We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of English Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
English Bay Inn
Ranked #6 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My friend and I found this beautiful B&B on trip adviser, we booked for 7 days and fell in love with it, Doug is an absolute delightful host, greeted us on arrival after a long trip from Australia, nothing too much trouble to make us comfortable, from booking taxis to making us a cup of tea, at the end of a long day to sit in the beautiful lounge & enjoy a port, bliss, location brilliant, beds comfortable, breakfast delicious, if we ever go back to Vancouver would stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
141
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

English Bay Inn's location near Stanley Park is its best attribute. Stanley Park is just a couple of blocks away and there are numerous restaurants in walking distance. Our room and the public areas looked a bit tired and our "garden" view was disappointing. However, Doug was very helpful, suggesting nearby restaurants and giving navigation directions. The breakfasts were quite good and we would probably stay here again if we return to Vancouver

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

English Bay Inn is a beautiful B&B situated in a lovely area of the West End one block from Stanley Park! The area is so much fun to enjoy scenic walks/runs/biking. The area has a vast majority of ethnic and North American cuisine, but nothing beat the unbelievable breakfasts that Doug prepared for his full house of guests every morning. I loved the wonderful fresh fruit, homemade scones and the Eggs Benedict...shall I go on!!!! This B&B was a true gem to find and we plan on returning when we are in Vancouver again. We stayed in #5 the Secluded Getaway which was romantic and cozy. Doug thank you again for a wonderful 3 days in Vancouver!
Sincerely,
Kathy & Norm Rhode Island

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knrubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were celebrating our honeymoon and this was one of our last stops - wish it was our first and we were staying longer! Doug is dedicated to providing each guest with an amazing stay. He greeted us upon our arrival, upgraded our reservation to a gorgeous room then took time to talk about details of our trip. He provided us with excellent pointers and coupons for discounted bike rentals. Needless to say, his breakfasts are out of this world. The banana bread was delicious! Our room, Room 5, was such a treat. It had two levels: a sitting room, the bedroom and a lovely bath. Overall, it was very clean and the bed, very comfortable. We appreciated the large windows (and fan) which pushed a cool summer breeze throughout the room. When in Deep Cove for a kayaking trip (also highly recommended), a boutique owner disclosed that, as a local, she has always dreamed about staying at the English Bay Inn - that alone should tell you something! We would highly recommend it! And the location can’t be beat.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a superb B&B. A short walk to English Bay and the restaurants and very comfortable. Doug is the best host you could hope for and the quality of the breakfast was first class. Doug was full of suggestions on good places to go for a day trip or a good evening meal. Room was comfortable and the decor superb and spotlessly clean. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying their stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBryant61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Aside from the fantastic location, the English Bay Inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is a beautiful old house, made even more so by the fine details in decorating. Our room was comfortable and clean, but certainly the small size typical of that age of house. However, with so much to see and do just a few minutes walk away, we didn't spend much time in our room other than to sleep! The breakfasts were delicious (the fluffiest omlette I've ever had!) and the conversations with Doug and the other guests were so pleasant! Doug was so great about sharing with us all the best places to eat and explore in the area.
A great stay in a lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Excellent location, a short walk to restaurants, the water, Stanley Park, and a nice clean alternative to better hotels. Doug is the quintessential B&B host; he'll tell you all you need to know about attractions that meet your interests. The breakfast is superb, and as noted by others, the scones are simply the best. The only ding was for not getting maid service (maybe this was a one time anomaly). I'm a tough grader, so this is an honest "very good".

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aerohugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
1,502 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,595 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
1,343 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
1,286 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bay Inn

Property: English Bay Inn
Address: 1968 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1R4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — English Bay Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Bay Inn has been running as a bed & breakfast for more than 20 years. This beautifully maintained home is located just 1 block to English Bay, The Seawall and Stanley Park! Enjoy delicious breakfasts daily for stays in Rooms 1 thru 5, or go it on your own in Room 6, the full apartment with 2 Queen Beds & a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your English Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Bay Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing