We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
london, ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We just got back from Vancouver after spending 3 nights at The Buchan Hotel. There are positives and negatives that i thought would be helpful to share.

First, the positives:
- great location in the West End-- you can walk to Stanley Park and all the stores near by, including a great Safeway supermarket
- Haro street is very quiet and picturesque
- the Hotel staff were very accomodating ( more about that below)
- there is a wonderful restaurant next door, the Adesso. They serve Northern Italian food which is delicious. Not cheap but nice for a special treat!
- there is a nice sitting room across from the front desk- a cozy place to read, etc. Newspapers are provided as is hot water and tea bags.
Now the negatives:
- There is no elevator in the hotel so if you're on the third floor, you have to lug your bags up
- There is no a/c which for our week, was a problem because it was particularly warm. There were ceiling fans but they didn't cool the room down much. After one sweltering night, we requested 2 rooms on the first floor. The staff had us pack up our bags and they moved them downstairs for us.
Another strange thing in the bathrooms..you have to step up into them because they're not even with the floor. My daughter tripped one time because they didn't warn us about this|!
- the bathrooms smelled funky and are in need of renovation- the glaze on our tub was coming off. (this was on the third floor)
- no phones or clock radios in any of the rooms. Was a pain when you needed the time or to phone- there is a pay phone by the front desk but calls are obviously, no privacy!

I would recommend this hotel to someone who doesn't mind a bare-bones establishement. The price and location are the best things.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    685
    209
    51
    24
See reviews for
254
642
301
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, KS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was my second stay at the Buchan... last year after a cruise and this year after trans-continental train trip. The location can't be beat unless you want to be on the waterfront and spend more money. The rooms are plain but clean and fairly quiet... ours had two double beds, desk, dresser, bedside table and flat screen TV. We were on the first floor above the restaurant so it was a little noisy until about 11pm. The bath linens were plush while the amenities were average. Good shower water pressure and the exhaust fan a nice addition. No phone in the room - no wake up call available. Also, we did not have an outlet in the bathroom. There is no air conditioning but there are fans in the rooms. That was sufficient both last September and this July. If you are addicted to air conditioning, this may not be your place.
They have added a board in the lobby that lists all current cultural activities - I told the reception staff that I appreciated it. Also in the lobby are coffee and daily newspapers. Tea is also available as are lots of tourist information brochures.
We used the laundry facilities - $2.00/load to wash and $1.25 to dry... desk had change available and they sold detergent.
The hotel is in a quiet, residential area close to both English Bay and Coal Harbour - we were within a 5 to 10 minute stroll each. And 3 minutes away from busy Denman Street with all of its varied restaurants (African, Ukrainian, Greek, Indian, Sushi for a few) and bike rentals. Safeway Market is about 1 and 1/2 blocks away.
We walked from the Buchan to Stanley Park - about 2 blocks away - to attend Theatre Under the Stars - great activity during this time of the year - and it was an easy jaunt up and down hills.
In room Wi-Fi was available for $2.00/day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Buchan Hotel is situated in a quiet part of Haro Street within the Westend and you can reach Stanley Park and Downtown within minutes either by feet or by bus respectively. So the location is just great. We had a room with a shared bathroom, which was fine, although the managment of the Buchan could think about renovating the showers. Don't forget to bring your flip-flops anyway. We paid 86 CAD per night for two persons, which is a good deal when you look at most of the other hotels in Vancouver. I would stay there again and hope on being able to do so soon. Canada, eh?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel last year after our cruise to Alaska. It was great we found this place at such a good price and in a perfect area. Stanley Park is 10 minutes walking, tennis courts very close, Robson St is just a few blocks away. The building is old but in a very good condition. The only bad thing is that it does not have elevator. It was not a matter for us but it may be for people with heavy luggage.
This area is a residential area, very safe and you can feel very quickly as if this hotel is your home. We had a double room with private bathroom and it was super clean all of it: the bed sheets as well as the bathroom. This hotel really made us feel like home.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabiG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Ok so we knew going in that it was a cheap, basic hotel ... basically what you get is reflected in the price. We had a double room for $68, which you really can't complain about in Vancouver, but our 'shared' bathroom turned out to be shared between quite a few rooms, and consisted of a small room with a toilet and hand sanitiser (no wash basin - had to return to your room to use your own) and the shower also shared in a separate room, 2/floor. It was ok considering the hotel was reasonably empty, but not sure how it would work when the hotel was full.

The rooms themselves were very basic, as we'd expected, no coffee/fridge facilities, you get exactly what is mentioned on the website and nothing more. The building is very old and as such we were kept awake one night by a group of people coming in and out of the hotel very loudly during a night out on the town - reminded me of staying in a dorm at University. I guess you just take your chances that the other guests in the hotel have a similar sleeping pattern to yourself, as once that one loud group moved on then we had no problems sleeping.

Again, you can't argue with the price but for a guaranteed comfortable, good night's sleep then I wouldn't return here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel which is on a quiet block in the West End neighborhood. The location was outstanding! Stanley Park was nearby, mass transportation could be picked up blocks away, or you can walk to sights easily. Also nearby the hotel are numerous restaraunts to take advantage of at night.
The room was small but clean and it worked for us for the price we paid (we had a private bathroom). The only thing we really complained about to each other was the lack of a telephone and wi-fi access in our room. The lack of free wi-fi was the most disappointing.
The staff was always available and very helpful.

I would recommend this hotel for family & friends on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guppy320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

As a single traveller I found this hotel basic but just what I needed as a base for a week long stay in downtown Van

Not the most modern decor and I was not a fan of the shared bathrooms, but apart from that it was excellent

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#55 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: 1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing