We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I enjoyed the location and beautiful view (at least, from my high floor) and while the room wasn't luxurious, it was clean. If you are on a romantic vacation, maybe splurge elsewhere, but for me it was a great choice (and, with a coffee maker and balcony and Vancouver sunshine, I did in fact enjoy some time in the room).

Room Tip: high floor (mine was on the 28th) if possible, facing English Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    498
    373
    165
    90
See reviews for
214
453
145
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Fl
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I booked this hotel even though I read the reviews on Tripadvisor, thinking how bad can it be. Well let me tell you I will NEVER make that mistake again. We started our trip to Vancouver from the east coast of the United States in the morning. Three airplane rides later we arrived in Vancouver, but did not get to the hotel until after midnight pacific time. We were not happy with our room, but we were exhausted. Our room was on the 37th floor with a magnificent view, but it was very small. The furnishings were very old, but the TV was new. There was a table and 2 chairs, but if you pulled out one of the chairs it hit the side of the dresser. On the bathroom mirror there was some kind of crud that would not come off, the counter had chipped edges and the fixtures were so old that the finish was worn off. And finally the concrete on the balcony above us is beginning to crumble (pictures provided).
On the good side, great location and I guess you get what you pay for!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel. If you want a good room pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Quathiaski Cove, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked a one-night stay through an online booking agency. There were only Smoking rooms available at that time but I requested a move to non-smoking if possible.
One of the main attractions of this property is the upper level revolving restaurant which provides a spectacular view of Vancouver. I called beforehand to see if the restaurant is open for breakfast/lunch because I knew that with the event we were attending, we wouldn't be able to get there for dinner. I was told that they're closed for lunch, but that they serve breakfast. (odd). So, on departure morning, we got a late start, and then did some last-minute computer work so were after 10:15 getting out of the room, taking our bags with us so that we wouldn't be late checking out of the room.
Had a fairly lengthy wait for the elevator to the top floor. Got there at 10:25am. All lights were off, there were ropes across the entry, and the staff were cashing out. YOU'RE KIDDING ME?!?!? We were looking so forward to having a nice relaxing breakfast with a fabulous view. NOT impressed that they closed early. Never even crossed my mind that a major hotel restaurant would close before 11:00am! And there wasn't a soul around, which told us that they shooed everyone out of there well before the 10:30 closing time. Very poor!
We ended up having to walk several blocks, carrying luggage, to find breakfast on a Saturday.
On the plus side though, they honored our request for a non-smoking room and even upgraded us to a king bed. We were on the 21st floor, so about half way up, and had a decent view with a tiny balcony. The bed was hard as a rock and a bit lumpy, but the linens were crisp, clean & modern with a very warm duvet.
I would rate the room 4-star but the restaurant 2-star.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catbox4_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked into the landmark as we were looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel, near to Stanley Park and central to Robson St. We had been there before, but only to have a cocktail in the cloud9 restaurant. It seemed ok to us. When we got into our room we were rather disappointed. The room is very drab and in desperate need of even the most minor update. Uninspired is definitely how to describe it. It is a throwback to the 80's. They have not spent anything on the rooms for years. The beds had only one pillow each which seemed cheap, the room was not exceptionally clean. The tv remote did not work well and the rooms were noisy. We could hear taps, toilets and showers as well as the noises from outside despite being on the 25 th floor. The staff on reception were polite and nice bit security never spoke to anyone. We found the worst thing to be the 9 dollar daily charge for wi-fi when all the other hotels we stayed in provided it free. Even all the local bars and restaurants provided it free. There are definitely better hotels in that price range in Vancouver City centre . On the positive side it provided us a suitable base. The bedding was clean and rooms remade promptly. It was not all bad but considering how great the hotel could be with just a bit of care and design effort we felt let down.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 86STef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great location in heart of Vancouver. Very close to Stanley Park and Asian restaurants if that's what you like. We had a very nice room with a great window view. The hotel is a bit older, but very good for its value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmike281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel easy to get to via the underground system and a walk. Well placed for walking to Stanley Park. It's in the Japanese/Chinese area of the city, with lots of Asian restaurants nearby, plus a 24 hour bakery and plenty of coffee shops. Nice clean, comfortable large room, including fridge. Good bathroom and toiletries. Lots of brochures on offer explaining things to do, many with discount vouchers attached. Only negatives were that the balcony didn't have a chair on it, and it didn't seem possible to go the top floor restaurant outside opening hours just to take a couple of pictures. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo bc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

At full price, this older hotel may not be full value , however , at a reduced rate, the benefits like early check in, good room selection with very nice city views compensate for some drawbacks...
....such as..... balconies in need of minor repair & slow tub drain
Overall good location on city bus route, close walk to Coal Harbor
Amenities ok . Large flat screen tv but with limited channels

Room Tip: Upper floors with Robson st &downtown views satisfied us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 90 in Vancouver
477 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 90 in Vancouver
1,402 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,483 reviews
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#72 of 90 in Vancouver
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1400 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing