We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
Reviewed 14 July 2008

As many people have already said, this a great no-frills hotel where you will get a warm welcome from helpful staff and a basic, clean room. A five minute walk from local amenities, the harbour and Stanley Park. Perfect for our three-night budget stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old furniture
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulabel177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    747
    233
    54
    27
See reviews for
279
713
334
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in early May. Could not believe the value and location. We were lucky it was low season and got a room ( shared bathroom ) for C$60 plus tax. The hotel is an old property but well maintained and clean. There is a community lounge area with free coffee and newspapers daily.The staff were excellent, most helpful and very friendly, a highlight of our trip.
The hotel is located in a quiet residential West End street near Stanley Park. We were lucky to catch the end of the cherry blossoms and tulips in the street. Not a 5 star property with all the mod cons but very suitable for those on a budget.

  • Liked — Value, location, staff
  • Disliked — Noisy door hardware
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansaas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Perfect for a no frills place to store your luggage and a clean place to lay your head at night - dont expect Marriott quality pillows.
As already noted… this is an older building – located in quiet residential area.

The front desk staff was always helpful and honest in their assessments of place to go and how to get there.

Couple of things to note:
Front door locks at 23:00, don’t go out without your room key… our room was close to front door and at some point in the morning someone knocked and continued knocking on the front door until….well I ignored it and fell back to sleep…not sure of what the outcome was.
As with any older building, there are the creaks and squeaks…take it for what it is – an old building.
We had a rental car and paid the 10.00 a day for the parking permit for a dedicated parking site. This really made it much easier than trying to determine the ins and outs of Vancouver’s street parking (well worth the investment as we saw dozens of parking tickets everywhere we went).

When we come back to Vancouver we will stay here again.

Bottom line: very affordable, location awesome and rooms are clean

  • Liked — Location, price, clean
  • Disliked — Pillows, Parking
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FishNutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

This Hotel/Hostel is very simple old fashion three stories building. The Hotel has several large historic pictures of Vancouver, the city.
We loved the location as well. It is very close to everything in English Bay, the Standley Park, many shops and restaurants. The price is not bad either given the location of this Hotel.
This Hotel is a great budget Hotel. You share bathroom and shower room, bath tubs. There are two bathrooms on each floor.
Sharing bathroom was not a problem at all for us.
The room is simple but comfy. Nice firm bed and a TV in the room. No phone in the room, but public phone located in main lobby.

Anyway, this Hotel located in 1906 Haro St.
To get there is to take Beach Ave to Chilco St. than will intersect with Haro.


Jade

  • Liked — The location, and the price
  • Disliked — Sharing bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JadeLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

The Buchan has a great location -- a quiet neighborhood off of Denman Street, with all its restaurants -- but I wouldn't want a prolonged stay there. Our room was small with cheap furniture, but at least it was clean -- just shabby and dreary. We had the smallest bathroom imaginable!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shabby
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calligcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

This hotel is significantly more affordable than most choices in the area. The property is in a great location..about a block and a half to Stanley Park and the waterfront and only a few blocks to the shopping areas on Denman and Robson streets. The hotel furnishings are outdated and the toilet sounds like an engine (have never run across this before). They have both shared and private baths and there is a small living room with coffee, etc. by the entrance. Overall a good bet if you are up for saving money and not going to spend much time in your room.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dated Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Relatives in Vancouver suggested we book a room here due to its price range and location near Stanley Park, eateries, etc. The location was great. Lots of eateries, gelato shops, 2 blocks to the Park, close to shopping and other conveniences for a traveler including banks, markets, UPS counter to ship back extra items we didn't want to carry back home.

We stayed in room 47, one flight up from the lobby which is already up a short flight of steps from the street. There is no elevator (unexpected, the topic never came up) and luckily we were able to manage our bags. We're a physically fit middle-aged couple from NYC. The $98/night room with private bath didn't have A/C. There was a ceiling fan which helped but we seemed to have arrived during an unusual hot spell. The bathroom was tiny and yet it had the basics. However, I wondered about the accomodations for individuals who are larger than we are. We are both under 5'7" and slender.The overall room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The reception desk personnel were friendly. There is a restaurant downstairs, but not part of the property.

We got what we were seeking: a low cost but clean room in a safe location in a lively neighborhood. We spent most of our time out, of course. Casual Asian places were geared towards younger people (music) but the food was tasty and well cooked. There is a nearby breakfast place called White Spot which provides eggs, breakfast meats, toast, coffee, etc. for under $5.00. We enjoyed our city visit!

  • Liked — Price and location could not be beat
  • Disliked — No elevator or A/C
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
1,840 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 92 in Vancouver
484 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
863 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: Buchan Hotel 1906 Haro St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing