We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better the just a hotel room!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosedale on Robson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosedale on Robson
Ranked #42 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Better the just a hotel room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have stayed at the Rosedale on Robson twice and had a good experience both times. It's nice to have a bit of extra space with a living room and small kitchen in addition to the bedroom. Rooms with a balcony/deck are particularly great! Onsite parking is available. Breakfast is rather plain, but acceptable. The location is good. Close to lots of restaurants and shopping. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a deck on the upper floors are particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    682
    222
    58
    36
See reviews for
392
582
65
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and enjoyed this get-away as much as any. In every area of the hotel the staff were very helpful and friendly....in particular housekeeping who found and returned my wife's favourite boots,mailed them in fact to our home. Kudos to them
We will certainly return again and as old foggies rely on good staff and are assured we will have clean and comfortable rooms again!!!!!!!
Ron and Karen

Room Tip: As an out of towner,I found the parking entrance a little Tricky to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Pros- good location for concerts & sport events, reasonably priced.
Cons-staff inaccurate with their info, rooms basic, gym and pool not appealing.

Car park is $16 per night.
Vancouver is a great city and if your on a budget i would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mauigirlaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stay at this Hotel quite often for concerts and sports games. Great location to BC Place and Rogers stadium, nice walk up to shopping on Robson. The rooms are functional and clean, nice to find a hotel that has 2 bdrm units for families and the kitchenette is a bonus. Front desk staff are always pleasant and helpful even with a lobby full of sports enthusiasts. Be cautious of just a few things if looking to go to an event - Restaurant has good food, but we waited almost an hour on a concert night for our meal so plan your time accordingly , and the elevators in the hotel have won the prize amongst us all as the slowest in Vancouver. We do use the stairs quite often, sometimes not an option from the 15th floor!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennI
Level Contributor
640 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Rosedale on Robson is sandwiched between Robson and Yale town. A stones throw from many attractions downtown and good restaurants, location is the USP of the hotel. We had booked a superior Queen suite. The room had a small kitchenette cum living which housed a sofa and TV and a bed room with another TV. not too spacious nor too cramped the rooms and furnishings are a bit dated. Toilets a mid sized and needs to be revamped like the rooms. The reverse cycle AC makes a lot of noise and was a constant irritant through the six nights that we stayed. There was some noise from above the bed ceiling as well. There is a common paid laundry room on alternate floors. The restaurant below is good but when they are busy they do not answer the phone nor take orders for room service. Staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. May stay there if visiting for a short period because of its location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked here for a night stay after going to a hockey game because we couldn't book the Sandman on Georgia Street through Expedia. The staff that we interacted with was friendly and helpful. The rooms as people have stated are small but hey you get a separate bedroom and when you want to go to sleep and your husband doesn't it is helpful! The room was clean but the mattress was way too soft but most people may like it (when we go to Mexico people always complain the beds are hard but we love them). Kitchen seemed to be fully stocked but we only used two glasses. The wifi is only in the lobby, which surprised us in this day and age but at least we have lots of data on our phones! If we came again without the kids we'd stay here again and if we were taking the kids we might splurge for a two bedroom.

We could see BC Place from our window so it is very close if you are coming for a sporting event or concert. It was also an easy walk to the Yaletown Brewery and also to Georgia Street for bussing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank morganglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here for a hockey game at BC Place. The location couldn't be better, walking distance to some of the best restaurants just two streets away in Yaletown and lots of shopping and sights and the ferry to granville island market.

The room was spacious and had a great view and decent bed and amenities in the room.
As it is an all suite hotel, they don't do daily housekeeping (which we knew) and some parts of the room and bathroom seemed a little dingy, there was a large splatter on the wall and make up gunk at eye level in the bathroom that clearly had not been cleaned and a few other spots of grime in all the corners but overall it was decent.
The other thing we didn't realize is that they didn't provide shampoo or any of those items, just one small junky bar of soap. but for the room size and price we were fine with the cheap amenities, there is a shoppers drug mart down the street to buy what you need.

on check in we were told by front desk "all the king rooms are exactly the same" and given our choice of floors. well we chose the highest floor and out of the 6 people in our group travelling, our room was the most outdated, had old appliances an old tube tv and was not even a king room, it was a queen and the higher floor really did not add anything to the view.

It also had a completely different layout than the other "identical" rooms (more windows, but less living room width and seating) that our friends had on floors 8 and 12 and their rooms were basically brand new and renovated much nicer than ours so the front desk was not at all accurate when they told us the rooms were the same.

The biggest problem with the 19th floor was the elevators, for some reason their elevators are the slowest i have seen, each elevator stops on every floor that someone calls, there is not priority sequence like you see in most hotels, so even with 3 elevators, you might push the button and still wait 5 to 10 minutes while none of them are even changing floors to come all the way down to the lobby.
Even worse was coming back after the hockey game, with well over 50 people waiting for elevators at a time and each one can barely hold 6 people, we actually walked up to the 19th floor via the stairs and still made it to our room almost 10 minutes ahead of our friends waiting for the elevator to come back. I really really do not recommend 19 flights of stairs!!

The onsite diner style restaurant was decent with very good food but way understaffed for breakfast when they knew it would be busy - only 3 servers for the whole place and it was full.

The gym was two pieces of worn out equipment - not even adequate for a basic workout and the pool was ok but very small and only suitable for a couple people swimming laps at once. You would be better to run up all 21 flights of stairs and back and then do a workout in your hotel room instead.

The other big surprise was that for a hotel that intends on long stay, they have the most expensive internet i have encountered in Vancouver. I believe it was $24 for 24hrs or $10 per hour. Ridiculous. Most hotels in town are free if you are a member and when we did pay for it, it was terribly slow and almost non-functional, so not at all suitable for a business traveller.

Overall the rooms are nice and spacious but for the price and lacking amenities i would spend just a little bit more and get a different hotel with better pool, gym, internet, tv and overall amenities and there really was nothing here for families even though the rooms are set up for family stay. The only real value here is the great location and room to fit 4 people in your room if needed and be able to cook if you are here for a few days.

Room Tip: Don't stay on a high floor, you will wait forever for elevators and the view isn't really mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gloabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDM3703, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I would like to clarify a couple of things. First off, you were actually staying with a company called Rosedale Condominiums which is a timeshare operation. We handle their checki/out as we are here 24 hours per day but everything else is theirs. They do have a different standard of amenities and housekeeping service than the hotel. As for the WiFi, service to the timeshare suites, it is free.

I will forward your comments onto the timeshare.

Yours truly:
Jim Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#30 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Downtown
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#44 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale on Robson

Property: Rosedale on Robson
Address: 838 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the entertainment and sports district, the Rosedale on Robson Suite Hotel offers you comfort and relaxation, with water and mountain views, in a perfect central location. We are a very short walking distance to Rogers Arena, BC Place, the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, the Westside Church, and historic Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown.Discover fabulous shops and cafes along the way. Choose from our array of one and two bedroom suites with 2 doubles, queen-size and/or king-size beds. Every suite offers the comforts of home with fully equipped galley kitchens for people who love to have that convenience. Need to stay connected? You can access WiFi throughout the hotel. Need to relax? Enjoy our indoor lap pool and whirlpool or find a touch of nature in our second floor garden terrace. Fitness on your mind? The poolside lobby fitness area has treadmills and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Robson
Rosedale On Robson Hotel Vancouver
Rosedale On Robson Vancouver
Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing