We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive but safe place”
Review of Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingston Hotel
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a small B&B but for the price (in comparison to the rest of the city), it's just fine. They provide a bagel or toast and 2 slices of fruit for breakfast. It's not the Marriott but it's enough to get your day started. And there are plenty of convenience stores within walking distance.

We had a late check-in (2 am) and there was someone waiting there for us, which is unusual for a B&B. It is a shared bathroom facility but if you can tolerate that, it really isn't a problem. There were 2 bathrooms on our floor (level 2) and another sauna with a shower and toilet on level 1 (which opens at 11 am). For short stays (pre or post cruise), this is absolutely do-able for a couple on the go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linamary69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Room size small but bigger than expected.
My sheets and towels had hair and wet stains all over them.
Bring sandals if you want to use communal shower, overall I don't trust the hygiene of this facility.
Was plenty of free street parking(after 10pm) but must pay meter by 9am. paid parking avail for $16.
Cheapest place in Vancouver dt but $85 for a dirty room with communal bathroom wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Yes there is a construction site next door to the hotel and yes it is noisy. But if you are out site seeing it'll be all over by 6pm. Don't be alarmed if you arrive earlier.

Nice extras like free Internet computer and printing, decent breakfast, and free baggage storage.

Thank you to the staff; we had a surprisingly comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Saul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This Hotel is a hidden gem right beside the centre of downtown. Once you enter the building you feel set back to the beginning of the 20th century with lovely antique furniture and appliances. Especially this flair and the excellent customer service of the friendly and personable staff made us book our next stay already!

The comments about the construction sites are true, but we did not have any experience of noise, due to our early check-out.
We also booked a Queensize Bedroom with shared bathrooms on the hallway, which is the cheaper alternative and totally fine for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in a queensize bedroom with shared bathroom, which was very convenient and of a totally su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrmax93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

On Richards Street, within walking distance of many restaurants, Stanley Park, the Maritime Museum, and a $10m cab ride from the train station, the Kingston Hotel is a gem. Friendly, helpful staff, clean room, decent price; I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakkasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in July, selecting this hotel purely for its central location and price. With these criteria in mind, I admit I wasn't expecting a palace, but was very pleasantly surprised. The room was fine, a little stuffy initially, but a fan was provided. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout the stay. Breakfast was basic but more than sufficient, and one could have as much as one pleased. I never once had to wait for the shared shower facilities, and the laundry room was clean and efficient. There was construction occurring immediately next to the hotel, but I was never really aware of it, and it didn't interfered with sleep at any point. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and fully intend to stay here again, should I be fortunate enough to darken the shores of Vancouver again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here for one night after a 14 hour flight from New Zealand and won't be in a hurry to come back. The room were clean but really small and very basic - not even a kettle to make tea! The double bed was the smallest I have ever seen in my life, I was almost scared to roll over in the night incase I knocked my girlfriend out.

The bathrooms were clean enough but you often had to wait a while to use one which was quite annoying. Towels were supplied though.

The worst thing about this hotel is the 2 building sites on either side. The hotel is literally an island surrounded by 2 massive, deep holes (which are obviously foundations for highrised buildings) with multiple diggers and other machinery. We were woken about 7am or earlier when work started so it's not really the place to stay if you're wanting to sleep off the jet lag. The road on the front is also really busy but you do expect that staying in a city centre.

All in all I think this hotel needs to take a long look at it's problems and prices then come up with something realistic. Just because your location is brilliant doesn't mean you can charge the earth for it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 648DanielJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
930 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#40 of 92 in Vancouver
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,759 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Hotel

Address: 757 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £60 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingston Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1910 and family owned and operated. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, only half a block from the Robson Street shopping district. Vancouver City Centre Skytrain Station is 2 blocks from The Kingston. Other nearby areas include Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown. BC Place Stadium and Rogers Arena, the Vancouver Convention Centre and Cruise ship terminal are also only a 10-15 minute walk.A 52 room, European style Bed and Breakfast hotel, The Kingston offer rooms with either a shared or private bathroom. All rooms include a continental breakfast, served every morning between 6:30 and 11:00am. Some of the amenities The Kingston offers include free WiFi, a public computer terminal with available printer, a sauna, day and overnight storage and coin-operated laundry machines.The Kingston Taphouse and Grille restaurant is located right next door. One of the most popular spots in the city, offering a large menu fit for a variety of different taste buds. Try one of the 60 available beers, or choose a wine from the extensive wine list. Four different areas are perfect for any setting. Choose from Bar, Dining Room, Wrec Room (complete with dart boards and pool table), or Garden Patio. A great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingston Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Kingston Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing