We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful gem in the middle of Vancouver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landis Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landis Hotel & Suites
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem in the middle of Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

My wife and two children (3 & 5 yrs) decided to spend a few days in Vancouver to work through the jetlag (8 hours time difference) before heading up to Whistler for a week of skiing. I would highly recommend the Landis Suites as a wonderful place to stay, both for families and business travellers alike. We had a wonderful two bedroom suite which was clean, large and well appointed -- the free wireless internet was also a great perk. The staff were very helpful (especially the manager, Kalid, who went out of his way to make our stay as pleasant as possible) and the continental breakfast was better than we expected.

Although this is by no means a complaint, our only warning is to make sure you pay attention where you park your car -- their car park levels are a bit confusing (i.,e. split into no-so-clearly named half-levels) and so it's quite easy to lose your car. We had a bit of a panic when we thought our car had been towed/stolen when in fact it was simply on a different level.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Canguy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that we met all your needs during your stay in Vancouver. It was great having you! I am very sorry that the parking was confusing. We will make sure to remind other guests as well!
thank you again for your comments and we truly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    164
    54
    14
    17
See reviews for
257
34
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Aus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

Great place to stay for a family. Area of Vancouver is quite colourful but the accomodation was excellent. Only hiccup was that our booking was lost when we checked in. This was qucikly fixed by the staff. Brekkie room is excellent and facilities very good. Plenty of space and heaps better than a motel.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2010
WOW! Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very sorry that your reservation was not there when you checked in, but I am happy it was quickly resolved! We have made a lot of changes to the property, if you are ever in town again we would love to see you!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Booked on line and got a Manager's Special price of $169 for a two bedroom suite. Parking $14 a day and tricky to find, but safe enough and the elevator takes you right up to your room from the parking garage, Didn't use but they do have a shuttle going to nearby shopping and business district.

Very simple, low key lobby - very pleasant staff. Room was very clean with great glassed in sunroom with spectacular views. Bedding clean and fresh with selection of pillows. Bathroom nice - large with only one sink. We didn't use the kitchen but it seemed sufficient.

Upgraded televisions would be a great addition as the current ones are very dated and small.

The Landis is very central - only a two block walk to a great seafood restaurant. Two minute drive to Robson Street for shopping.

  • Liked — roominess and clean fresh bedding
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeamerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2010
Thank you for your great review! I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. It will please you to know that all the TVs have been upgraded along with many other things in the suites! We would love to welcome you back in the near future to show you the changes we have made. If you ever plan a trip back to Vancouver, give us a call! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Wa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here overnight with another couple post cruise and found the Landis to be perfect for our needs. It was the best price around and they were extremely helpful when checking in, holding our luggage and letting us check in early. The suite was clean and comfortable and well set up. We were extremely pleased to have secure parking. Security in the building was a bit cumbersome (having to swipe your card for elevator, etc.) but well above average - a nice plus. We were only here for one night and had dinner at a friend's house, so I can't tell you much about the immediate area. But it is located downtown and is easy to find. And the continental breakfast wasn't huge, but it had everything we needed to fill up for our day (pastries, cereals, toast, juice, coffee, etc.). And some of it appears home made.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rianthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2010
Thank you very much for your review! I am happy to hear that your short stay was comfortable. We have made many changes since your last visit and hope to have you again! Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

My family comprising of my Mum & Dad, me & my young son (3 years old) all stayed in a great 2 bedroomed apartment at this hotel.

What really struck me is how friendly all the staff are here, they go out of there way to help your with everything you can think of.

The maid service was brilliant & the breakfast was practical with cereals, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, orange juice & lots of cakes buns etc. There is a small breakfast room which was quite busy, but there were trays available to take breakfast back to your room if you preffered.

The apartment itself was very spacious with great views out of the windows overlooking downtown Vancouver (see photo)

Its still fair to say that it is not quiet but I never got woken up at night, I did hear the sounds of a busy city which you would hear anywhere in Vancouver.......The winter olympics are being held here & Whistler in 2010 so there is going to be a lot of redelopment in the area!

I would stay here again & I would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — The staff & The location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

The Landis is a great choice for anyone wanting plenty of space in a clean, well-maintained property in west Vancouver.

The room I had was much more a two bedroom condo, than a hotel room. There were two full baths, a complete kitchen (full size appliances!), living and dining areas, and two bedrooms.

One bedroom had a king bed, huge closet and good sized dresser. The other had a queen bed, big closet and dresser. Both had TVs, a view, and partially opening windows.

The living and dining areas had opening windows, a table with seats for four, sofa, coffee table and TV, as well as a small coat closet. There was also a small solarium off the living area with a window that opened far enough to make it more of a balcony.

Having two full baths was very handy; we always had plenty of towels and there was never any congestion when getting ready to go out.

There is a free breakfast in the morning, though the hours could be a bit longer. It has a good selection of muffins, breads, fruit, bagels, juices and coffee.

I didn't try out the pool or the fitness facility, but they seemed to be adequate. There are washers and dryers located in the fitness area change rooms.

Parking is reasonable for a city hotel, and is secured by a card lock gate. Wireless internet access is free. There is a morning paper Monday to Saturday.

We had a couple of small maintenance issues, which were handled promptly by the hotel staff.

The location is great; easy walking distance to many different tourist destinations and the hotel has a free shuttle. There are plenty of restaurants and bar in the area, as well as shops to stock up on your own food and drink.

I'd highly recommend the Landis to anyone who needs a hotel suite offering lots of space, in a great location.

  • Liked — Location, huge suite, reasonable cost.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prefer_not_to_say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

This was a perfect location for our family of 5. So close to downtown & Granville Island etc. yet 10 minutes walk from peaceful English Bay & Stanley Park. The community was friendly and vibrant.

The suite was spacious and room service was good. The car parking facility was great. The gym and pool facilities were good.

Disadvantages we experienced were: a) construction work was being carried out at the back of the hotel which was a bit noisy! b) the laundry facilities could definitely be improved - having the machines (only 1 of each) in the ladies & gents' changing rooms is not ideal! c) we were unable to get internet access for the duration of our stay for some reason - I hope they resolve this problem soon!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — major problems with internet access & laundry facilities were inconvenient
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesunclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Davie Village
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Hotel & Suites

Property: Landis Hotel & Suites
Address: 1200 Hornby Street | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landis Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Landis Hotel & Suites offer all the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Our objective at The Landis Hotel & Suites is to meet the needs of our guests coming from around the world, who are seeking hotel accommodations for short or extended stays, for personal or professional reasons. The Landis Hotel & Suites offers 53 spacious two bedroom suites that were designed to suit all type of stays. Looking for the extra space, our two bedroom suites are available in either our 800 sq ft, Executive Suites or our 1,000 sq ft, Deluxe Suites. If you are looking for that little bit extra, our Penthouse Suites offer a full 1,450 sq ft of spacious luxury combined with some truly spectacular views of Vancouver.Full size kitchens & appliances in all the suites can help to reduce food costs. The Landis Hotel & Suites contains vital communications amenities including multiple in-suite telephones,wireless Internet & front desk fax service. The hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The Landis Hotel & Suites is only minutes from the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Center, Cruise Ship Terminals and Vancouver shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Landis Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel And Suites
Landis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing