We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed for a quick overnight trip”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Just what I needed for a quick overnight trip”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. I needed a quiet affordable place to stay for a quick trip to Vancouver. The Buchan Hotel fulfilled my needs. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Perfect if you just need a bed and access to a shower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicKnitGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    751
    233
    54
    27
See reviews for
280
718
334
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good location, but there is no a/c or sufficient accommodations for heat (also no concern or even proper costumer service from the staff over our discomfort). Probably a decent deal during the cooler months but nearly unbearable otherwise. It would have been more comfortable trying to sleep in my car then to toss and turn in my own sweat. For the same or even lower price a hostel would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABCtravelerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I do agree with you, The Buchan can get very hot in the summer time. First off the bat, I do want to apologize for the seemingly poor customer service. That is not what I want or expect any of our customers to experience. I will have a discussion will all of our front desk staff about customer service.

With regards to the heat in the building, as someone who works at The Buchan Hotel, I know very well how warm it can get. One of the disadvantages of a 100 year old building is that putting in air conditioning is very expensive. During a record breaking heat wave like Vancouver is experiencing this July we're struggling to keep up. We do provide oscillating fans, and most of our rooms do have ceiling fans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has what a traveler needs. It is close to Stanley Park, shopping, bike rentals, food, and great views. Room was clean, the bed was comfortable and water is drinkable from the tap. Only downside is that there is no elevator but you only need to carry your luggage up once so that shouldn't be a problem. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

love the location and environment, cleanliness, free coffee and tea in hotel lobby, a lot of restaurants and 7-11 nearby, friendly staff. Good value hotel.
Stanley park and English bay is just 5-10 minute walk and close to free shuttle bus stop to Capilano bridge.

Room Tip: no elevator in the hotel. So, request for ground floor room if you have big luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuttha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Buchan is marketed as a "Budget Hotel". In general you get what you pay for but in this case I feel you get more than you pay for. Location, Location Location! Minutes from Stanley park in a peaceful tree lined area this close to downtown - perfect location. We arrived early but they got us into our room anyway. When we booked months ago, we had originally wanted a "Family Room" but took a Double room instead as the Family room was not available. We knew it would be tight for a family of four and it was - but just fine for what we needed - a place to sleep. It was clean and functional (but don't expect a fridge, microwave etc - remember it is a budget hotel). Cons? Two - the room was very warm even with the fans going. Next time I think we would ask for a room on the North side as it might be cooler. Also there is a lack of usable outlets which was a pain given the need to recharge phones, tablet, camera batteries etc. Two double outlets easily available but with three things already plugged in. Third double outlet was behind the dresser so needed to move the dresser away from the wall. This could be easily fixed by a couple of extension cords/plugs.
So, go four or five blocks downtown if you want a room with AC, microwaves etc but be prepared to pay 3 or 4 times as much. The Buchan is a great budget hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side may be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Buchan Hotel is in a great location on a quiet residential street; just one block to Stanley Park and a couple of blocks to Denman Street and Robson Street. We (mature couple) had a corner room with ensuite bathroom; the room was spacious, clean, quiet, and simply furnished with an armchair, desk, wardrobe and television. We appreciated the free wi-fi, free coffee and free newspapers in the large lounge. The hotel is not luxurious; the bed was a little hard and the bathroom window woodwork needed painting, but the hotel is a great bargain in a great location, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 520Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Took an Alaskan cruise that started in Vancouver three years ago. I happened onto the Buchan. I enjoyed my stay 3 years ago so much, that when I was doing the same cruise in June 2014, I immediately booked the Buchan again. The front desk is very helpful and friendly and the location right next to Stanley Park is great. Denman Street is an easy walk to find meals. The only thing wrong with this hotel is that there is no elevator. Travelling with MS and my 69 yr old mom with arthritis and a bunch of luggage. it makes a difference; but they do make it clear that there is no elevator.

Room Tip: Since no elevator, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, and we hope to see you back in Vancouver soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
1,853 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 92 in Vancouver
484 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: Buchan Hotel 1906 Haro St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing