We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stadium!”
Review of B.C. Place Stadium

B.C. Place Stadium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.93*
and up
Vancouver Kayaking Tour
More Info
US$284.03*
and up
Private Tour: Vancouver 3-Hour City Highlights Tour
More Info
US$58.88*
and up
Granville Island Kayak Tour
Ranked #42 of 356 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BC Place is the largest sports, exhibition and entertainment venue of its kind in British Columbia, hosting the province’s most notable events including the Opening and Closing Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games. An all-new BC Place reopened in September 2011 after completing a major revitalization that included the installation of the largest cable-supported retractable roof of its kind in the world. BC Place has a seating capacity of 54,500. Today, BC Place is home to Vancouver Whitecaps FC, the BC Lions Football Club and the BC Sports Hall of Fame. BC Place is an important generator of economic activity in British Columbia, hosting world-class entertainment events, professional and amateur sport, community gatherings and exhibitions.
Chase, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Stadium!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My family and I attended a BC Lions football game on October, they were playing against the Edmonton Eskimos, and yes they did win that game! It was our first time in the stadium, and we were so impressed with what we saw. I felt that it was well marked and easy to find the section that we given. The staff that we encountered that evening were pleasant and helpful. Even though we didn't have the best section for viewing, I didn't have a problem watching the game. We didn't eat there, so I do not have a comment about pricing or quality. If the prices were a little more affordable for a family of four we would go to more BC Lions games.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Disneyfan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCPlace, Manager at B.C. Place Stadium, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Disneyfan35!

Thank youf or reviewing BC Place and the BC Lions game - we're glad to hear the Lions won that day! We're also glad to hear that you were met with friendly hospitality by our staff - we will be sure to share your comments with the team.

We hope to see you again as the Lions begin their quest for the 2014 Grey Cup, with their season starting in June this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    143
    41
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stadium.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I've watched both the BC lions and the Vancouver Whitecaps play here. I've been to stadiums in New York, Ireland and throughout the UK, and this easily measures up with top marks for view, ease of access, toilet facilities and catering.
I have to say, the Whitecaps decision to not use the upper tier was wise, they fill the lower tier. The Lions only attract a few extra thousand fans, yet use the whole stadium, and as a result, the place feels deserted and lacks atmosphere.
A criticism of both teams is the decision to charge small children the full adult price...greedy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maceachmharcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Black Creek, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lions win!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

And so did we, this was our first visit back to the new and improved venue, the Band playing outside, the energy from everyone added to the experience. We sat in the Bud Zone and there was no issue with seating or view of the field. Much improved over the old place, wish the crowd was bigger, but we were playing Montreal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank butler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nick H.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The main problem with the stadium is it's just too big both for the Lions & the Whitecaps,the only occasions it will fill-up are Grey Cup finals & maybe a concert once in a while. The retractable roof is also a joke, when open one sees a little sky obstructed by cables & the video screens/scoreboard, all in all a waste of money. While the best has been achieved with what was available the place still lacks intimacy. My opinion as a whole is the whole project was not very good value for the huge cost, In addition the food prices are ridiculous, $8.25 for a 12ozbeer-discusting, one can buy a 20oz. top quality craft ale in a very good restaurant for $7.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 154943Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go Whitecaps!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Lovely arena, well located and very friendly atmosphere. Went to watch the Whitecaps play whilst on holiday and really enjoyed it. The roof was covered which helped as there was a storm playing out outside the arena. Sadly the 'Caps lost but was a great experience and to see how a football crowd from another country treats a game.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B.C. Place Stadium also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to B.C. Place Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing