We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,very comfortable suite,lots of room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Landis Hotel & Suites
Ranked #62 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Lake Macquarie, NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location,very comfortable suite,lots of room.”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Travelled with adult son & daughter, so the 2 bedrooms and pullout sofa were utilised. Main bedroom had a huge kingsized bed but was rock hard,2nd bedroom had queen and better mattress, sofa bed was comfortable. Only complaint would be lounge area only had light curtains and so sunlight at 4am streamed in, also no privacy at night.
Granville Street and the nightlife is only a few blocks away, safe walking. Everywhere else....Robson St, Davie St, Stanley Park, Canada Place,Granville Markets etc is an easy walk. Skytrain and buses are also close by. Cabs out the front.
Staff were mainly helpful but if you need a toaster or something fixed you must keep asking. Took 4 requests for toilet tissue to be sent up. Check after room service as that is something they do not seem to top up.
We booked an extra night......they forgot and cancelled our cardkey, so had to get that going again...little things were annoying but Staff did apologize, and eventually fix them.
Would definately recommend and stay again...so easy to navigate around Vancouver from here and the extra space is ideal for more than 2 people.Check an upgrade to a 2 bathroom suite for 2 couples, if available.
Indoor pool & gym area were clean and well maintained.
Overall met all our needs and very tourist friendly location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the space of the suite and had an overall enjoyable stay. I sincerley appologize for the issued you experienced with service. I have reviewed your comments with our front desk agents to ensure that quicker service and more attention to detail is provided for all future guests. I also appreciate your comments regarding the lack of privacy in the living area. This is something I will review with our Property Management company. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    172
    55
    15
    17
See reviews for
265
34
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We booked a 2 bedroom suite and found it to be clean, roomy, and well appointed. Personally, I prefer a soft mattress, but it's fine for those who don't mind a hard bed. The shower in the master BR was designed for tall people. I'm 5'3" and the shower spray hit me in the face and couldn't be adjusted. If I booked again, I would request a room that didn't face the street. Because it's downtown, there is the typical street noise at night: sirens etc. Our 14 year old had a room that did not face the street and noise was not an issue for him. He loved having his own private room w/TV a double bed and bath. He also loved having a 7-11 across the street for snacks. Overall it was a good 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BizzyTravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We really appreciate your great comments. I am very sorry that the bed was not comfortable for you and that the showerhead did not work well for your needs. I will be looking in to resolving these issues. thank you for bringing them to my attention.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I have stayed twice at this hotel (once in 2002 & 2009) both times going on a cruise. Location is wonderful. You can walk to almost anything downtown from here. The view (you can see the water & the mountains too) is really nice. The free downtown shuttle is great & the drivers are very nice & give a mini tour with information when taking you places. The price was was great! We got a 2 bedroom suite for much less than we could have gotten just 2 regular hotel rooms & the rooms were much larger than a regular hotel. The staff was really friendly & helpful. The free continental breakfast was ok & there is a kitchen with dishes & everything if you want more. Several small grocery stories within walking distance. Also there is a computer in the lobby that you can use for 30minutes without a charge.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for your great review! I am very happy to hear that everything about your stay was great! We will continue to try and improve upon our services and hope to excede your expections the next time you are in Vancouver!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Tx.
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The hotel has a good location. Ten minutes walk in any direction takes you to major areas(shopping,restaurants) with bus stops closeby. The staff is very courteous and pleasant, especially Mr. Haleem at the front desk who welcomed us with enthusiasm and a bright happy smile! Breakfast is basic but good & fresh (O.J. tasted like freshly squeezed). They have a shuttle service till 7 p.m. that drops you anywhere in downtown from the hotel making it very convenient for the traveller. (return is on your own). We loved the large suite which had plenty of room for us five friends travelling. We had a terrific stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful city-Vancouver. It is not a luxury hotel but a nice clean and friendly place which to me is very important!!! Beds are very comfortable!!! I would rate it as a 3.5 star. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for your great review! I am happy to hear that everything about your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We will continue to update our services and hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

When travelling with my family (husband, 2 teens and a tween) finding the right accomodations in an expensive city like Vancouver is a challenge. A single hotel room won't do and getting two rooms is usually too expensive. The Landis turned out to be just right for us. We got the two bedroom, two bath unit. There was room to spread out, and enough tvs(3) and bathrooms to go around. The free internet was very convenient.

As another poster noted it's a little worn around the edges. To pick some nits - the sheets were very very thin and the pull out couch was broken. Also, late night noise from the street was very loud during the week-end but this was during St. Patricks so might not have been typical. The place is kept clean, the kitchen well stocked, the free breakfast delicious if not very nutritous (my kids loved the chocolate croissants and cookies) and most of all, the location very central. Great for walking around. Area seemed safe enough even at night. They also have great big windows and a glassed in porch which we enjoyed.

After booking with them through their website I found a cheaper rate elsewhere - mentioned it to them and they honored the lower price.

Overall a good value and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1-2-Hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for your positive review of your stay in Vancouver. We really appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience with us.
We have taken your comments in to consideration and have done many upgrades to the hotel and suites including a new sofa bed (we are very sorry when you stayed yours was broken, they are all brand new now), new lamps, new chairs, new carpets and more.

We will continue to upgrade our services and hope to have the ooprtunity to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 teenage children and stayed at the Landis between Xmas and New Year Dec08/Jan09 in a 2 bedroom suite. We had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, plus one of the children slept on the roll out bed in the lounge area. It was excellent to have 3 TV's so that everyone could watch their own choice of programme. The kitchen had ample facilities for us to cook meals when we needed and the breakfast provided was a generous continental breakfast with cereal, toast, croissants, muffins, tea and coffee - although the room was quite small and busy, we could always get a table. Although there was a building site right next door, this was never an issue as we were always out during the day and the builders did not work at night. There was considerable noise at night, but nothing other than usual city sounds and it certainly didn't keep us awake. Unfortunately the master bed was very hard - not just slightly, but very hard and you certainly didn't "sink" into the mattress. After the first night we got used to it and slept well. The laundry was convenient but the drier took forever to dry clothes - still more convenient than going to a laundromat.
We found the hotel location excellent - close enough to walk to the downtown area even in the snow, and lots of public transport nearby. Great family restaurants within a 5 min walk to the north of the hotel and we felt quite safe walking to these areas at night.
We too had great difficult getting our key cards to work and it took several attempts for them to operate - you just get used to it!
Reception staff were very helpful and were happy to store our luggage when we went to Vancouver Island for a few days. We enjoyed our stay and the facilities and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on TripAdvisor! It is very much appreciated!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in Vancouver. My apologies that you had so many issues with the key cards!
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we will take them in to consideration as we consider to improve our services.
Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Generally I find hotel accomodation in Vancouver to be problematic. Its over-priced and inadequate. Planning a 5 night stay in Vancouver to visit friends and family I initially booked a single room at a Holiday Inn at $169 a night. I changed this to the Landis because I could get a 2 bedroomed suite for roughly the same cost. I was not disappointed.

The accomodation is of a decent standard. Pretty clean although a bit frayed around the edges. The beds were not great I have to say - hard and somewhat "flat" and still using the good old brown hotel blanket rather then a comforter. There is a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and full size 'fridge. Plenty of closet space, good shower, 3 TVs, a DVD player. Apart from the beds it was fine. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient.

The breakfast was good by Canadian hotel standards - nothing hot but plenty of pastries and yogurt, cereal etc.

There is a coin-operated laundry and the pool and fitness area were fine too.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here. The staff were helpful when you needed them but unobtrusive otherwise which I like. The key cards were a bit of a hassle but nothing that ruined my day and parking ($14 a day) good. I liked that you could access the rooms straight from the garage. It was also very well sound-proofed from other guest noise (although to be fair the hotel was pretty empty when we were there) Location is good - walking distance to everything you may need.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PicaPica60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Landis Hotel & Suites. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found it was good value for your money. You will be happy to know that we have done quite a bit of upgrading to our suites. New sofa beds, chairs, carpets, lamps and TVs. We apologize the beds were not comfortable for you and will look into how we can improve upon this.
Again, thank you for your review it means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you again the next time you are in Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#54 of 92 in Vancouver
170 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Hotel & Suites

Property: Landis Hotel & Suites
Address: 1200 Hornby St | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landis Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Landis Hotel & Suites offer all the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Our objective at The Landis Hotel & Suites is to meet the needs of our guests coming from around the world, who are seeking hotel accommodations for short or extended stays, for personal or professional reasons. The Landis Hotel & Suites offers 53 spacious two bedroom suites that were designed to suit all type of stays. Looking for the extra space, our two bedroom suites are available in either our 800 sq ft, Executive Suites or our 1,000 sq ft, Deluxe Suites. If you are looking for that little bit extra, our Penthouse Suites offer a full 1,450 sq ft of spacious luxury combined with some truly spectacular views of Vancouver.Full size kitchens & appliances in all the suites can help to reduce food costs. The Landis Hotel & Suites contains vital communications amenities including multiple in-suite telephones,wireless Internet & front desk fax service. The hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The Landis Hotel & Suites is only minutes from the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Center, Cruise Ship Terminals and Vancouver shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Landis Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel And Suites
Landis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing