We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location + small but clean = great value B&B”
Review of Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingston Hotel
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

When my friend and I made an online reservation for the Kingston Hotel, we were a little skeptical because it was a lot cheaper than other downtown hotels... and we were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel was clean and well maintained. We stayed in their single room with a 3/4 size bed and shared bathroom/shower. There was a small sink in the room. The room was clean and cozy, and comes with sets of towels, shampoo, soap and other normal stuff. It even had bathrobes and slippers in the closet, a nice plus even though we didn't use them. Shared bathroom/shower in the hallway was clean when we used. There was a coin-operated laundry machine in the building, which was nice, even though we didn't use it.

The breakfast was pretty simple - choice of toast or bagel, and coffee/tea/juice. There was always a person in the dining area attending guests, and he made us fresh pot of tea and toasted bagels to order.

The building doesn't have an AC in the room so the room can get stuffy. We kept the windows open during the night (our room was on the 3rd floor). The hotel is in a very central location near busy streets, so the noise can be an issue for some people, but we slept through the night without issue. However the construction that was going on in the open lot next to the building (and the window was facing the lot) at the time we stayed woke us up early.

The wi-fi didn't work in the room, but it was fine in the lobby and dining room.

Overall, this was a charming place with friendly staff, and we were satisfied with our stay. Excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Single room does't have a private bath/shower. Double and Twin rooms do. Wi-fi works better on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Only being in Vancouver for 2 nights we found this hotel reasonable and adequate. The price suited our pocket, but realised that it was never going to be 5 star standard. Communal shower/bathroom did mean the odd wait to use the facilities. Breakfast was lovely in clean surroundings. All in all the standard of cleanliness was very good and the staff were certainly helpful and pleasant. Room was adequate size and tidy. Lift between floors. Situated 2 blocks from a skytrain terminal on direct link from the airport and also direct to waterside for connection to sea ferries etc. Plenty of restaurants and fast food within few minutes walk. So for short stay and watching the pennies - just the job. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: major building works for new hotel at rear - so rear rooms may(??) be affected in time. Didn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel ha a good location in the middle of downtown Vancouver, so you can walk to many attractions. It is only a couple of blocks from the Skyrail station and a bus passes the hotel, so getting around is easy. Rooms are very small and the beds are only 3/4 size doubles, so its very pokey. Bathrooms are on each floor and there is a basin in each room.During our visits the toilets were sometimes blocked and the toilet paper ran out in the bathroom At the time of our visits major works were going on on both sides of the hotel, ie they had demolished the neighbouring buildings and the hotel ws an island in a huge hole of earthworks. Consequently there was noise from the construction sites surrounding the hotel. Staff were friendly and a small breakfast of bagels, juice and coffee was provided. We paid about Can$90 for a double. We stayed on 2 occasions and I would stay again for the location and price.

Room Tip: All rooms were a bit noisy due to construction works, but try to avoid rooms above the bistro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leighae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

center of Downtown Vancouver. Only 2 blocks from Canada Line - City Centre skytrain station. quick breakfast and wireless included. Clean common bathroom & shower, robe & slippers a nice touch. Have stayed here many times including honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed here for on night on my way home after a 3 month trip. It was very easy to find and reach, within a few minutes walk of Granville and City Centre train lines.

The hotel was perfect for me, my room was very clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating (Fred). It's a great location and there are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants nearby. A good supermarket on the same block with deli food for cheap lunches.

There was a sauna, which I didn't use. I had a shared bath with my room and didn't have a problem finding an empty bathroom to use when I needed it.

The hotel is currently sandwiched between 2 large building sites on the block. Work on these sites starts 7:30am and is due to go on for a couple of years, so for some might not be good, but for me that was not an issue. The pros clearly outweighed the cons. They have reduced their prices as a result of this work.

Compared to the place I stayed in in Seattle the night before, which was almost double the price, this was amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the Kingston for 3 nights and were very impressed - was great value for money and was in a fab location.

The bathrooms are down the hall but I never had to wait for one, and the breakfast is basic (bagels or toast with coffee, tea, juice) but perfectly fine for what we were after. It was clean and just what we were after - somewhere to sleep on a whirlwind stopover. The rooms aren't huge so might not be that suitable for those looking to spend a lot of time in their room. there are construction sites on both sides but wasnt noisy at all.

Definitely visit the pub next door too

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Kingston is an excellent budget option in central Vancouver. I used it for two days before an Alaska cruise. As noted in other reviews, it is Euro-style, with a sink in the room and the shower and toilet down the hall. For convenience, a nice white terry bathrobe and disposable slippers are included with the room.

The rooms are small but attractively decorated. Rooms and showers are well-maintained. Rooms with low numbers (--1) face the street and those with high numbers (-21) face the back alley.

Be aware that there is construction on both sides of the hotel (high rise glass and steel buildings are going up) and it will last until about 2015. As a result, room rates have been lowered. Noise is not an issue if one plans to sightsee during the day. Construction starts around 0800 and lasts till around 1700.

The hotel property must be extremely valuable, and my suspicion is that Telus (the adjacent owner) is hoping to lower the price by squeezing them out and then using the property as a plaza for their adjacent new buildings. Just my opinion, and I hope it does not happen since I want to stay at the Kingston in the future.

The staff are very friendly, the breakfast is abstemious (bagel, coffee, and juice), the on-site bar and restaurant attract a young professional crowd, and the location is perfect for public transportation (the Skytrain station is just 2 blocks west, and all central sights are a short walk away.)

Buy a daily transport pass ($9, $7 seniors 65+) and use it to cover the entire city from airport Skytrain to north side ferry. Bus drivers have a route map in their free schedule booklets.

Keep in mind that if your YVR flight is delayed past midnight or leaves very early, you may need to taxi for about $35 plus tip to/from the airport. On my return from the cruise I had to stay at a YVR airport hotel because of an 0630 international flight.

Room Tip: --1 rooms face the street, -21 rooms face the back alley. Bathrooms are near the street end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
947 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
892 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Hotel

Address: 757 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £48 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingston Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1910 and family owned and operated. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, only half a block from the Robson Street shopping district. Vancouver City Centre Skytrain Station is 2 blocks from The Kingston. Other nearby areas include Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown. BC Place Stadium and Rogers Arena, the Vancouver Convention Centre and Cruise ship terminal are also only a 10-15 minute walk.A 52 room, European style Bed and Breakfast hotel, The Kingston offer rooms with either a shared or private bathroom. All rooms include a continental breakfast, served every morning between 6:30 and 11:00am. Some of the amenities The Kingston offers include free WiFi, a public computer terminal with available printer, a sauna, day and overnight storage and coin-operated laundry machines.The Kingston Taphouse and Grille restaurant is located right next door. One of the most popular spots in the city, offering a large menu fit for a variety of different taste buds. Try one of the 60 available beers, or choose a wine from the extensive wine list. Four different areas are perfect for any setting. Choose from Bar, Dining Room, Wrec Room (complete with dart boards and pool table), or Garden Patio. A great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingston Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Kingston Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing