We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Not Bad, Not Great”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Shop around before you book... their regular rates are pretty high if you book with them directly, but you can find discount deals on travel sites.

The Good: 1. Excellent en-suite kitchenette. 2. The Coffee Bar makes their own gelato, and it's fantastic. 3. If you hang the "Do Not Disturb" card on your doorknob so the maids don't come in, you get a $5 credit you can use at the restaurant or coffee bar. 4. They have pet-friendly rooms.

The Not-So-Good:
1. Beds kind of hard & lumpy.
2. Heater wasn't working, the nights were pretty cold, and they never responded to repeated calls about it.
3. It's not really close walking distance to anything you might be going to Vancouver to see.
4. They have a very strict check-out policy: I'd asked for a late check-out (4 p.m.) when I booked, because my plane wasn't leaving until 10 p.m. On my checkout day, the desk clerks called up and insisted I get out right at 11:00 am. They were downright rude about it, even though I pointed out that I'd asked for late check-out when I booked and had never been told it wasn't going to happen. (The Vancouver airport is relatively pleasant, but hanging out there for 10 hours wasn't.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    1,597
    530
    187
    111
See reviews for
947
1,344
294
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Im happy , it was good to stay at your hotel , you've a very great location :) , in addtion, the service was good, every one seemed to be happy to help and answering question. Overall, it was a quite and good night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mnar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Like many of the other reviews we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. My husband and I like to walk to places and for us, this was a great location. Walking distance from the sky train and downtown and only a couple of minutes walk to Robson Street for the shops and a supermarket. The exterior is a little dated, but there is a very modern feel when you walk into the lobby. The reception staff were always polite and we were dealt with quickly. The rooms were spacious, a lot larger than we had expected and we had great views from the 30th floor. There was noise from the hospital but when staying in any city I think that this is to be expected. Considering the price that we paid we found this hotel brilliant value for money and were very pleasantly surprised. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: A corner room will give you double aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a great hotel for it's price. The lobby was beautiful, the restaurant delicious and the rooms spacious. The rooms were a little dated but for its price were good. We got there early and they let us check in early, upgraded us, and gave us a 20$ voucher for the restaurant. Something I liked was the green initiative program. If you chose to forgo housekeeping, you received a 5$ credit. We normally forgo anyways, so this was a nice bonus. Finally, the location was great. It was close enough to everything that we walked most places!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstream
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014


Usually a great place to stay. This time didn't measure up to the stays I have had the past 13 years. Troubles with room service, main TV didn't work properly and was not fixed the who stay. House keeping are friendly, and Conceirge are friendly as always

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
503 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a short taxi ride from the Skytrain downtown stop. The front desk personnel were friendly and efficient. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room complete with a kitchenette, 2 double beds a large couch. The beds were comfortable and we had a good nights rest before heading off on our cruise.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great hotel, and it was very reasonably priced. We were surprised how swish the hotel was when we arrived - from the price we'd paid we expected a lot less! The room was really spacious, with big windows, a comfy bed, big tv, couch and even a little kitchen - with full sized fridge, including a freezer. The bathroom was nice too, with an impressive shower head with multiple settings. Such luxury - after two weeks in Europe staying at budget locations, this was like a palace. Great location, very "central" but just a few minutes off the main strip so noise wasn't a problem. You can literally walk anywhere within the downtown area from this hotel. Don't hesitate - book a room at this hotel, you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,400 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,677 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing