althommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Davie Village
The Burrard
The Burrard
#32 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing