We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but basic accommodations”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Affordable but basic accommodations”
Reviewed 22 March 2008

The Buchan has a great location -- a quiet neighborhood off of Denman Street, with all its restaurants -- but I wouldn't want a prolonged stay there. Our room was small with cheap furniture, but at least it was clean -- just shabby and dreary. We had the smallest bathroom imaginable!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shabby
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calligcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    730
    224
    52
    26
See reviews for
270
690
320
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
221 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

This hotel is significantly more affordable than most choices in the area. The property is in a great location..about a block and a half to Stanley Park and the waterfront and only a few blocks to the shopping areas on Denman and Robson streets. The hotel furnishings are outdated and the toilet sounds like an engine (have never run across this before). They have both shared and private baths and there is a small living room with coffee, etc. by the entrance. Overall a good bet if you are up for saving money and not going to spend much time in your room.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dated Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Relatives in Vancouver suggested we book a room here due to its price range and location near Stanley Park, eateries, etc. The location was great. Lots of eateries, gelato shops, 2 blocks to the Park, close to shopping and other conveniences for a traveler including banks, markets, UPS counter to ship back extra items we didn't want to carry back home.

We stayed in room 47, one flight up from the lobby which is already up a short flight of steps from the street. There is no elevator (unexpected, the topic never came up) and luckily we were able to manage our bags. We're a physically fit middle-aged couple from NYC. The $98/night room with private bath didn't have A/C. There was a ceiling fan which helped but we seemed to have arrived during an unusual hot spell. The bathroom was tiny and yet it had the basics. However, I wondered about the accomodations for individuals who are larger than we are. We are both under 5'7" and slender.The overall room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The reception desk personnel were friendly. There is a restaurant downstairs, but not part of the property.

We got what we were seeking: a low cost but clean room in a safe location in a lively neighborhood. We spent most of our time out, of course. Casual Asian places were geared towards younger people (music) but the food was tasty and well cooked. There is a nearby breakfast place called White Spot which provides eggs, breakfast meats, toast, coffee, etc. for under $5.00. We enjoyed our city visit!

  • Liked — Price and location could not be beat
  • Disliked — No elevator or A/C
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

HI Friends,

We booked this hotel after reading reviews from trip advisor.They don't offer any online booking.So we called them to make a reservation.They have shared bath rooms and private bath rooms.When we called them they they asked us which room we would like to book.We reserved room with private bath room.Front desk people are very friendly and helpful.After five days we got confirmation letter from them.
I liked this hotel a lot because of it's location.It is located on Haros street in heart of dontown.Few blocks from famous Stanley park,beach and busy shoping street Robson street.All restaurants are walkable.

Only minus point is it is very old one.You can feel that ambience.But,the service is great.First we booked one queen bed room for four days.When i entered and open the room I got stinky smell.So,I went asked for another room.They give us one king bed room which is very good(no smell) in down stairs.But the view from top floor room is great.
Our four day stay was great we enjoyed the downtown alot and public transportation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sandyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Had 4 nights here. Was in a tree lined street. Minutes from Stanley Park, Denman Street which has restaurants galore, and either short walk to Downtown or bus to Downtown. We had a shared bathroom room but never had to wait. The lounge was a great place to have a coffee and read the paper. and other guests There was also a laundry for guests. Would definitely return.

  • Liked — value and quiet location but close to everything
  • Disliked — had to pay for ice
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

The hotel came recommended by Lonely Planet and for the one night we stayed it was fine. The room was clean and there was a decent shower but the decor is very dated and there were numerous items which needed fixing (windows, coat-hooks etc). In short, it's OK for the price and a short stay but we'd have been a little uncomfortable if we'd had to stay any longer than one night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very tired decor and furnishings
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OxfordshireCooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoney creek, ontario, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

The hotel is nestled on the west end of Robson St, in a beautiful neighbourhood just blocks away from Stanley Park. The hotel could use some updating but it is quite obvious that it was quite grand in its day, 1926. Guests have a choice of shared bath with three other guests for $70 or a private bath for $90 both prices are at least $50 less than any other hotels in the city. I stayed with a shared bath and never had to wait to use the shower or water closet. If you plan to use the room as a place to sleep at night you can't go wrong, it's a quiet neighbourhood where a single woman traveller like myself will feel comfortable at all times of the day. Blocks away from great restaurants and public transportation. I definately recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — needs updating
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 22melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
741 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 90 in Vancouver
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 90 in Vancouver
477 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 90 in Vancouver
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: Buchan Hotel 1906 Haro St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing