We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will not be disapointed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Vancouver

Museum of Vancouver
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.38*
and up
Independent Bike Tour of Vancouver
Ranked #57 of 345 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located just 10 minutes from downtown Vancouver and Granville Island, the Museum of Vancouver shares the scenic Vanier Park with the H.R. MacMillan Space Centre, Vancouver Maritime Museum, and Bard on the Beach (summer Shakespeare festival). We want to deepen your understanding of Vancouver through stories, objects and shared experiences. The museum's programs, exhibitions, and collections bring people together and inspire conversation about the future. Check our website for feature exhibitions and event listings.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You will not be disapointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I went to this museum and I was quite impressed. I had no idea there was so much to see in this building. I went especially for the Neon signs as I am doing a project and I loved the Smilin' Buddha. I liked the history of what happened in Vancouver years past and the story of the hippie movement. I loved the old car in the fifties along with Elvis Presley collection of 45's. I think the design is well done and everything was very interesting. I would encourage everyone to visit this attraction if your a tourist and if not and you live here in Vancouver check it out as well. Its a lot fun to pass a couple of hours. Then you can check out Vanier Park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SupeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    79
    39
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
804 reviews
480 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“OK but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

For the size of the building I would have expected more exhibits. There is too much space with very little to look at. The best part for me was the video showing the streets of Vancouver as seen from the front of a tram taken way back in 1907 as it makes its way around the city. You can almost feel you were actually there. The exhibits showing life in different decades of the 20th century were interesting but maybe there was not enough about the actual history of Vancouver itself. I liked the plans for future development that never materialised and wonder what Vancouver could have looked like. Worth a visit but on the whole I expected more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Museum of Vancouver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were hoping to find a place that had an overall history of Vancouver. It did not have much on the origins of the city or the native people. There was quite a bit about Vancouver in the 50s, 60s. There was lots about the city that wasn't - i.e. failed building plans. Not sure why that would be a focus. Overall a disappointment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlathemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The first challenge was to find the place. All the other facilities in the park were signposted but not the museum, or MOV as it seems to be called. We eventually went into the space centre to ask for directions and found that this once-futuristic structure also houses the museum. There was some story about their banner having been blown down in the wind (there hadn't been any in the week we'd been in Vancouver), but that is a poor excuse especially in the busy Christmas-New Year week.

$12 seems a bit steep for what is a small museum, but we enjoyed our time there. Good temporary exhibits (the one about the street photographer was the pick, but the neon signs and the architect were good too). The permanent exhibit, though small, repaid attention. It was the story of Vancouver since its foundation in the 19th century. Highlights were the treatment of Japanese Canadians during WW2, domestic progress in the 1950s and the 'hippy' era.

Good for visitors and locals.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank apteryx055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
265 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“A good museum but not well placed for the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had wanted to see the Anthropology Museum but were told at our hotel that we would have to take three buses and then walk. Knowing how tiring museums can be we decided not to go.
Since the Museum of Vancouver was also on our list, we hoped that some items of native life would be on display. To get there we got off the Open Top bus and then took the long walk across the bridge. Once across, the museum was well signposted and it was a pleasant walk along a residential area adjacent to parkland. The building itself is unusual, circular with a huge model of a crab outside. At the entrance desk, the staff helpfully gave us a map and directions for the way back to downtown. Back to the foot of the bridge where there were some nice cafes for lunch (this museum has no catering facilities, only a vending machine - a shame if one is there for some time). Once at the foot of the bridge, there was a bus stop for either a No 22 or 2 back to Downtown - so quick and comfortable in reverse. From the museum windows, we could see the beautiful Vanier park with its Canada Geese in places. Back to the museum itself after paying the entry fee, we had a choice of two sections. We chose to go right first and saw a most interesting exhibit on neon signs - we shall never look at these again in the same light (excuse the pun).
Following on from this, there was a section on a street photographer to include photos he had taken and not been collected which people could contact the museum if they recognised them as theirs. Both these exhibits were well laid out and not too detailed but at the same time informative. It was nice that one could take photos in this museum as this is not always the case.
Moving on to the other side of the building (all the exhibits were on the ground floor) we saw the larger part of the museum. This detailed the birth and progress of the city with many mock ups and items in glass cases. There was very little on the original inhabitants - the First Nations which was disappointing. However, from the Victorian era and onwards there was a wealth of material. It included the Chinese and Japanese communities and how they fared in the early days. The downside of this part of the museum is that it was a little cramped with too much crammed into a small space but what was there, was fascinating and we spent some time browsing around. It was a Sunday and in a closed off bit we could see a service going on through glass doors with uplifting singing.
Sadly there were not many people visiting the museum and I feel despite its lovely location it is too far from the city centre for such a museum. More perhaps could be done to advertise its location and how to get there. Putting in a nice café might also draw the crowds together with views of the nice parks around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rondonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Vancouver also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Museum of Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing