We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O Canada House”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O Canada House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O Canada House
Ranked #3 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“O Canada House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast house where we stayed in June for 3 nights. The manager Suzanne was friendly and helpful, the chef Danny gave us a good breakfast every morning to start our day and Dolly and Tolley (their dogs) were a delight. Our bedroom and bed were very comfortable having everything we needed. We did not have coffee making facilities in our room or a fridge but we were able to use the kitchen facilities and fridge when we needed to. It is situated in easy walking distance to downtown Vancouver where you have a good variety of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    51
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
249
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

O Canada House is wonderful. Were were there for 3 nights in June. It was wonderfully friendly and warm and our room, the North Suite, was the most comfortable I have *ever* slept in.

Suzanne, the manager, was hospitable and helpful and the chef, Danny, made wonderful breakfasts (with an awareness of all of the guests dietary needs) and baked goods that were available throughout the day. The location was within walking distance of everything we needed - Stanley Park, the heart of the West End, downtown and the ferries to Granville Island - while being quiet and having parking.

We'll absolutely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1,354 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Could not have picked a better B n B close to downtown. This is an old heritage residential bungalow converted to a bnb. The place is warm, homely and convenient. The staff are a friendly lot and make us feel at home. We got the queen room with patio outside the main house, it was small but well furnished and had many personal touches. However it lacked natural light since there were no windows and winters could be really gloomy. Breakfast was between 8-9 and this I felt was a bit inconvenient for travellers. The hang out in the main house with all the goodies round the clock was memorable and I could receive my guests with ease. I had a relaxing stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from Vancouver & our fabulous stay at the 'O Canada' House B & B on Barclay St. We enjoyed our extra-long weekend stay as our 'base-of-operations' to take in many of the sights, sounds & tastes that downtown Vancouver has to offer.

Our hosts were much more than staff; they became true friends during this time......friendly, courteous, and above all, professional. The 'House' is an old Victorian home.....cozy, wonderfully laid out and filled with antiques and quality furnishings; taking the delicious & generous breakfasts in the main Dining Room was the perfect way to start the day.

We are extremely grateful to our hosts for making us feel so at home and for making our stay in Vancouver one we'll always remember. Although this was our first time staying here, it will definitely not be our last.

The 'House' is also conveniently located only 2 blocks from the heart of Downtown in a 'tony' residential neighbourhood of lovely old Victorian homes, stately tree-lined streets & one block from the gem that is Nelson Park.

To sum up, the 'House' is synergetically wonderful.....greater than the sum of its parts!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite on the ground floor, and would highly recommend it for other couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBoots20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham Manor, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed for a week at O' Canada House and it felt like home almost immediately. It was ringing outside and I was welcomed with an offer to warm myself by the living rom fireplace while my bags were brought upstairs. There also were chocolates and complimentary sherry in the living room and access to a host of snacks -- some fresh-baked -- in the kitchen pantry area.

My room had a comfy, cozy king bed and a bathroom with shower AND claw foot tub. That bath was wonderful on several occasions when I needed to sooth aching muscles after a day in damp, brisk weather or miles of wandering throughout downtown Vancouver and Granville Island.

The inn is well-situated, in close proximity to the False Creek ferries, great restaurants, Stanley Park, wonderful walking leading to all parts of downtown and their respective sights.

Susanne, the manager of the inn is both friendly and knowledgeable, offering helpful suggestions on all Vancouver has to offer. And the breakfasts, made by innkeeper/ chef were off the charts delicious and filling. Made to spec for those with food allergies or special needs, the flavors and thought that went into each creation offered mouthwatering dining each and every morning, as well as reinforced the desire to get out and walk, hike, or bike -- all of which are fun activities to do in Vancouver.

During my lengthy stay, I saw other guests come and go, and at least two RETURN for another stay. If you'll be in Vancouver, O'Canada House is your destination for the very best in hospitality. (Do not be fooled by their non-#1 rating. That is completely misleading and unwarranted.) I'd stay there again anytime I find myself in Vancouver.

Room Tip: The North Room where I stayed is the only with a bathtub, a wonderful luxury if you like that kind o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at O Canada House Bed & Breakfast in Vancouver this week for 3 nights.
Best breakfast was served each morning, the room was large, full of character, with a perfect bed.
Very close to the center of the city, in a quiet street. During our stay we felt like we are visiting family who are happy to see us. We stayed in the North Suite facing the street, and even there it was very quiet. Staff were treating us in an extremely friendly, open manner. Do yourself a favour, stay there when in Vancouver.

Room Tip: We stayed at the North suite facing the street, but the South suite is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabor1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A really friendly place, in 1890's colonial style but all the amenities. Plenty of complementary cake, cookies, tea/coffee and a relaxed parlour to sit in.

The room was very comfortable (we had the East Suite) with plenty of wardrobe space, nice bathroom (shower) and huge, comfortable bed (simply the best night's sleep we've had anywhere other than home!). We had a two week stay in Vancouver and spent it all at O Canada House and found it a perfect place to set up basecamp. It's close to the harbour front, all the attractions, it was only a short stroll to Stanley Park, or any of a wide range of places to eat, and for anything further afield, it's a few minutes walk to Burrard where you can benefit from Vancouver's excellent public transport system.

The crew running the place were simply excellent. Friendly, helpful, they couldn't have been nicer. Particularly Danny and his breakfast masterpieces! Believe me, if I wrote down the components that went into his dishes, you probably wouldn't believe it, (for an Englishman used to his tea and toast, with occasional bacon...) but his palette is sound and they all work together to create something tasty and filling (and memorable!). They all dealt marvellously with my wife's allergies, with Danny again coming up trumps to make sure the breakfasts were suitable and still fabulous. Essentially they made us feel like part of the family, which being so far from home was really appreciated.

The best I can say is we were sad to leave. Again, thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Property: O Canada House
Address: 1114 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Canada House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your O Canada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing