We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and 'bread'fast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bed and 'bread'fast”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are looking for location,it is great. Wifi, not really available as advertises. And the breakfast is pathetic. ONLY bagel or toast...period, ok with orange slice 'garnish'. Nothing else, not cereal, muffin, yogurt.etc....celiac,gluten intolerant...stay away, or anyone who actually wants a REAL breakfast. Pathetic to be included in the price and not remotely what I would consider breakfast. Wifi was spotty at best. When we questioned the staff about the unavailability of WIfi, which they advertise as free, his reponse was "it's not my problem, too many people in the hotel', HELLO 2014, we have technology for hotels with hundreds of people to get on WIFI, terrible...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean80, Manager at The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
The guest is referring to a 2 hour glitch in our wifi system on that day. It was mentioned that they were welcome to use our lounge area (where the wifi was still working) or use our public computer while the problem was being solved. Our free system is monitored 24 hours a day by a company that specializes in wifi for hotels. Glitches and slow speed complaints are few and far between. We actually get lot of compliments about how fast and reliable the system is. We have just had the same system installed in our restaurant next door, The Kingston Taphouse and Grille.

As far as our complimentary continental breakfast is concerned, we are sorry if we cannot have something for all different diets. If guests let us know in advance, we will do our best to prepare items that suits their needs. Our breakfast consists of coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate, along with your choice of whole wheat toast, cinnamon raisin bagels or sesame seed bagels. We also have cream cheese, peanut butter, jam, ect. As we are located in the centre of the city, there are numerous options for food if people want a little something extra, including restaurants and a supermarket within one block.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    136
    71
    24
    20
See reviews for
31
143
96
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Found this place on a busy wknd when Vancouver seemed full. Well located downtown and wonderfully priced! Excellent staff/service. Rooms, while small, are very clean and so are the shared washrooms. Yes I did say it has a European vibe. A few rooms do have a private bath. Visited in June 2014 during construction so save your visit for next year if u can't handle noise. Will definitely be back!! Thank you Kingston!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Kingston is a solid option for those on a budget visiting Vancouver. I paid $75/night for a single room, twin bed, with shower and toilet down the hall. Wifi and continental breakfast are included--I didn't have breakfast, but the wifi is rock solid (my portable radio's batteries quit and I played the BBC World Service on my iPad over wifi overnight with no problem). If you want to eat at the restaurant next door then ask at the front desk for a 15% off coupon.

Location is really important: this place is a short walk to Canada Place and the convention center ...

The construction of a nearby building is expected to continue into the autumn; since noise doesn't bother me this wasn't a problem, but if noise is an issue for you then you might want to wait until later in the year to book here.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The entire property is noisy at the moment due to construction next door. Hard to tell if any locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank henare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night pre-cruise to Alaska.
The hotel was ideal for us because of its location and price.
After arriving at Vancouver airport, we took the Canada line train to Vancouver City Station and walked to the hotel which is located on Richards Street near Robson Street. We also walked from the hotel to Canada Place the next day to board our cruise ship.
Our stay was lovely because of the staff and the nicely restored hotel itself.
Yes, our room was on the small side but we expected no less for the price we'd paid for a centrally located hotel (anyway, we were only there for one night).
As mentioned by other guests, the taps of room sink were hard to use. Pressure had to placed on the tap to get any water. This meant either very cold or very hot water. Our solution was to use the sink in the very clean bathroom down the hall.
As we stayed in this hotel on a Saturday night, noise for the nearby construction sites was not an issue.
This hotel reminded us of the pensiones in Europe.......shared bathrooms in a lovely hotel. By the way, we did not see anyone in the corridors whenever we wandered down to the bathroom. The bathroom was very clean and tidy.
Our check in was efficient and smooth. We found all the staff we met to be friendly and helpful.
We were on the first floor and this floor also had a laundry room, a desk for Internet use (you're given the password when you check in), a sauna and a sitting area.
Breakfast was provided in a room off the lobby. We were offered bagels or toast along with a hot beverage.....continental breakfast. Enough to fill us for the morning. Guests could also use this area for hot beverages during the day.
We enjoy walking and walked to Gastown and Chinatown from the hotel. We discovered many eateries around the hotel. There is even one right next door.
This hotel is an oasis in a lovely city.
We enjoyed our short stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

booked by phone - wasn't told that there was no toilet or shower. Upon arrival, changed rooms and was charged an extra 35.00 a night! Too late to book somewhere else. Spoke to the manager who told us that he couldn't do anything!! Bad hotel, bad management. I'd never go back..(besides what I've said, I also wouldn't stay because it smells like my grandmother died in it!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean80, Manager at The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
All bookings made through phone at Kingston Hotel Bed and Breakfast are confirmed in writing by email. Upon arrival of this guest, it was double-checked in our system that they received an email to their correct email address, confirming their reservation of a room with shared bathroom. The guests response to this was: "I don't check my email."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

the hotel is located in the heart of vancouver. it's very close to all the happenings. there is IGA around the corner, plenty of small restaurants on your footsteps. the hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful.
room is clean, small and a bit dated. during my time in vancouver, there is construction next to the hotel, i find it a bit noisy at times.
my sleep quality is great, basically no construction at night (for sure).

i highly recommend this place to budget travellers, it is very good for the price i've paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rayg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Close to shops, transport & easy walking to Gastown, Cruise Terminal, Vancouver Lookout. Lovely breakfast served in a cosy setting - congenial to intermingling with other guests. If you don't mind sharing bathroom down the hall & a smallish room, it was great value. I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkle1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
840 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
1,614 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#16 of 90 in Vancouver
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
742 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Address: 757 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingston Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1910 and family owned and operated. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, only half a block from the Robson Street shopping district. Vancouver City Centre Skytrain Station is 2 blocks from The Kingston. Other nearby areas include Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown. BC Place Stadium and Rogers Arena, the Vancouver Convention Centre and Cruise ship terminal are also only a 10-15 minute walk.A 52 room, European style Bed and Breakfast hotel, The Kingston offer rooms with either a shared or private bathroom. All rooms include a continental breakfast, served every morning between 6:30 and 11:00am. Some of the amenities The Kingston offers include free WiFi, a public computer terminal with available printer, a sauna, day and overnight storage and coin-operated laundry machines.The Kingston Taphouse and Grille restaurant is located right next door. One of the most popular spots in the city, offering a large menu fit for a variety of different taste buds. Try one of the 60 available beers, or choose a wine from the extensive wine list. Four different areas are perfect for any setting. Choose from Bar, Dining Room, Wrec Room (complete with dart boards and pool table), or Garden Patio. A great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingston Hotel Vancouver
The Kingston Hotel Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing