We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, amazing price”
Review of Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingston Hotel
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

the hotel location was perfect for us and the price for right mid downtown vancouver was amazing. if you dont mind construction its a perfect hotel with breakfast of bagels and toast we only really needed the place to sleep but it was amazing we will defiantly stay again next time we are there!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teemogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

One of the only places we could find in Vancouver for a reasonable price in late August.

We stayed in August 2014, construction was going on either side and we were at the front of the hotel but with the windows closed, we had no problem sleeping. This might have been an issue on hotter nights, but we didn't experience a problem.

The location is great for access to the waterfront, Gastown, Yaletown, Chinatown, etc. and the main, downtown rail link.

The staff were friendly and competent.

The breakfast wasn't too good, two slices of toast or a toasted bagel with tea / coffee, juice and jam / cream cheese options, but for the price, I don't think that's a major issue.

The décor and building itself is old fashioned, 70's - 80's probably authentic, and it gives the place a real quaint, charming feel. We had a CRT TV and thick, woolly blankets on the bed! It's clean and very well maintained so despite the age, it's a very pleasant place to stay.

Recommended for the more price conscious traveller.

Room Tip: Maybe the back of the hotel, away from the street, might get you away from street and construction n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

A budget hotel in Vancouver downtown, easy to find, helpful staff, their breakfast is really very good. The only negative point is the noisy wooded floor when peolpe walk. I was there in a weekend so didn't be bothered by the construction next to the hotel, I was lucky.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Italessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a comfy bed and clean/tidy shared facilities then this will be perfect. Construction sites either side of building makes for early starts to your day, otherwise its great. Central location close to granville train station and everything is walking distance. I stayed on 2 consecutive weekends and had no troubles as solo traveller. Would definitely go back for what I saved on cost I had more to spend on sightseeing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. It was cheaper because of the construction work either side. As this fell over a weekend it was no problem for me.
Breakfast is a bonus and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are small but clean and sheets and towels changed daily.
The location is the best thing as it's a walk away from all the best spots in the city, including the Skytrain station one block away.

I'd recommend this hotel for any traveller to downtown Vancouver.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel away from the road which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A great budget hotel to stay for 1-3 nights. The construction work next door is a bit noisy in the morning (starts around 0730) and the breakfast is modest - bagel / toast, tea/coffee, and OJ. But the main attraction is the interior design, facilities, and service. The staff on teh reception are very helpful and friendly (24hrs concierge). The toliets and bathroom are shared between the rooms but they are always available when we've needed them. They even have a sauna that we didn't get to try. For the a location in the middle of the city and the price we've paid, it's a bargain! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Furthest away from the construction side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fanny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you want to get what you paid for, this is the place. If you have lots of money you can find other places, but if you are looking for worthy place this is it. I found no issues at all even though it's peak season, no heavy traffic means relatively quiet with good hospitality and friendly staff. Finding this kind of place is a blessing for my budget. Free morning breakfast, awesome.

Room Tip: worth for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
947 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
891 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Hotel

Address: 757 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £48 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingston Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1910 and family owned and operated. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, only half a block from the Robson Street shopping district. Vancouver City Centre Skytrain Station is 2 blocks from The Kingston. Other nearby areas include Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown. BC Place Stadium and Rogers Arena, the Vancouver Convention Centre and Cruise ship terminal are also only a 10-15 minute walk.A 52 room, European style Bed and Breakfast hotel, The Kingston offer rooms with either a shared or private bathroom. All rooms include a continental breakfast, served every morning between 6:30 and 11:00am. Some of the amenities The Kingston offers include free WiFi, a public computer terminal with available printer, a sauna, day and overnight storage and coin-operated laundry machines.The Kingston Taphouse and Grille restaurant is located right next door. One of the most popular spots in the city, offering a large menu fit for a variety of different taste buds. Try one of the 60 available beers, or choose a wine from the extensive wine list. Four different areas are perfect for any setting. Choose from Bar, Dining Room, Wrec Room (complete with dart boards and pool table), or Garden Patio. A great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingston Hotel Bed And Breakfast
The Kingston Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing