We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveller rating
134
527
399
177
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
527
399
177
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving restaurant robson street stanley park top floor whole foods small balcony two double beds downtown vancouver west end an older hotel bit dated coal harbour location is excellent canada place granville island bay safeway
Filter
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a one-night stay through an online booking agency. There were only Smoking rooms available at that time but I requested a move to non-smoking if possible.
One of the main attractions of this property is the upper level revolving restaurant which provides a spectacular view of Vancouver. I called beforehand to see if the restaurant is open for breakfast/lunch because I knew that with the event we were attending, we wouldn't be able to get there for dinner. I was told that they're closed for lunch, but that they serve breakfast. (odd). So, on departure morning, we got a late start, and then did some last-minute computer work so were after 10:15 getting out of the room, taking our bags with us so that we wouldn't be late checking out of the room.
Had a fairly lengthy wait for the elevator to the top floor. Got there at 10:25am. All lights were off, there were ropes across the entry, and the staff were cashing out. YOU'RE KIDDING ME?!?!? We were looking so forward to having a nice relaxing breakfast with a fabulous view. NOT impressed that they closed early. Never even crossed my mind that a major hotel restaurant would close before 11:00am! And there wasn't a soul around, which told us that they shooed everyone out of there well before the 10:30 closing time. Very poor!
We ended up having to walk several blocks, carrying luggage, to find breakfast on a Saturday.
On the plus side though, they honored our request for a non-smoking room and even upgraded us to a king bed. We were on the 21st floor, so about half way up, and had a decent view with a tiny balcony. The bed was hard as a rock and a bit lumpy, but the linens were crisp, clean & modern with a very warm duvet.
I would rate the room 4-star but the restaurant 2-star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catbox4_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked into the landmark as we were looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel, near to Stanley Park and central to Robson St. We had been there before, but only to have a cocktail in the cloud9 restaurant. It seemed ok to us. When we got into our room we were rather disappointed. The room is very drab and in desperate need of even the most minor update. Uninspired is definitely how to describe it. It is a throwback to the 80's. They have not spent anything on the rooms for years. The beds had only one pillow each which seemed cheap, the room was not exceptionally clean. The tv remote did not work well and the rooms were noisy. We could hear taps, toilets and showers as well as the noises from outside despite being on the 25 th floor. The staff on reception were polite and nice bit security never spoke to anyone. We found the worst thing to be the 9 dollar daily charge for wi-fi when all the other hotels we stayed in provided it free. Even all the local bars and restaurants provided it free. There are definitely better hotels in that price range in Vancouver City centre . On the positive side it provided us a suitable base. The bedding was clean and rooms remade promptly. It was not all bad but considering how great the hotel could be with just a bit of care and design effort we felt let down.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 86STef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great location in heart of Vancouver. Very close to Stanley Park and Asian restaurants if that's what you like. We had a very nice room with a great window view. The hotel is a bit older, but very good for its value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmike281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel easy to get to via the underground system and a walk. Well placed for walking to Stanley Park. It's in the Japanese/Chinese area of the city, with lots of Asian restaurants nearby, plus a 24 hour bakery and plenty of coffee shops. Nice clean, comfortable large room, including fridge. Good bathroom and toiletries. Lots of brochures on offer explaining things to do, many with discount vouchers attached. Only negatives were that the balcony didn't have a chair on it, and it didn't seem possible to go the top floor restaurant outside opening hours just to take a couple of pictures. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

At full price, this older hotel may not be full value , however , at a reduced rate, the benefits like early check in, good room selection with very nice city views compensate for some drawbacks...
....such as..... balconies in need of minor repair & slow tub drain
Overall good location on city bus route, close walk to Coal Harbor
Amenities ok . Large flat screen tv but with limited channels

Room Tip: Upper floors with Robson st &downtown views satisfied us
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews