We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and welcoming”
Review of English Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
English Bay Inn
Ranked #6 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, West Yorkshire
1 review
“Relaxed and welcoming”
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Its always a daunting task for the independent traveller to choose where to stay during a multi-location trip. Personal tastes, convenient location and budget all play a part in your decision. Get it right, and the rest of your party applaud you, but get it wrong and your holiday could be ruined. Fortunately for me, the English Bay Inn was one of my better decisions. We arrived later than planned to find an envelope with a key inside, and an offer to make ourselves at home. How many hotels would trust you like that ? The EBI is one of a few remaining large houses that were abundant in the West end. It sits between high rise buildings like a rose between thorns. A nice quiet area perfectly located to take advantage of all that Vancouver has to offer. We chose the four poster bed and fell about giggling as we tried to climb into it. Breakfast was a time to meet and chat with other guests from all corners of the globe. As a Yorkshire man, my personal taste in breakfast requires a frying pan, various pork products and eggs,but that wasnt to be. My travel companions appreciated the healthier fruit alternatives though. All in all, a very interesting place to stay.

  • Liked — Its unique Individuality
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mick365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    31
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
142
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We had the suite with a little private sitting room and TV downstairs with the huge bedroom and en suite up stairs with working fireplace. This was booked thinking it was just a bog-standard B&B, I was amazed. It's chinz heaven, very alice in wonderland. It's a gorgeous building nestled amongst swanky high-rises within 2 minutes walk of the glorious English Bay beach.

Breakfast is a formal affair with other guests in the very 'english-manor-house styled dining room, all guests at the one huge dining table. The food was top notch. The hosts were friendly and (as with most Candanians I encountered) enternally helpful.

This was the location for my reunion with my boyfriend after 3 months living in different countries so it will always remain special in my memory. However the big fireplace, the beautiful decor, the great location and the warmth of our hosts make this about the best place I've ever stayed in my life.

Oh yeah and Vancouver is pretty darn cool- in you're British it really worth checking out the British themed bar somewhere around Granville Street, it's hilarious :-)

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

If you read all the reviews for this place it will sum it up as a place you must stay when in Vancouver, they say it all . Absolutely delightful. First impressions on arrival was it looked really beautiful. It was raining and the owner came out with brolly to help us. This started a lovely overnight stay. The room was really quaint. The lounge very regal and smart. Port or Sherry were available. The breakfast was alsolutely the best and the house manager very friendly and helpful. Its locally sited for Stanley Park, lovely walks by the sea. The local main area and a reasonable walk into the city. I had tried to book this place on my arrival but was unsuccesful but perservered and got it on my way back. I would thoroughly recommed this place to stay when in Vancouver.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oracleviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA.
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My husband and I came to Vancouver for the first time and we were really excited about staying at the bed and breakfast. We chose English Bay Inn because of the beautiful looking rooms and great location. Boban, the owner met me at the door and was very kind, funny and warm the entire time. We ended up staying in two of the rooms, suite #5 and suite #4 and they were both great. The fireplace in suite #5 was very relaxing and kept me asleep all night. Breakfast is fab and was a great start to the day. We ended up calling Boban back for a 3rd night and he was more than happy to meet us back at the b &b for another night of pure relaxation. Boban is an amazing entertainer and defiantly worth a chat with, we will be back again and can't wait to see Vancouver and Boban in the future.

Lyndsay & Kris
Olympia, WA.

  • Liked — Boban, he will keep us coming back!
  • Disliked — Having to leave:(
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ninnio23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We stayed in Suite 5 at the English Bay Inn for our anniversary. We found the decor pleasing and the furniture comfortable, especially the sleigh bed. We loved the fireplace and jetted tub, and will always remember the gourmet breakfasts.

The Inn is walking distance from Stanley Park, the False Creek ferry (serving multiple locations including Granville Island market), and the city proper, teeming with a variety of restaurants, shops, and markets.

Perhaps the best part of our stay was the warmth and genuine hospitality of the owner and operators of the Inn. Our hosts were eager to ensure that we had everything we needed, including tips on sites and shops to visit in and around Vancouver.

Our experience at the English Bay Inn was one-of-a-kind, and we whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone who wishes to experience the best Vancouver has to offer.

  • Liked — Location, Friendly hosts
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noctifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Oscar and I had the most wonderful visit to Vancouver thanks to our great stay at the English Bay Inn. Greg fixed a fantastic breakfast every morning and made sure we had everything we needed for a great day exploring the city and surrounding areas. I highly recomend this lovely B/B in the most lovely part of Vancouver-West End. So many things to do just within walking distance!

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff, great food, wonderful accomadations
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonsaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August as the first part of a 3 1/2 week trip. We arrived to find a note on the door with a key to the front door - slightly unorthodox!

The location is perfect and the the inside is decorated very well. The B&B itself sits amongst some residential high rises - very unusual.

Greg (the guy running the place) was very welcoming - and he prepared nice breakfasts including the weirdest - thai veggie wrap! Fresh fruit everyday too. Greg was also able to recommend us great places for dinner and where to hire bikes etc.

We did have one of the smaller rooms and with hinsight we should have gone for one of the bigger ones - I would definitely ask upfront to have the biggest room available (we saw other rooms when they were cleaning them) however it did not spoil our enjoyment of this great place.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bay Inn

Property: English Bay Inn
Address: 1968 Comox St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1R4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — English Bay Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Bay Inn has been running as a bed & breakfast for more than 20 years. This beautifully maintained home is located just 1 block to English Bay, The Seawall and Stanley Park! Enjoy delicious breakfasts daily for stays in Rooms 1 thru 5, or go it on your own in Room 6, the full apartment with 2 Queen Beds & a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your English Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Bay Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing