We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 6 stay in comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Landis Hotel & Suites
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Family of 6 stay in comfort!”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Between Christmas and New Year we decided to hop off Vancouver Island and visit the big city :)

We wanted a place that allowed our family to enjoy each other's company rather than be placed in separate hotel rooms. This was a great choice when the cost is split across 2 families.

2 couples and 2 teenagers fit perfect in this 'condo' accommodation. As described in many reviews the place is spacious. We loved having a 'dining area' which provided more open space for all of us to sit, for relaxing and for the meals that were easily made in the kitchen. 1 large King bed room with ensuite, decent Queen bed room, pullout sofa couch and main bathroom, kitchen, living, dining plus a small covered in patio area. The 7th floor worked out great although I did try to get higher (was told the available rooms weren't in good repair at the time).

The place was very clean and tidy, not luxurious but certainly not dowdy. The breakfast was a very basic continental - cereal/breads/danishes/banana or apple, coffee and juice but if you team that up with some groceries in your kitchen you can start your day off right. I think they should add some protein - yogurts and boiled eggs, cheese strings. No pool, being renovated but if we wanted to walk to another hotel....? We didn't.

The underground parking did look a bit dodgy LOL You drive around the back, turn right, where its a bit rough and there was a lot of construction which when workers were there the gate wasn't always closed. We didn't experience any problems, it just looked a little unsavoury around there.

We visited Capilano Suspension bridge which although we choked at the $30 entrance fee, thoroughly enjoyed. There are nice boardwalk trails, a treetop suspension walk and the bridge itself. We had great fun taking pictures and hanging out as a family. Even the teenagers weren't bored.

However, Grouse Moutain was a big disappointment. $40 each to go up the cable car!! There were a few actiities if you weren't skiing but very busy and not well organized (sleigh ride). We could only afford to send 2 of our group up there and thank goodness only 2 because it was so foggy and overcast they couldn't get any photo's. For non-payers who stay at the bottom, you can sit at Starbucks and also view the 3 wolves they have protected onsite. We caught feeding time and the staff gave us some history on these 3 'movie' stars who are now enjoying their retirement.

Vancouver is always lots of fun and I'd return to this hotel again if we travelled as a large family where the cost can be split and more space is needed.

Room Tip: Try for a higher room if you can but we didn't have any problems with the 7th floor. The city v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    172
    55
    15
    17
See reviews for
265
34
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our family of five stayed in a two bedroom/two bathroom suite for a week in December 2011, we enjoyed this hotel immensely. There was plenty of room for all of us to move, very well planned out apartment. The bedrooms are separated so if you are two couples, it would be very comfortable. Great BIG kitchen, bathroom big too. Wonderful views all around. Extra eating space on little patio. Staff at front desk were always wonderful. As we were new to this country and asked many questions, always available with the answers. Nice and convenient to downtown and the ferry to Granville Island, we got a taxi to Capilano Suspension bridge and it didn't cost all that much. Our only disappointment was that the pool and spa and gym were under renovation and that was one of the reasons for booking this hotel, the nice looking pool, it was under renovation when I booked it many, many months before and was supposed to be well and truly finished. We stayed a week, could have used that pool many times. Breakfast was included and that was a great bonus and we enjoyed it immensely.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms good, I would think, there are only four apartments per floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamrock784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here last weekend for just a night for a quick trip from Seattle and needed two bedrooms for our family of four, plus my parents. The unit was very spacious and comfortable for us all, and the master bedroom was large enough for two pack'n'plays (supplied by the hotel) for our two year old and 5 month old. Huge master bath with double sinks, tub and separate shower. Decor/furnishings were in good shape. Parking was $20 a night. We did not use the kitchen but I checked the drawers and there isn't a whole lot supplied, mainly some dishes and basic counter top appliances. Not even paper towels or kitchen towels as far as I could find. My mom, who is a clean freak and basically lives on tea, did not appreciate some of the stains she found on the handle of the electric tea kettle. G sports bar is two blocks away on Granville, the one sports bar in the city where you can watch other sports (we were looking for a place that had the Rose Bowl on) besides hockey. It was pouring the entire trip, so even though the location is a bit farther to walk to the sights of Stanely Park, for example, had we had time to go there anyway we probably would have driven.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evayoungney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with my family in December '11. I was very happy with the hotel in every regard.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with a nice view of the city, especially at night. They are comfortable and equipped with kitchen facilities which is very convenient. The location was good, easy walking distance from the 'Down Town Vancouver' train stop, even with heavy bags. There are a range of cafes etcetera near by and a 7-11 literally next door (across the road).

The hotel manager was friendly and efficient but could have perhaps been a little more helpful when we arrived a bit earlier than expected.

Overall very happy with the stay and Vancouver in general.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa ON
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here for Grey Cup weekend and had one of the large, two bedroom, two bath suites. It's a nice hotel with helpful staff and a good location. There were some problems with the hotel elevators breaking down but that is probably due to the unusual number of people staying there for the Cup. The only complaint we have is the street noise. We were on the seventh floor and surprised to be able to hear everything going on outside, including people collecting bottles from garbage cans at 2 in the morning. The breakfast was okay but would suggest to the hotel to add some kind of protein like yogurt or hard boiled eggs. The selection was limited to toast, pastry and cereal. We'd definitely stay here again for the price, convenience and large rooms but would request a suite on a higher floor in hopes that it would cut down the street noise.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stang1sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The rooms are so large that there are only four on each floor. Our Suite was layed out very well with a bedroom at each end of the large living area. The kitchen had full-size appliances including dishwasher. Three LCD TV's, free WIFI & continental breakfast. We were on the 7th floor and slept pretty well - there wasn't too much city noise. Parking was $20 extra. It certainly is a 'downtown hotel' - seems to be just on the border between the sleazy neighborhood and the professional, depending on which way you want to walk. Many, many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBM_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I along with friends stayed at the Landis - it is a wonderful hotel to stay in. The five of us stayed in the suite which had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms - it was quite spacious and a decent kitchen. The locality of the hotel was great with easy access to everything. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Even when we had problems with their computer which was free to use, they went out of their way to help. The beds were comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was enough to get started for the day of adventures. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the stay here was a great way to start our holiday in Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faing84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for your kind review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Landis Hotel & Suites. We are continuing to improve our services all the time and hope you will come see us again! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,416 reviews
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#54 of 92 in Vancouver
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Hotel & Suites

Property: Landis Hotel & Suites
Address: 1200 Hornby St | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landis Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Landis Hotel & Suites offer all the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Our objective at The Landis Hotel & Suites is to meet the needs of our guests coming from around the world, who are seeking hotel accommodations for short or extended stays, for personal or professional reasons. The Landis Hotel & Suites offers 53 spacious two bedroom suites that were designed to suit all type of stays. Looking for the extra space, our two bedroom suites are available in either our 800 sq ft, Executive Suites or our 1,000 sq ft, Deluxe Suites. If you are looking for that little bit extra, our Penthouse Suites offer a full 1,450 sq ft of spacious luxury combined with some truly spectacular views of Vancouver.Full size kitchens & appliances in all the suites can help to reduce food costs. The Landis Hotel & Suites contains vital communications amenities including multiple in-suite telephones,wireless Internet & front desk fax service. The hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The Landis Hotel & Suites is only minutes from the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Center, Cruise Ship Terminals and Vancouver shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Landis Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel And Suites
Landis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing