We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing rooms; though good location and value”
Review of Rosedale on Robson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedale on Robson
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Depressing rooms; though good location and value”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

My first impression up seeing our room...I wish I'd booked through airbnb or vrbo. I was looking for a somewhat larger space (with a separate sleeping area from the main room) and Rosedale on Robson seemed to fit the bill at a reasonable price. However, upon seeing my dark, dingy room filled with old furniture and a sagging mattress, I wish I'd booked a condo rental instead. It's particularly disappointing because given the location of the hotel and its generally "good bones", it seems even a small investment to spiff up the hotel could make a huge difference.

Pros:
+ Location: a few blocks from the Skytrain, about a 5-10 minute walk to Yaletown water front and in the midst of downtown. Very convenient.
+ Reasonable rates (about $130 a night, not including taxes)
+ Large rooms with kitchenettes and ample fridges

Cons:
- Dated, dingy rooms: Looks like the hotel hasn't been remodeled for 15-20 years. Furniture is dated and chipped and randomly placed (mismatched furniture suggests it wasn't designed for this space). A traveling companion described the "atmosphere" as "depressing single occupancy hotel". It was hard to relax in the room and we found ourselves wandering around and hanging out at coffee shops instead.
- No wifi (let's just say the hotel guide still has instructions on how to use dial up internet service...enough said).
- Lack of light: Perhaps a room on a higher floor have better light, but our suite only had 1 window (in the bedroom) which didn't let in much light. The living room area was perpetually gloomy and dark, even with all the lights on.
- Dingy: There were weird stains on the door between the living and bedroom area and our bedspread was pretty dusty, otherwise clean given the age of the hotel.
- Uncomfortable mattress: Mattress was pretty uncomfortable (saggy and could feel the springs); sofa bed was even worse.
- Lack of blankets: Even though it was the middle of winter (Feb) the only blanket in our room was 1 thin cotton coverlet, which left us freezing. We asked for another blanket the next night and received a second thin coverlet (not ideal, but at least bearable).
- Lack of security: The garage is open for general public parking and the garage elevators go straight up to hotel room levels, without keycard security anywhere.

Having rented holiday apartments in nearby Yaletown in the past and having seen what you can get for about $125-150 per night (a well-furnished, full-size apartment), I would recommend going that route versus the Rosedale...I certainly wish I had.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_intrepidwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It seems that we have some work to do. We have for the last three years been on a renovation prgram that included new furnishings, new carpets, new bedspreads, new beds, new flatscreen TV's and new carpet in the hallways. We still have a little time left for all pieces of the puzzle to be in place but we are working on it.. As for security, due to there being several acommodation operators in the hotel tower, we are unable to lock off the elevators efficiently. Instead we have opted for extra security personnel through various sources. There is WiFi throughout the building, including the public areas.

Yours truly:
Jim Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    731
    237
    59
    37
See reviews for
419
640
65
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This was a transit stop on our way into Europe. Arrived early so room was not ready. Left our luggage and walked into town but nothing was open yet. When we got to our room it seemed a little dated and very dark even with all lights on. Aircon (heater) was very noisy during the night so we slept with it off. The room seemed to maintain a comfortable temperature anyway. Restaurant was not too bad although we did not eat there every day. The biggest advantage of this hotel is its proximity to everything - shopping, restaurants and public transport ( Vancouver has a very good public transport system - $9CAD day pass for unlimitted travel on public buses (including the sea bus) and rail network).
Overall this hotel is comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfeet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Coming from Australia we didnt know what to expect but we were impressed for the price; we had a suite, bedroom with kitchenette and living room.The bedroom was very spacious. We were upgraded and stayed on the 16th floor.
The downfall would have to be the lack of gym(only couple of treadmills) but it does have a pool.
THe continental breakfast is pretty average however it is Free and has all the basics.
Also xompared to other parts of the worls $25 for 7day net connection was great!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRBAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We spent 3 days in Vancouver after cruising Alaska and before heading off on the Rocky Mountaineer to Jasper.
We wanted to stay at a hotel that was reasonably close to all tourists attractions, having never visited Vancouver before.
We like walking and we walked to explore as many areas as we could in 3 days, a couple of blocks from the waterfront, also not too far from the water taxis that took you over to the Granville Island markets.
We caught a water taxi over to catch the bus in West Vancouver to go to the Capilano suspension bridge and Grouse mountain.
The hotel room suited us perfectly, very clean small kitchenette and lounge area, very quiet.
We met friends at and dined at Rosies Restaurant which is on site, excellent meal and great value and atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosedaleGM, General Manager at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Thank for taking the time to write your review. It is always good to hear about a good stay as well as a traveller's enjoyment of our city. Please let your friends know about our wonderful city.

Yours truly:
Jim Miller
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bega, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Another couple and my husband and I spent two days on arriving in Vancouver.
After our travels around the Rockies we came back and spent our last night in Canada
there. Great position, close to restaurants. Could not fault the service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jibbo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

This was a good medium range hotel that is well located within most of Vancouver's sights. Rooms are getting a bit tired but are spacious and there is plenty of space to spread out. The eating options within the hotel are reasonably priced and there are many eating places within a short walk. Disappointed with the fairly costly wifi connection, given that most other hotels in North America now offer free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volkera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed here for a week while we were visiting our daughter who is working in Vancouver. We had a free upgrade: our suite comprised bedroom with 2 queen-sized beds, bathroom with shower over bath, cleverly designed kitchenette and spacious sitting room. An extra bed was provided so our daughter could stay with us at no extra cost, with all linen included. Virtually everything had been thought of to make the stay comfortable - e.g. the kitchenette included toaster and coffee maker and even washing up liquid and cloths, as well as cooker, large fridge and microwave. The room was serviced to a high standard every day. There are washing machines for those who need them, and you can even borrow an umbrella from the hotel at no charge. The staff were all polite and helpful

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,519 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale on Robson

Property: Rosedale on Robson
Address: 838 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the entertainment and sports district, the Rosedale on Robson Suite Hotel offers you comfort and relaxation, with water and mountain views, in a perfect central location. We are a very short walking distance to Rogers Arena, BC Place, the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, the Westside Church, and historic Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown.Discover fabulous shops and cafes along the way. Choose from our array of one and two bedroom suites with 2 doubles, queen-size and/or king-size beds. Every suite offers the comforts of home with fully equipped galley kitchens for people who love to have that convenience. Need to stay connected? You can access WiFi throughout the hotel. Need to relax? Enjoy our indoor lap pool and whirlpool or find a touch of nature in our second floor garden terrace. Fitness on your mind? The poolside lobby fitness area has treadmills and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Robson
Rosedale On Robson Hotel Vancouver
Rosedale On Robson Vancouver
Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing