We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little historic hotel”
Review of Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingston Hotel
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Quaint little historic hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Very clean but small rooms shared bathrooms and laundry room

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girgazim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    149
    75
    26
    20
See reviews for
32
157
105
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in the Kingston Hotel while visiting Vancouver. First off, the location is great. If you're coming from the airport on Skytrain, it's just a short few-block walk to the hotel--great for the weary traveler. It's in a safe area close to Robson street, the major downtown shopping street, and is an easy walk to the water, Stanley Park, Denman street, the art gallery, and other Vancouver downtown attractions.

I remember the staff being very helpful and explaining the various room options when I made my reservation. The room we had was small but clean and had lots of storage, a desk, and a private sink. We didn't have a private bathroom but the shared one was right across the hall and felt very clean. They also provided a set of disposable shower shoes for us to wear, which was a nice touch.

The breakfast is simple (toast or bagel; butter, cream cheese, or jam; orange juice, coffee, tea, or hot chocolate) but was a nice way to start the day. the breakfast room isn't big, so there could be a bit of a bottleneck during the later morning hours (especially since the hotel staff take orders and man the toasters themselves).

The staff was very friendly, but not the most helpful with respect to restaurant recommendations. There are so many food options in the vicinity of the hotel (Robson street is just packed with options, not to mention the other side streets) that we did our research on the internet before heading out to find a bite to eat.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Kingston Hotel for the budget traveler. You can definitely get a nicer hotel, but this one has all of the important qualities you look for: clean, quiet, comfortable, convenient, and safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were quite surprised at the cost of Vancouver hotels. Luckily found this place through TripAdvisor (and maybe Frommer's too). Great location with cheap eats right around the corner. Can walk to everything. Breakfast was continental with toast or bagel and coffee/tea and juice. Fine to get your started but don't expect much more. The rooms were just fine, nothing fancy, but clean and just fine (no TV but there is one in the lobby). Shared baths/showers were plentiful, and sparkling clean. We liked it enough to extend our stay but had to move to a smaller room. We started with a queen bed/shared bath and switched to a 3/4 bed shared bath. The only problem is that that the bed is up against the wall. But we were aware of that and considering the only other choice was a large room with 2 beds and a bath for much more money we were fine in the bed against the wall for only 2 more nights. All in all, it's a good spot, well run, helpful front desk. Unless you plan to spend a lot of time in the room, I'd say it's a fine place to sleep, shower and get a small breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Kingston during a 5 night stay in Vancouver and we were more than happy with the accommodations. Yes, some rooms are small and without showers, but are you there for the room or for visiting Vancouver? The shared showers were no problem as there are more than 1 to a floor and we never had to wait for one. Bathrobes and slippers were also provided.
Some rooms overlooked the Kingston Bar and Grill patio, which can be loud, but only during the evening.
An unexpected bonus was the coin operated laundry room with one washer and two dryers.
Walking distance to anything you'd want to see in downtown Vancouver.
Wireless available in rooms.
Staff was very, very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgh505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Friendly and helpful staff, small room, a bit stuffy (although there was an electric fan in the room). Shared bathrooms (quite a few of these did not have a hand basin which I think is a bit strange). Very handy for downtown Vancouver and 'Gastown', easy walk to the seafront. Basic but nice breakfast (Juice, coffee, toast or bagel).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

After Staying at a hostel we booked a budget room here for about the same price. Wow, what a difference. For about the same price as our Victoria hostel we had a lovely room complete with slippers, bathrobes and breakfast. The breakfast was basic but a bonus. A sauna, as well as the shower down the hall made this place a true gem. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a room and the Kingson Hotel Bed and Breakfast for two weeknights. We booked through priceline and thought for $100.00 a night we would receive a fairly simple yet standard, room given the kingston's excellent location in downtown vancouver. We were wrong. Our double occupany room only included a sink and a mirror (no bathroom). There were two unisex hall bathrooms instead, only one of which had a sink to wash your hands and a shower. This would not have been a problem, had we been expecting a hostel type experience in the first place. Our next problem was that the bed and room were extremely small. We could not both open our suitcases at the same time. Our reservation clearly stated double occupancy, when we inquired at the front desk we were informed that our room has a 3/4 double bed. There is a $10.00 surcharge for a full double bed.
While the staff at the Kingston are very curteous (they waived the $10.00 fee for a room change), I feel it would be more appropriate for the Kingston to be listed as a hostel rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
882 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
648 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#39 of 92 in Vancouver
774 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,705 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Hotel

Property: Kingston Hotel
Address: 757 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingston Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1910 and family owned and operated. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, only half a block from the Robson Street shopping district. Vancouver City Centre Skytrain Station is 2 blocks from The Kingston. Other nearby areas include Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown. BC Place Stadium and Rogers Arena, the Vancouver Convention Centre and Cruise ship terminal are also only a 10-15 minute walk.A 52 room, European style Bed and Breakfast hotel, The Kingston offer rooms with either a shared or private bathroom. All rooms include a continental breakfast, served every morning between 6:30 and 11:00am. Some of the amenities The Kingston offers include free WiFi, a public computer terminal with available printer, a sauna, day and overnight storage and coin-operated laundry machines.The Kingston Taphouse and Grille restaurant is located right next door. One of the most popular spots in the city, offering a large menu fit for a variety of different taste buds. Try one of the 60 available beers, or choose a wine from the extensive wine list. Four different areas are perfect for any setting. Choose from Bar, Dining Room, Wrec Room (complete with dart boards and pool table), or Garden Patio. A great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingston Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Kingston Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing