We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hospitality”
Review of English Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
English Bay Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the English Bay Inn for 3 nights in early June 2013 at the start of our 2 week holiday. We chose the English Bay Inn due to the price, location and excellent Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

After a 9 hour flight we were greeted by the manager (Greg) with a warm welcome and the news that as we had had a long journey he had upgraded us to the suite! This was indicative of the sort of hospitality on offer at the English Bay Inn and from Greg. He was very warm and welcoming and always on hand for information and a chat.

The room (Secluded Getaway) was comfortable and spacious and the B&B is well located a short walk from English Bay Beach (great for people watching), a variety of restaurants on Denman street and close to Stanley Park. You can probably walk into the centre of Vancouver but we got buses which were no problem (you can buy a pack of tickets at the 7 – 11 which is close to the Inn).

The breakfasts were fantastic; my husband doesn’t eat eggs so Greg took this as a personal challenge to find something for him to eat.

We hired bikes to cycle around the Stanley Park seawall and inside the park, however, I would recommend a mountain bike if you are going inside the park as the tracks are rough and we got a puncture.

I read with surprise that Greg has left the English Bay Inn and I wish him all the best for the future and good luck to the new manager, Greg will be a hard act to follow!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

The last week of July and first week of August are ideal times to visit BC especially if you enjoy fireworks or gay pride. My partner and I tied the knot in San Diego and decided to celebrate in Vancouver for a few days. We stayed at the English Bay Inn -- a perfect location only blocks from all of the events. We arrived to a quaint historic looking cottage with antique furniture and modern fixtures. We had a tall four poster bed and a private bath. Breakfast each day consisted of three courses with coffee and fresh fruit. The new owner is also the chef and manager and concierge, parking attendant, and just about everything. He made us feel welcome and we look forward to walks in Stanley Park and the West End, along the many beaches and bike paths, and all the trendy restaurants nearby. If you want to see Vancouver at it's best, this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in early August in the garden view room. I had a late arrival which was no problem. After driving for 10 hours, i was more than happy to find complimentary port and choc chip biscuits in the living room! And this was only the beginning of the hospitality i experienced at the English Bay Inn.
The b&b is situated conveniently in downtown Vancouver, just off the beach. The house is gorgeous and Doug has done a very good job of keeping the interior matching with the build style of the house. My room was spacious, clean and tidy, the bathroom looked very new. Parking was available at the back of the house.
The breakfasts were amazing. Both mornings I had a warm cooked breakfast, a fantastic fresh fruit plate and warm scones or fruitbread. Even when I had an early departure. Doug was also very helpful in pointing out points of interest or giving tips about the area.
This is an absolute gem to find in a big city - if you would like a 'home away from home' with a personal touch, this is definitely the place to go. I will most certainly go back here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank doortje_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Luxurious linens, fresh flowers, elegant decor, soothing Vivaldi, and generous, gourmet breakfasts all invite a feast for the senses at this marvelous gem of an inn. With its being a quiet, gentle stroll to the lushness of Stanley Park and the sparkle of English Bay, quick connections to transit, and a mere beach walk to the delightful aqua-beetle taxis, a skip away from shops and restaurants, this all welcomes a traveller to a perfect stay in Vancouver. Doug, as a well-experienced host, is ever so hospitable, making one feel at home with a perfect combination of sophistication and graciousness. His beautiful dishes of fresh baked cookies, fine port, and selection of books in the most comfortable sitting room, are a welcome invitation to pause and reflect on how perfect this choice has been.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This house is lovely, on a quiet street, just steps from the beach, Stanley Park and lots of restaurants and shops. We had a rental car, but it stayed parked out back during our entire visit. We stayed in the Private Garden Suite, which was downstairs. It was large, quiet, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It had a separate den/living room and a full kitchen. Doug's breakfasts were amazing! Lots and lots of food and oh, so delicious! I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggiemom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The house is lovely, with tasteful antique furnishings. Doug makes a fantastic breakfast - certainly very hearty and he's a great cook.
The location is perfect for exploring the bay and park, which is stunning. It was nice to be in a safe residential area in walking distance of great restaurants and amenities.
Doug is also very helpful with ideas for sightseeing, advice for transport etc.
Staying here felt much more friendly than a downtown faceless corporate hotel.
As we booked late we were only too happy to take whatever was available in terms of rooms, which meant we moved during our stay. The first room was very comfortable and spacious. We were warned that the second room was much smaller. It was! So do read the inn's room descriptions carefully as they are very accurate and you won't go far wrong.
Thanks for a lovely stay.
Kate and Tom Roberts

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location and the breakfasts were the two best things about staying here.

It was so nice to be within walking distance of the beach and the restaurants on Denman. Even later at night the neighborhood was alive and we felt safe walking around.

Doug's breakfasts were decadent! We did not have to eat lunch after those breakfasts. Fresh fruit, scones and a huge main course.

Doug was an excellent host and did a great job making us feel at home during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,539 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,365 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bay Inn

Address: 1968 Comox St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1R4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: £87 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — English Bay Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Bay Inn has been running as a bed & breakfast for more than 20 years. This beautifully maintained home is located just 1 block to English Bay, The Seawall and Stanley Park! Enjoy delicious breakfasts daily for stays in Rooms 1 thru 5, or go it on your own in Room 6, the full apartment with 2 Queen Beds & a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your English Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Bay Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing