We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here from 7/19-7/21; had a room on the 14th floor. We were happy with the size of the room and also the balcony view of the city (we had a corner room). We were high enough so the street noise didn't affect us. The location of the hotel is great for exploring Vancouver. The front desk was very helpful with getting us info on the area and for booking a city tour.

Some of the furniture in the rooms are in need of an overhaul; noticed some splintering on our coffee table. Overall was happy with what we got for the price. We cruised from Vancouver on 7/21 and had a very nice stay here. I'd definitely go again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors (also a corner room!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,334 - 2,340 of 3,817 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I am so glad I chose this hotel at the last minute. It worked out perfectly- great location, great value, great food, great service. I would definitely return here again. The staff were very friendly and helped me out with faxes I had to receive and also a last minute hair appointment.

Room Tip: Choose bedroom with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dlawgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Downtown Vancouver can be quite expensive during the summer, but we were lucky to find one of those Expedia 24h deals for this property (I think the rate was something like ~160 or so). We booked a 1 bedroom suite with kitchen that was perfect for our family of 4. The bedroom had a comfortable king size bed and a big screen tv. The living room had a sofabed which I thought worked well for our kids. Space was no issue at all for us.

Now, this is no Marriott, and some may find the accommodation a bit old and the carpet a bit tired. I thought the room was actually quite nice - didn't feel cheap or in need of renovation, at least not yet. It was rather quite clean and functional.

The kitchen was very handy if you want to have a quick breakfast in your room. You can get milk and some other items in a 7-eleven just across the street from the hotel. Or you can walk 2 blocks and get some nicer items on the IGA nearby (a type of mini whole foods). The hotel also had a restaurant and a cafe where you can buy your latte and pastries, and even some hot breakfast items. We used that the first morning, and we thought it was pretty decent.

Speaking on 7-eleven and IGA, what we really liked about the hotel was the location. It was walking distance to most places you want to be in downtown. It is a couple of blocks (about 10 to 15 minutes walk) to the sky train, where you can commute to most places you care. It is also a 15 minutes walk to the aquabus that takes to several points of the city, including the Granville Island, where we decided to have lunch and buy some edibles one day. One thing to note, however, is that the Aquabus to Granville costed us about $12 for our family, the same amount we paid for a cab back to the hotel and without the 15 minute walk.

If you like shopping, the hotel is two blocks from Robinson Street and very close to Yaletown. Bunch of good restaurants and cafes.

The Canada place where the cruises depart is also at the end of the Burrard, where the hotel is located. You could walk there but we preferred to take a cab because of the luggage and the kids - yep, we were going on a cruise to Alaska.

There is also a restaurant on the premises, which we did not use. And a swimming pool, quite decent, that we actually used. Oh, and internet was free.

So five stars because I did not find a good reason to deduct points and because the hotel delivered more than I would expect for the rate, but I confess that if the rates were a bit higher, like over $200, I would probably deduct some stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lot's of noise from street traffic. Maybe better on higher floors. We were on 5th floor and buses taxis and ambulances could be heard steadily. Using this many characters for the review is most annoying !




  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronnyfromtoronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Being situated between the Robson and Yaletown districts.the hotel is well located for exploring vancouver both on foot and by car/bus/taxi. We were able to walk to Stanley Park to hire bikes and easily to walk to the Aquabus stop for the trip over to Granville Island. A short taxi ride to Gastown for the evening is a must. The hotel was very well appointed with a good restaurant. By some quirk of fate we were allocated the honeymoon suite (see photo) which was great, but apart from a few hangers in the wardrobe, there was nowhere to unpack clothes and regroup after travelling. The lovely leather setee had to suffice as a chest of drawers as none were forthcoming from the concierge!

Room Tip: Make sure you have somewhere to unpack if staying for more than a couple of nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I found the beds fairly comfortable , however I didn't seem to get a good sleep.
The room was clean and met all our requirements. The TV reception was very poor, a lot of the stations had poor quality video while the audio was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked a suite here and it was nice and big with a separate bedroom. The bed in there was nice and comfy. The sofabed in the living room, not so much. The suite did have loads of useful items: toaster, big fridge, coffee maker, etc. but on the other hand there was a bit of shabbiness to the place as well (it kinda looked like your grandma's 1970's rooms). The swimming pool was small but okay. The real winners were the extras attached to the swimming pool. There was a lovely large steam bath that was the cleanest and nicest I have ever been in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank room101studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,759 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
874 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £80 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing