We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard youth hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Standard youth hostel”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Arriving just before midday, our rooms weren't ready, but we could already check in and put our luggage in a storage room. After a short trips to the city, we could finally go to our room. We were four people with one room with two bunk-beds to ourselves. It was rather small with all our luggage taking up a lot of space, this bothered me especially in the morning/evening when everybody was around. This is more for people who are traveling light. The toilets and showers on the other hand where clean and working perfectly.
The breakfast room was also rather small, especially during "rush hours" when apparently everybody was getting up. Thus, it was really hard to find two connected free spots. In addition, everybody is supposed to wash his or her own dishes by hand. This was kind of new. In every hostel I was before, the dishwasher took care of it.
However, what I really didn't like is the fact that many hostels/hotels/b&b's claim to have free wifi but when you get there and actually wanna use it then it is super slow and not everywhere available. For us on the top floor, there was basically now way to get anywhere except for the lobby. Of course, many others had the same issue and so the router had too many connections and a good traffic was only possible when no one else was around.
One big advantage is though, that you are in walking distance to Vancouver city center to a reasonable price compared to an average B&B.
In sum, it was an okay hostel when you spend most of your time in Vancouver what probably most of you will do. So.. go for it and use the internet in the next starbucks or McDonald's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naraew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    134
    52
    14
    8
See reviews for
13
48
128
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I brought my girl guide unit to this hostel and was pleasantly surprised!! We loved it!! Staff was friendly and very accommodating as this was our first experience staying in a hostel. The rooms were clean, staff was great and a wonderful and safe location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KymKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hello! Definitely recommend this place! I stayed at the hostel for 9 days and was extremely impressed by the cleanliness of the facilities and by the hosts kindness and knowledge.

I imagine the four bed dorm rooms could be quite cramp during busy season. Fortunately it was pretty quiet during my stay so I was able to have my own room for a couple nights. I kept most of my baggage in the luggage room (if there were more than two of us, there would be no way any of us would be getting in or out of the room!). There are lockers in the rooms and if you're flexible the size isn't that big of an issue if you have the right attitude. Only downside of the hostel was wifi. It was TERRIBLE (I regularly opted for coffee shops). It didn't reach most of the floors so you have to stay in communal areas and even then it disconnects often and/or is really slow when other people are using it. It's not bad if you opt for non-busy times of the day to use the internet, there was one night where the wifi worked in my room (4th floor) and a happy dance may have happened!

Location was great, no concerns wandering around at night at all. It's located on a side street so it was relatively quiet at night but also pretty close to bars and what not. There's also lots of great restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance and you're not too far from English Bay and Stanely Park!

Safe travels!

Room Tip: ask for the 4th floor if you want to be in a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is my second place to stay in Vancouver. Hostel was rather occupied by guests all over the world, Desk can handle rather large scale of languages which was nice to hear. Guests have very good facilities to enjoy, kitchen, dining area tv- and game room are well equipped and situated.
Closeness to city activities is good and public transit system is a block away.
I stayed in a room with 4 beds and even my room mates keep on changing almost every day the life continued smoothly from day to day.
Overall this was pretty nice hostel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pertti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent 2 nights in a 4 person room. As said previously, it was tiny. Everyone had to keep their bags packed up so that there was enough floor space to get to the bed. Wifi worked well in my room, which was on the third floor.
The kitchen was massive and really well equipped. It was basically a commercial kitchen. There was heaps of cutlery and the tea towels were changed regularly, which was nice.
The free breakfast is toast, bagels, muffins and fruit slices. I made a packed lunch there too, so definitely great value. Not having to buy breakfast and lunch probably saved me about $15/day, so half the hostel price right there.
The bathrooms were nice and clean.
The location was great. I would definitely go here over HI Central. I have some friends who stayed at Central at the same time and it was dirty, full of smokers and VERY loud 24/7.

Room Tip: Bring a lock - there are lockers in the room and locks can be purchased for $4 from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarens, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great stay!
Rooms and bathroom excellent.
Lots of information on what to do in Vancouver on notice board.
The best free breakfast ever!
Reception helpful and always friendly, even when they are tired!
Ten minutes walk to beach and shopping area!
Twenty minutes walk to Stanley park!
Love it.......love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank there123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I liked this hostel because they are relaxed with drinking and kitchen is open 24/7. They can clean the room a bit room. But do a very good job cleaning the kitchen every morning at the same time. Location is good and they have a nice mix of different staff from all overall the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophyC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,401 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,069 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,678 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1114 Burnaby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing