We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, unhygenic and very smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Landis Hotel & Suites
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty, unhygenic and very smelly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed overnight (family of two adults, three children), and could not wait to leave. The rooms are scruffy and poorly furnished. Furniture is in poor condition and very dated. We had to change rooms because the first 'non-smoking' room reeked of smoke. The second suite was very dirty. Cutley was missing, and the forks and limited glassware and plates that were there were filthy, covered in dried food and could not be used. We waited 30 minutes for clean dinnerware to be brought up, while our dinner went cold. Door keys were from other hotels and didn't work reliably. Parking spaces are limited and too small for our car. This place needs to be gutted and a new housekeeping staff taken on. Not recommended, much cleaner and nicer places available for the same money.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 271RobertL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    167
    55
    15
    17
See reviews for
259
34
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Landis is not a typical hotel in many respects and has more of the feel of a suites facility, which is what it is, I guess. There is a reception, but it's just a small area you walk into off of the street.

The rooms, however, were sizable and comfortable. We had two bedrooms, with a king sized bed in one and a queen in the other, as well as a double sofabed in the lounge area. There was one bathroom and a kitchenette with a large fridge, kettle, stove and microwave. All in all, this was great for a family of four, including two teenagers.

Breakfast was included and it had the usual buffet range that you might find at a mid-priced chain. There was free wifi and I believe one can use the pool shared with the hotel next door.

There was also a coin op laundry, which was apparently very hard to find, but does exist!

Location was great for either the subway/Skytrain, or for walking around downtown. They also offer a free shuttle bus to anywhere in the downtown area, so we used it to take us to the Skytrain station when we left with our luggage.

It's not plush, but it's clean and offers an inexpensive option for family room style accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landis Hotel S, Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. . We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent suites, breakfast a bit hectic , fitness center good , the rooms are really spacious the pillows are like marshmallows.kitchen well equipped, great views , never known s bathroom to have so many light switches. Maid cleaned our suite every day .

Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Landis Hotel S, Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your first visit to Vancouver! We greatly appreciate your recent review your recognition of our staff. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My daughter and i stayed here second week in september. we had a 2 bedroom/one bath suite on the 5th floor. The interior colors arent pretty but the place is very clean, good condition, wonderful beds, totally comfortable and equipped. 3 tvs, no dvd player. Really liked the glassed-in dining area. Very helpful staff.

The kitchen had glasses, cups, plates, flatware, cooking utensils, cookware, collander, dishtowels, small coffeemaker, stove, full size refrigerator, microwave. Electric stove. Maid service daily, they gave us new towels and also coffee 'pods' every day. I brought my own coffee and bought paper filters across the street at the 7-11. No condiments or food supplies are provided in the kitchen. The hotel continental breakfast had packets of jelly, cream cheese, butter as well as different pastries, bagels, bread, fruit. Good coffee.

The hotel has a shuttle guests can book to get to places in the downtown area, be sure to tip the driver. The location is super convienient to everything. Davie Street is at one corner and a few blocks down is Robson. On Hornby Street couple of blocks from the hotel is a small but excellent sushi place. Closest liquor store was 2 blocks down Hornby at the Sheraton Wall center. Liquor is only sold at liscenced stores. 7-11 was good for snacks and staples and some really nice pastries. All around this area are both upscale and chain restaurants, shops, London Drugs, Chapters Book Store (both on Robson), pizza delivery places. Down the hill on Hornby is the aqua bus stop for the water taxi to Granville Island.

We received delivery from a florist shop and later a pizza shop with no hassles.

We didnt use the fitness area and pool/spa which is shared with the Marriott but it looked clean and decent sized and popular. We ate in every neighborhood we visited--Granville Island, Cin Cin on Robson, Davie St, Gastown, Chinatown, Yaletown, Kitsilano, Stanley Park Fish House, and even the sports bar-grill at the airport (great house burger!).

Loved Vancouver --so clean and green and well-mannered -- and really liked the Landis.

Room Tip: 5th floor suite 524 had an urban view -- 7-11 across the street -- but no noise to speak of. the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psage728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Landis is a hotel suite on Hornby street close to shopping on Robson and great restaurants. The room we were in was 2 bedroom one bathroom with full kitchen and living room...way more room then we needed but the price was great. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the hotel has a pool and a breakfast room that is included in the price. We stayed in 522 if this is helpful, City view. Great for Families travelling together.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent two weeks here with my wife and my daughter to explore Vancouver. The location is great, very convenient for bus lines to almost anywhere in Vancouver. We had considered renting a car, but this turned out to be much more convenient. The apartment was very roomy, with a view (perhaps not spectacular but quite nice) from the 16th floor. We ate on an enclosed balcony. The kitchen was minimally equipped but serviceable; because I had a recent heart attack, we didn't want to eat only at restaurants. There are at least two small supermarkets within four or so blocks,so it was easy to cook.There are also a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance. The front desk was very friendly and helpful,and we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgl201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

From the day of our arrival (9/4/13), my wife and I felt like we were at home. The rooms were of good size and the beds comfortable. The front desk personnel were very helpful and able to give us accurate dierections. The location was just perfect for us. It was central enough for us to explore downtown by foot. It was the most relaxing 5 nights of our vacation. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Kudos to the front desk personnel (I apologize for not taking note of your name, but you know who you are) on our days of arrival and departure for his professionalism and readiness to provide assistance.

Room Tip: Once you know where you're going, book early for their specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C17traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#54 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Hotel & Suites

Property: Landis Hotel & Suites
Address: 1200 Hornby Street | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landis Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Landis Hotel & Suites offer all the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Our objective at The Landis Hotel & Suites is to meet the needs of our guests coming from around the world, who are seeking hotel accommodations for short or extended stays, for personal or professional reasons. The Landis Hotel & Suites offers 53 spacious two bedroom suites that were designed to suit all type of stays. Looking for the extra space, our two bedroom suites are available in either our 800 sq ft, Executive Suites or our 1,000 sq ft, Deluxe Suites. If you are looking for that little bit extra, our Penthouse Suites offer a full 1,450 sq ft of spacious luxury combined with some truly spectacular views of Vancouver.Full size kitchens & appliances in all the suites can help to reduce food costs. The Landis Hotel & Suites contains vital communications amenities including multiple in-suite telephones,wireless Internet & front desk fax service. The hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The Landis Hotel & Suites is only minutes from the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Center, Cruise Ship Terminals and Vancouver shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landis Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel And Suites
Landis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing