We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place close to BC place”
Review of Rosedale on Robson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedale on Robson
Ranked #40 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place close to BC place”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom.

Positive:
Clean, quiet, close to BC place and Rogers arena. Good bed.

Negative:
small bathroom, too much furniture in room, 2 km away from shopping and restaurant area of downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosley2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    718
    233
    59
    37
See reviews for
412
622
65
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We only stayed for 2 nights in this vast hotel (275 rooms). We were on the 14th floor and had a great view. The bed was very comfy. The location is great and the staff are lovely. Didn't go much on the choice of food in the restaurant though. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a small kitchen and 2 televisions! Didn't get time to investigate the swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faem35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

my husband and I stayed at the Robson with our children.
My husband just arrived from san fransico and had given me a beautiful banner of a buddha and a beautiful phrase on it.. i hung it over the door to the bedroom and left it there by mistake.. i emailed the hotel numberous times and never got a reply back. We left a huge tip for the maid and requested NO cleanup during our stay and made sure the room was nice and neat when we left..
i was dissapointed not receiving even ONE email indicating anything on my banner..
will not go back. :(

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank loveydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thank for writing your review. We have checked our records and we show no emails concerning this matter. We will continue to investigate that part. We do believe that we have your banner. That being the case can you contact me directly at jamesm@rosedaleonrobson.com. Please confirm your name, suite number and address that you want the banner sent. Thank you for your help and we hope to get the lost item back to you shortly.
Yours truly:
Jim Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithgow NSW Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A little dated but clean,kitchenette and separate lounge area

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davetoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

First things first.....I used to live in an apartment complex literally right across from the Rosedale on Robson. I now live in Coquitlam. Every time my family from Sydney, Australia would visit, they would stay at this hotel. They would love it.

My entire family including nephews came to visit me early July and they all decided to stay in the Rosedale. They had the opportunity to stay in our home in Coquitlam though wanted to be in the centre of all the action in downtown Vancouver. I ended up staying in the Rosedale for a few nights the very first time myself for a few days with my family.

The suites were very big with full kitchen appliances: cooker, microwave, sink, cooking pans, utensils and much more. This could all be closed off from the bedroom area which was still fairly big. The kitchen area had ample sitting. In general, the suites very big and nice and quite.

Underground parking was only $11 a day which is very good for downtown Vancouver. The maids were always polite and cleaned the rooms very well each day. There is an indoor swimming pool and my nephews loved it. Next to this was a hot tub. Before taxes the room was about $175 a night which is excellent for downtown Vancouver. This came with comlimentary, continental breakfast served each day until 9.30am.

My family have stayed at the Rosedale several times now and really enjoy coming back here every time they come to see me. I give it a definite thumbs up in every respect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoWithoutBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. It is always good to hear about several good stays and more to come.

Yours truly:
Jim Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had a great stay here,centrally located in the heart of the city..Short walk to great shops and all the sights. Great clean comfy room with excellen kitchen facilities.Friendly,approachable knowledgable staff.Rosies restaurant downstairs great value for money and great food.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gorilla60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

It's easy to stay one or two nights in a hotel and believe you've nailed what it's like. We've been at the Rosedale for the past 6 nights and have four more to go. There's lots to like about this hotel and having flown in from Australia it was important for us to have a decent place to stay.

First up - great staff - very informative and helpful, the room cleaning staff are excellent.
Location - if you're looking to wander around downtown Vancouver this place is great. We've walked pretty much everywhere with an 8 & 6 year old. A few blocks to Canada Place (a great stepping off point for a scenic bus tour, ferry to North Vancouver or trip up to Grouse Mountain); a street or two from the main shopping precinct; within minutes to meals; about 6 minutes walk to the False Creek Ferries and a trip across to Granville Island or a bike hire to take a trip around Stanley Park.

So being summer and without a car, location has been great.

Swimming Pool and Spa are big and well maintained. There's a gym of sorts but it's really a treadmill and static bike area - needs a small weights station or pulleys.

The restaurant downstairs, although apparently run by a different venue does a decent enough meal at fair prices. Don't expect a Curtis Stone gourmet cook up but do expect to be well fed.

Main bedroom is a good size and has (delightfully) a window that opens! Oh the fresh air. 2nd bedroom is big enough and also has a window that opens. Beds are really comfortable though the pillows are the big puffy sort which doesn't suit everyone.

What could be improved:
We are in a 2 bedroom set up and the lounge area is small and dark - certainly far too small to legitimately hold the title of the room being 'spacious' and with both bedroom doors closed gets no light from outside necessitating using lamps. If it was in the middle of winter and we were more room bound, our family of four would be going nuts. It's not helped by having an excess of oversized furnishings. We rearranged the set up and maximised the space, but really having three desks (one in each bedroom and one in the lounge/kitchen area) is overkill to the max. I'd ditch the one in the main living area OR ditch BOTH in each bedroom.

Bathroom is tiny. If this was a two bedroom suite being used by four adults rather than 2+2 kids, there'd be challenges.

And the kitchenette is perhaps less useful as there's no where really to eat unless you're happy eating on your lap. That said with so many cheap and reliable places nearby, you probably don't want to cook for yourself. Hence my next recommendation - get rid of the oven and cooktop, keep the microwave, kettle and small fridge and use the freed up space to put the TV cabinet, which would maximise living space.

For short stays however it is unlikely any of the space issues and kitchenette set up would be a problem.

If you have breakfasts provided it might not be clearly explained where breakfast is (we certainly thought it was in the downstairs restaurant we were given a card to use which is not included in your room rate) and only discovered it by accident on our third morning when another couple we met gave us the heads up. So here's how to find it - take the elevator to the 2nd floor; turn right as you exit the elevator (there's NO signage but don't worry) and follow the corridor around to the right. Just keep going. You'll see some glass doors on your right and when you go through those, the breakfast area is in view. All of the cereals, breads, muffins, juices are very fresh. But the area is small so be prepared to grab and go or find a place nearby at peak times of the breakfast rush.

One other tip I'd like them to consider is their 'green' policy. They have a card you can use if you don't want your sheets changed every day. I'd like them to do the same with towels rather than replacing them everyday. And the lighting in the room is still using incandescent bulbs. Apart from the cost of running them, it's a bit of a stretch to say you care about the environment whilst using them instead of the latest environmentally friendly versions. But hey, that's just my inner greenie talking.

The suggested improvements are not deal killers, just ideas for Rosedale. All up it's be a great venue and we're looking forward to comparing it to the Douglas Fir in Banff when we get there next week

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RightFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,484 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 90 in Vancouver
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale on Robson

Property: Rosedale on Robson
Address: 838 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the entertainment and sports district, the Rosedale on Robson Suite Hotel offers you comfort and relaxation, with water and mountain views, in a perfect central location. We are a very short walking distance to Rogers Arena, BC Place, the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, the Westside Church, and historic Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown.Discover fabulous shops and cafes along the way. Choose from our array of one and two bedroom suites with 2 doubles, queen-size and/or king-size beds. Every suite offers the comforts of home with fully equipped galley kitchens for people who love to have that convenience. Need to stay connected? You can access WiFi throughout the hotel. Need to relax? Enjoy our indoor lap pool and whirlpool or find a touch of nature in our second floor garden terrace. Fitness on your mind? The poolside lobby fitness area has treadmills and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Robson
Rosedale On Robson Hotel Vancouver
Rosedale On Robson Vancouver
Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing